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Issue  

Provide a summary of Connecticut’s seat belt laws as well as those in other states and whether 

such laws are effective at increasing seat belt use. 

 

Summary 

All states except New Hampshire have mandatory seat belt laws. A majority of states, including 

Connecticut, have primary enforcement laws, meaning law enforcement officers may stop a vehicle 

solely for a seat belt law violation. Other states have secondary enforcement laws that require 

officers to have a reason other than a seat belt law violation to stop a vehicle. In addition, seat belt 

laws in a majority of states cover front and rear seat occupants. The remaining states, including 

Connecticut, cover only front seat occupants. Primary enforcement laws, enhanced enforcement, 

and penalties for failure to wear a seat belt have reduced the number of traffic crash fatalities and 

increased seat belt usage. 

 

Connecticut Seat Belt Laws 

Connecticut is a primary enforcement state requiring the driver and front seat passengers to wear a 

seat belt when a motor vehicle is in operation. Under state law, rear seat adult (i.e. age 16 and 

older) passengers are not required to wear a seat belt. In addition, the law requires passengers 

eight to 15 years old as well as all passengers in a vehicle operated by a person under 18 years old 

to wear a seat belt (CGS § 14-100a). Generally, those who suffer from a physical disability 

preventing the use of a seat belt are exempt from these requirements.  

 

In addition, a person who fails to secure a child under eight years old, or weighing less than 60 

pounds, in a child safety seat is subject to a fine. For information regarding child safety seat 

requirements, see OLR Report 2017-R-0223. 

 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/olr
mailto:OLRequest@cga.ct.gov
https://twitter.com/CT_OLR
https://www.iihs.org/iihs/topics/laws/safetybeltuse?topicName=Safety%20belts#tableData
http://cgalites/current/pub/chap_246.htm#sec_14-100a
https://www.cga.ct.gov/2017/rpt/pdf/2017-R-0223.pdf
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Penalties for Violations 

Under Connecticut law, a violation of the seat belt requirement carries a fine of $50, for operators 

under 18 years old a fine of $75 (CGS § 14-100a(c)(4). The law imposes additional charges, 

including assessments and surcharges, on top of the base fine. In addition, failure to wear a seat 

belt does not provide law enforcement officers with probable cause to search a vehicle (CGS § 54-

33m). 

 

Connecticut Seat Belt Enforcement 

The state Department of Transportation (DOT) strongly encourages state and local law enforcement 

agencies to conduct sustained seat belt enforcement beyond advertised “Click It or Ticket” 

campaigns. Generally, DOT provides supplemental funding to the Connecticut State Police for 

roving patrols and checkpoints focused on seat belt enforcement. As of 2017 Connecticut’s seat 

belt use rate (90.3%) exceeded the nationwide average (89.7%), according to the National Highway 

Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA). 

 

Primary and Secondary Enforcement 

Primary seat belt laws allow law enforcement officers to stop a vehicle if a driver or passenger is 

not wearing a seat belt, without any other traffic offense taking place. As shown in Table 1, 34 

states, including Connecticut, and the District of Columbia (D.C.), have primary seat belt laws for 

front seat occupants. Of these, 22 states and D.C. have rear seat primary enforcement, four states 

(Kansas, Maryland, New Jersey, and North Carolina) have rear seat secondary enforcement and 

eight states, including Connecticut, have no rear seat enforcement.  

 

Secondary seat belt laws allow law enforcement officers to issue a ticket for not wearing a seat belt 

only when another traffic offense has taken place. As shown in Table 2, 15 states have secondary 

seat belt laws for front seat occupants of which, six also have rear seat secondary enforcement.  

 

Opposition to Primary Enforcement 

Despite noted decreases in fatalities and other occupant injuries, there remains substantial 

opposition to primary enforcement laws. Among other things, opponents to primary enforcement 

laws often cite personal autonomy and freedom of choice as reasons not to use a seat belt. In 

addition, critics argue that primary seat belt laws lead to increased harassment of minority groups 

by law enforcement agencies. In response, NHTSA encourages state and local law enforcement 

leaders to provide public assurances that seat belt laws will be uniformly enforced across 

populations.  

