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Issue  

Discuss early voting, including the types of early voting available in states that offer it and the 

length of their early, in-person voting periods.  This report partially updates OLR Report 2014-R-

0250. 

 

Summary 

According to the National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL), 37 states and Washington D.C. 

allow all registered voters to cast a ballot in-person before Election Day.  Under these “early voting” 

laws, voters need not provide a reason for voting before Election Day and they have the option of 

casting their ballot in person—usually at an election official’s office or a satellite voting location.  

(Under the other main form of pre-Election Day voting, regular absentee voting, voters must provide 

a justification for why they are unable to vote on the day of the election.) 

 

Classifying a state’s form of early voting is not always straightforward as there is no universal 

definition of “early voting.” State laws vary with respect to their early voting policies and the 

terminology they use to describe them.  Nonetheless, election experts typically group these laws as 

follows: early in-person voting, in-person absentee voting, and all-mail voting (often known as vote-

by-mail).   

 

Generally, early in-person voting is when voters appear in-person at one or more designated 

locations to vote before Election Day.  Voters follow the same procedures that apply on Election Day 

and ballots are treated as regular ballots.  In-person absentee voting is when voters apply for, 

receive, and cast absentee ballots in-person, rather than by mail, before Election Day.  (With  

  

http://www.cga.ct.gov/olr
mailto:OLRequest@cga.ct.gov
https://twitter.com/CT_OLR
https://www.cga.ct.gov/2014/rpt/pdf/2014-R-0250.pdf
https://www.cga.ct.gov/2014/rpt/pdf/2014-R-0250.pdf


2018-R-0278 November 28, 2018 Page 2 of 7 
 

regular absentee voting, voters typically conduct this entire process by mail.)  In-person absentee 

ballots are usually subject to counting procedures applicable to absentee ballots, such as signature 

verification.  Finally, all-mail voting is when every registered voter automatically receives a ballot by 

mail before Election Day.  Voters generally have the option of voting their ballot early and in-person 

at a designated voter center, returning it in-person at a designated drop-off location, or returning it 

by mail.  

 

Of the 37 early voting states, the majority offer either early in-person voting or in-person absentee 

voting. Three states (Colorado, Oregon, and Washington) conduct all-mail voting. Some states offer 

more than one type of early voting.  Alaska, for example, offers both early in-person voting and in-

person absentee voting. California offers in-person absentee voting to every registered voter; some 

counties additionally offer early in-person voting.   

 

Early Voting Laws and Periods 

States’ early voting periods range in length from three to 45 days and begin as early as 46 days 

before the election and as late as the Thursday before it. Eighteen states and Washington D.C. offer 

early voting on Saturdays, and four offer it on Sundays, according to NCSL. Some states authorize 

local election officials, such as county clerks, to decide whether to offer early voting on Saturdays or 

Sundays.   

 

Table 1 identifies each state’s form of early voting, as well as the start and end dates of its early in-

person voting period. Please note, early voting may not span the entire duration of the designated 

period.  For example, within a given state, hours and days may vary by county.  In some states, if 

the prescribed start date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the early voting period begins 

on the next regular business day (e.g., Texas). 

 

The information in Table 1 applies to statewide general elections; early voting periods for primaries 

or local elections may differ. (It does not apply to regular absentee voting, which, as described 

above, requires voters to provide a justification in order to vote early.) 
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Table 1: Early Voting Laws and Periods 

State Form of Voting Starts Ends 

Alaska 

AS §§ 15.20.064, 

15.20.045, and 6 

AAC 25.500 

Early in-person voting and 

in-person absentee voting 

15 days before election Day of election 

Arizona 

 

ARS §§ 16-541 

and 16-542 

Early in-person voting 27 days before  Friday before election  

Arkansas 

 

ARC § 7-5-418 

Early in-person voting 15 days before Monday before election 

California 

Elec. Code §§ 

3001, 3018, and 

4108 

Early in-person voting and 

in-person absentee voting 

(may vary by county) 

As early as 29 days before the 

election (according to the 

Secretary of State’s Office, in 

practice, most counties offer it 

for 14 days before the election)  

Day of election 

Colorado 

CRS §§ 1-5-

102.9 and § 1-

7.5-104 

All mail voting Voter service and polling 

centers (VSPCs) must be open 

for the 15 days before an 

election, for dropping off ballots 

or voting in person; VSPCs are 

not required to be open on 

Sundays  

Day of election 

District of 

Columbia 

 

