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Issue  

Compare Kentucky’s law on involuntary treatment for alcohol or drug abuse (“Casey’s Law”) 

to Connecticut law on this issue. 

 

Summary 

In Kentucky, the Matthew Casey Wethington Act for Substance Abuse Intervention (“Casey’s 

Law”) allows the family or friends of someone in danger, or presenting a danger to others, 

from alcohol or drug abuse to petition the court to order the person’s involuntary treatment 

(Ky. Rev. Stat. § 222.430 et seq.). Connecticut has a generally similar law (CGS § 17a-685). 

 

The basic process under Kentucky law is as follows: 

 Petition. A person’s spouse, relative, friend, or guardian files a petition in state 

district court, alleging that the person (the respondent) is suffering from alcohol or 

other drug abuse and presents a danger to himself or herself or others if not treated. 

The petition must include a guarantee, signed by the petitioner or other authorized 

person (e.g., the respondent’s spouse), obligating that person to pay all costs of the 

court-ordered treatment. 

 Court Review; Scheduling of Hearing and Attorney Appointment. The court reviews 

the petition and questions the petitioner under oath (the respondent need not be 

present).  If it appears there is probable cause to order treatment, the court (1) 

schedules a hearing to be held within 14 days, with notice given to the respondent  
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 and certain other individuals; (2) appoints an attorney to represent the respondent; 

and (3) orders the respondent to be medically evaluated.  (If the court finds no 

probable cause, it dismisses the petition.)  

 Medical Evaluation.  The respondent is evaluated by two qualified health 

professionals, including at least one physician, who certify their findings to the court. 

 Hearing and Order. The court holds a hearing on the petition. If the court determines 

after the hearing that the respondent should be ordered into treatment, it orders 

treatment (not necessarily inpatient) for a period of up to 360 days.  

 

Among other differences from Kentucky law, Connecticut law (1) requires only one court 

proceeding, rather than first questioning the petitioner under oath before deciding whether 

to hold a hearing; (2) requires only one individual (a physician) to conduct the medical 

evaluation; and (3) does not require the applicant to guarantee payment for the treatment 

(although the applicant, if able, must pay the expenses connected to the application). The 

basic process under Connecticut law is as follows: 

 Medical Evaluation.  In Connecticut, the required medical examination of the 

respondent must have occurred within two days before the involuntary treatment 

application is filed. A physician must conduct the examination, and the physician’s 

certification must be filed with the court before the hearing on the application.  

 Application. Any person, including someone’s spouse or other relative, conservator, 

certifying physician, or treatment facility administrator, files an application in probate 

court, alleging that the respondent is an alcohol- or drug-dependent person who is (1) 

dangerous to himself, herself, or others when an intoxicated person or (2) gravely 

disabled.   

 Scheduling of Hearing and Attorney Appointment. Upon receiving such an application, 

the court (1) schedules a hearing to be held within seven days, with notice given to 

the respondent and certain other individuals and (2) if the court finds that the 

respondent is unable to afford counsel, appoints an attorney to represent him or her. 

 Hearing and Order. The court holds a hearing on the petition. If the court determines, 

by clear and convincing evidence, that the standard for commitment is met, it orders 

the respondent to inpatient treatment for a period of 30 to 180 days, possibly 

followed by outpatient treatment. (The inpatient or outpatient program facility 

administrator can later apply to recommit the respondent beyond the initial period.) 

 

In addition to the involuntary commitment process described above, Casey’s law in Kentucky 

allows a court, under certain conditions, to order a person suffering from alcohol or drug 

abuse to be hospitalized for up to 72 hours.  Under certain conditions, Connecticut law 

allows for the involuntary commitment of a person in need of emergency treatment for 
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alcohol or drug abuse, without a court order, for up to five days (or up to an additional seven 

business days if a court application for involuntary commitment has been filed but not yet 

heard). 

 

Comparison of Kentucky and Connecticut Laws on 

Involuntary Treatment for Substance Abuse 

Table 1 provides a side-by-side comparison of key aspects of Kentucky and Connecticut law 

on involuntary treatment and short-term emergency treatment for alcohol or drug abuse.  

 

For more detailed information on Connecticut’s law, see OLR Report 2012-R-0217. 

 

Table 1:  Comparison of Connecticut and Kentucky Law,  
Involuntary Treatment for Substance Abuse 

Provision Connecticut Kentucky 

Standard for 
court to order  
involuntary 
treatment 

Alcohol- or drug-dependent person who is (1) 
dangerous to himself, herself, or others when 
he or she is an intoxicated person (i.e., there is 
a substantial risk that the person will inflict 
physical harm) or (2) gravely disabled.  
 
“Gravely disabled” means the person, as a 
result of the periodic or continuous use of 
alcohol or drugs, is in danger of serious 
physical harm because the person: 
 

 is not providing for his or her essential 
needs such as food, clothing, shelter, vital 
medical care, or safety; 

 needs, but is not receiving, inpatient 
treatment for alcohol or drug dependency; 
and  

 is incapable of determining whether to 
accept such treatment because of 
impaired judgment (CGS §§ 17a-680 and 
17a-685(d)).  