 

Connecticut 

Under the state Alvin Penn Act, Connecticut police departments and other agencies that make 

traffic stops are required to collect and provide data on traffic stops and complaints of 

discriminatory stops. The Office of Policy and Management (OPM) is required to review the 

submitted data and annually report on any such review (CGS §§ 54-1l & 54-1m).  

 

 

http://cgalites/current/pub/chap_246.htm#sec_14-100a
http://cgalites/current/pub/chap_959.htm#sec_54-33m
http://cgalites/current/pub/chap_959.htm#sec_54-33m
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_959.htm#sec_54-1l
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_959.htm#sec_54-1m
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Table 1: Primary Enforcement States 
 

State Seats Required Ages 

Alabama Front 15+ years old 

Alaska All 16+ years old 

Arkansas Front 15+ years old 

California All 16+ years old 

Connecticut Front 8+ years old 

Delaware All 16+ years old 

D.C. All 16+ years old 

Florida All 

Front 

6 through 17 years old 

6+ years old 

Georgia All 

Front 

8 through 17 years old 

18+ years old 

Hawaii All 8+ years old 

Illinois All 16+ years old  

Indiana All 16+ years old 

Iowa Front 18+ years old 

Kansas Primary Front Seats 

Secondary Rear Seats     

if 18+ years old 

14+ years old 

Kentucky All Under 8 and over 57 inches 

tall and 8+ years old 

Louisiana All 13+ years old 

Maine All 18+ years old 

Maryland Primary Front Seats 

Secondary Rear Seats 

16+ years old 

Michigan Front 16+ years old 

Minnesota All Under 8 and over 57 inches 

tall and 8+ years old 

Mississippi All 7+ years old 

New Jersey Primary Front Seats 

Secondary Rear Seats 

Under 8 and over 57 inches 

tall and 8+ years old 

New Mexico All 18+ years old 

New York Front 16+ years old 

North Carolina Primary Front Seats 

Secondary Rear Seats 

16+ years old 

Oklahoma Front 9+ years old 

Oregon All 16+ years old 

Rhode Island All 18+ years old 
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South Carolina All 8+ years old 

Tennessee Front 16+ years old 

Texas All Under 8 years and younger 

who are 57+ inches tall and 

8+ years old 

Utah All 16+ years old 

Washington All 16+ years old 

West Virginia All 

Front 

8 until 18 years old 

8+ years old 

Wisconsin All 8+ years old 

Source: Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, Highway Loss Data Institute, (IIHS-HLDI) February 

2019 report. 

 

Table 2: Secondary Enforcement States 
 

State Seats Required Ages 

Arizona All 

Front 

8 until 16 years old 

8+ years old 

Colorado Front 16+ years old 

Idaho All 7+ years old 

Massachusetts All 13+ years old 

Missouri Front 

Primary for children 

under 16 years 

16+ years old 

Montana All 6+ years old 

Nebraska Front 18+ years old 

Nevada All 6+ years old 

North Dakota Front 18+ years old 

Ohio All 

Front 

8 until 15 years old 

15+ years old 

Pennsylvania Front 

Primary for children 

under 18 years old 

18+ years old 

South Dakota Front 18+ years old 

Vermont All 18+ years old  

Virginia Front 18+ years old 

Wyoming All 9+ years old 
 

Source: IIHS-HLDI, February 2019 report. 

 

Effectiveness of Seat Belt Laws 

According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), seat belt use is one of the most 

effective ways to prevent fatalities and reduce injuries resulting from traffic crashes, reducing 

serious crash-related injuries and deaths by about half. Additionally, seat belt use is higher in 

https://www.iihs.org/iihs/topics/laws/safetybeltuse?topicName=Safety%20belts#tableData
https://www.iihs.org/iihs/topics/laws/safetybeltuse?topicName=Safety%20belts#tableData
https://www.cdc.gov/motorvehiclesafety/seatbelts/facts.html
https://www.cdc.gov/motorvehiclesafety/pdf/policyimpact-seatbelts.pdf
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primary enforcement states than in secondary enforcement states. Consequently, the percentage 

of unrestrained occupant fatalities in primary enforcement states is significantly lower than in 

secondary enforcement states. Also, states that have changed their seat belt use laws from 

secondary to primary enforcement have seen seat belt use rise 10%-15%. 

 

Penalties for Violations and Public Support 

Thirty-three states impose fines of $25 or less for violating seat belt laws, according to IIHS-HLDI 

(February 2019 report). A 2017 NHTSA report found that where states have increased fines above 

$25 seat belt use has increased and the number of unrestrained occupant fatalities has 

decreased. Furthermore, according to an NHTSA survey a majority of the public (1) favors primary 

enforcement laws, (2) supports fines for drivers who do not wear seatbelts, and (3) believes law 

enforcement officers should be allowed to stop vehicles when drivers or passengers are observed 

not wearing a seatbelt.  

 

Enhanced Enforcement Programs 

High seat belt use rates are directly related to enforcement. As such, NHTSA awards grants to 

states that adopt and implement enforcement programs aimed at reducing highway deaths and 

injuries related to seat belt use. These enhanced enforcement programs are high-visibility periods 

of increased seat belt enforcement during which local and state law enforcement agencies use 

checkpoints and increased patrols to encourage seat belt use. Among other things, enhanced 

enforcement programs include advertising campaigns targeting low-use communities. A review 

conducted by CDC revealed these short-term enforcement periods were more effective at increased 

belt use among traditionally low-use groups than among high-use groups. Likewise, seat belt use 

increased more than 10% during such enforcement periods but decreased immediately thereafter. 

Among other states, California, Oregon and Washington implemented sustained seat belt 

enforcement policies following enhanced enforcement programs. Since such implementation, seat 

belt use rates have risen in California: 91% to 96%; Oregon: 88% to 97%; and Washington from 

93% to 95%.  

 

Generally, enhanced enforcement programs require substantial funding as well as local and state 

resources. In addition, because such programs are conducted during daylight hours there is a lack 

of available data to indicate whether the programs increase seat belt use at night during which time 

fatal motor vehicle accidents are more likely to occur. NHTSA recommends that enhanced 

enforcement programs be conducted at night in conjunction with impaired driving (DUI) checkpoints 

and patrols, when seat belt use is lower and drivers tend to drink. Though these nighttime 

enforcement campaigns have proven effective the cost of such programs are greater than the costs 

of programs directed exclusively at seat belt laws like “Click It or Ticket.” 

 

Cost Savings Due to Seat Belt Usage 

 
According to a 2015 NHTSA report, increased seat belt use saved an estimated $50 billion in 

medical care, lost workplace productivity, and other injury related expenses, (Countermeasures 

That Work, NHTSA (2015)). Likewise, more than $1 trillion in economic costs have been incurred 

because of seat belt noncompliance. According to a Network of Employers for Traffic Safety (NETS) 

report, injuries resulting from traffic crashes where occupants failed to wear a seat belt cost 

https://saferoads.org/issues/seat-belts/
https://www.ghsa.org/sites/default/files/2018-11/SeatBeltLaws_Nov18.pdf
https://www.iihs.org/iihs/topics/laws/safetybeltuse?topicName=Safety%20belts#tableData
https://www.nhtsa.gov/sites/nhtsa.dot.gov/files/documents/812478_countermeasures-that-work-a-highway-safety-countermeasures-guide-.pdf
https://www.nhtsa.gov/sites/nhtsa.dot.gov/files/documents/812478_countermeasures-that-work-a-highway-safety-countermeasures-guide-.pdf
https://one.nhtsa.gov/DOT/NHTSA/Traffic%20Injury%20Control/Articles/Associated%20Files/810975.pdf
https://www.nhtsa.gov/sites/nhtsa.dot.gov/files/achieving.pdf
https://www.law.cornell.edu/cfr/text/23/1200.21
https://www.nhtsa.gov/sites/nhtsa.dot.gov/files/documents/812478_countermeasures-that-work-a-highway-safety-countermeasures-guide-.pdf
https://www.nhtsa.gov/sites/nhtsa.dot.gov/files/811281.pdf
https://trafficsafety.org/wp-content/uploads/2016/03/NETS-CostOfCrashes-Report-2015.pdf
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employers approximately $48,000 per person in health fringe benefits, while the average cost for a 

restrained occupant involved in a crash was approximately $25,000 per person. In addition, data 

suggests that approximately $4 billion in crash-related costs could be saved each year if secondary 

states passed primary enforcement legislation.  

 

PM:bd  

   
 

https://saferoads.org/issues/seat-belts/