Person suffering from alcohol or other drug 
abuse who (1) presents an imminent threat of 
danger to self, family, or others as a result of 
alcohol or drug abuse, or there is a substantial 
likelihood of such a threat in the near future, 
and (2) can reasonably benefit from treatment 
(Ky. Rev. Stat. § 222.431).    
 

Who can apply 
for someone’s 
involuntary 
treatment 
 

Any person, including a person’s spouse or 
other relative, conservator, certifying 
physician, or treatment facility administrator  
 
The application must be filed in probate court 
(CGS § 17a-685(a)). 

A person’s spouse, relative, friend, or guardian 
 
The petition must be filed in District Court (Ky. 
Rev. Stat. § 222.432).    
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Provision Connecticut Kentucky 

Payment 
guarantee 

Not required, but the applicant must pay the 
expenses in connection with the application, 
except the state pays if the applicant is 
indigent.  In addition, the application must 
include a statement that the applicant has 
arranged for the respondent’s treatment in a 
treatment facility, and a statement to that effect 
from the facility (CGS § 17a-685(b)). 

Petition must include a guarantee, signed by 
the petitioner or other authorized person (e.g., 
the respondent’s spouse or other relative), 
obligating that person to pay all costs of the 
respondent’s court-ordered treatment (Ky. 
Rev. Stat. § 222.432). 

Medical 
examination/ 
certification 

The applicant must file with the court a 
certificate from a licensed physician who has 
examined the respondent within two days 
before the application was submitted.  
 
The physician’s certificate must include (1) 
findings supporting the application, (2) a 
finding of whether the person needs and is 
likely to benefit from treatment; and (3) a 
recommendation about the type and length of 
treatment and inpatient facilities available. 
 
If the respondent is to be committed to a 
private facility, a physician employed by that 
facility cannot be the certifying physician (CGS 
§ 17a-685(b)). 

After reviewing the petition and questioning 
the petitioner under oath, if it appears to the 
court that there is probable cause to order the 
respondent into treatment, the respondent 
must be examined by two qualified health 
professionals, no later than 24 hours before 
the hearing (see below).  The professionals 
must certify their findings to the court.  
 
One such professional must be a physician.  
The other must be a qualified health 
professional as set forth in the law (e.g., 
physician, psychologist, nurse with certain 
experience, alcohol and drug counselor) (Ky. 
Rev. Stat. §§ 222.433 and 222.436). 

Hearing 
requirement 

The court must hold a hearing within seven 
business days after it receives the application. 
 
Notice of the hearing must be provided to the 
respondent, his or her next of kin, a parent or 
legal guardian if the respondent is a minor, 
and the treatment facility administrator (or 
administrator of the facility at which the person 
is already receiving emergency treatment if 
applicable) (CGS § 17a-685(c)). 
 

After the court reviews the petition and 
questions the petitioner under oath, if it 
appears there is probable cause to order 
treatment, the court schedules a hearing to be 
held within 14 days. 
 
Notice of the hearing must be provided to the 
respondent; his or her legal guardian, if any 
and if known; and the respondent’s spouse, 
parents, or nearest relative or friend (Ky. Rev. 
Stat. §§ 222.433). 

Length of 
commitment, if 
ordered 

30 to 180 days. The law includes a procedure 
for a facility administrator to apply for a 
recommitment order (CGS § 17a-685(d) to 
(k)). 
 

Must not exceed 60 days or 360 days, 
depending on the period requested in the 
petition or as otherwise agreed to at the 
hearing (Ky. Rev. Stat. §§ 222.433). 
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Provision Connecticut Kentucky 

Short-term 
emergency 
treatment 

A physician, spouse, guardian, relative of the 
person to be committed, or any other 
responsible person, can apply directly to an 
approved treatment facility for the emergency 
commitment of a person who (1) is dangerous 
to himself or herself or others unless 
committed, (2) needs medical treatment for 
detoxification for potentially life-threatening 
symptoms of alcohol or drug withdrawal, or (3) 
is incapacitated by alcohol. The person 
generally must be intoxicated at time of 
application, but this can be waived if a 
physician determines there is immediate need 
of treatment for detoxification for potentially 
life-threatening withdrawal symptoms. 
 
Emergency admission can be for up to five 
days, except if an application for involuntary 
commitment is filed within the five-day period 
and the facility administrator finds that grounds 
for commitment exist, he or she may detain the 
person until the commitment application has 
been heard, but no longer than seven 
business days after the application is filed 
(CGS § 17a-684). 
 

Court can order up to 72-hour emergency 
hospitalization if (1) a qualified medical 
professional, following an examination, 
certifies that the respondent meets the 
standard for involuntary treatment (see above) 
and (2) the court finds, by clear and convincing 
evidence, that the respondent presents an 
imminent threat of danger to himself or herself, 
family, or others as a result of alcohol or drug 
use (Ky. Rev. Stat. § 222.434).    
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