DC ST § 1-

1001.09 and 3 

DCMR § 702 

Early in-person voting and 

in-person absentee voting 

10 days before election for in-

person early voting; 15 days 

prior for in-person absentee 

voting  

Friday before election  

Florida 

 

FSA §101.657 

Early in-person voting 10 days before election  

(may begin 11 to 15 days 

before a state or federal 

election, at the discretion of the 

county elections supervisor) 

3 days before election 

(may end 2 days before a state 

or federal election, at the 

discretion of the county 

elections supervisor) 
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State Form of Voting Starts Ends 

Georgia 

 

GA Code § 21-2-

385 

In-person absentee voting Fourth Monday before election Friday before election 

Hawaii  

 

HRS §§ 15-7 and 

15-9 

In-person absentee voting 10 working days before election Saturday before election 

Idaho 

 

IC §§ 34-1001 et 

seq. and 34-1012 

In-person absentee voting; 

early in-person voting in 

counties that opt to 

implement it 

On or before the third Monday 

before election   

Friday before election 

Illinois 

 

10 ILCS 5/19A-10 

and -5/19A-15 

Early in-person voting 40 days before election  Day before election  

Indiana 

 

Ind. Code §§ 3-

11-4-1 and 3-11-

10-26 

 

In-person absentee 28 days before election  Day before election 

Iowa 

 

ICA §§ 53.10 and 

53.11 

In-person absentee 29 days before election  Day before election 

Kansas  

 

KSA §§ 25-1122a 

and 25-1123 

Early in-person voting 20 days before election Day before election 

Louisiana 

 

LRS 18:1303 and 

1309 

Early in-person voting 14 days before election  7 days before election  

Maine 

 

21-A MRS § 751 

et seq. 

In-person absentee voting As soon as absentee ballots 

are ready (30-45 days before 

election) 

Thursday before election, 

unless the voter has an 

acceptable excuse 



Table 1 (continued) 

 

2018-R-0278 November 28, 2018 Page 5 of 7 
 

State Form of Voting Starts Ends 

Maryland 

 

MD Code, 

Election Law, § 

10-301.1 

Early in-person voting Second Thursday before 

election 

Thursday before election 

Massachusetts 

 

MGLA 54 § 25B 

 

 

Early in-person voting 

 

11 business days before 

election 

Two business days before 

election  

Minnesota 

 

MSA §§ 

203B.081 and  

203B.085 

In-person absentee voting 46 days before election  Day before election 

Montana 

 

MCA §§ 13-13-

205 and 13-13-

222 

In-person absentee voting 30 days before election  Day before election 

Nebraska 

 

NRS §§ 32-808 

and 32-938 

 

 

In-person absentee voting 30 days before election  Day before election  

Nevada 

 

NRS §§ 293.356 

and 293.3568 

Early in-person voting Third Saturday before election Friday before election 
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State Form of Voting Starts Ends 

New Jersey 

 

NJSA § 19:63-1 

et seq. 

In-person absentee voting* 

 

*Under a 2018 law, voters 

who requested an absentee 

ballot (known as a “mail-in 

a ballot”) in 2016 will 

automatically receive such 

a ballot for future elections, 

unless they opt out. 

45 days before election  Day before election  

 

 

New Mexico 

 

NMSA §§ 1-6-5.7 

and 1-6-5(F) 

Early in-person voting and 

in-person absentee voting 

Third Saturday before election 

for early voting; 28 days before 

election for in-person absentee 

voting 

Saturday before election 

North Carolina 

 

NCGSA §§ 163a-

1300 to 163a-

1303 

In-person absentee  Third Wednesday before 

election 

Saturday before election 

North Dakota 

 

NDCC § 16.1-07-

15 

Early in-person voting 15 days before election Day before election 

Ohio 

Ohio Code §§ 

3509.01 and 

3509.05 

In-person absentee voting Day after the close of voter 

registration 

Day before election 

Oklahoma 

 

§ 26 OSA 14-

115.4 

In-person absentee voting Thursday before election  Saturday before election 

Oregon 

 

ORS § 254.470, 

Secretary of State 

Rules 

All mail voting Drop sites must open the 

Friday before an election but 

may open as soon as ballots 

are available  

Day of election 
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State Form of Voting Starts Ends 

South Dakota 

 

SDCL §§ 12-19-

1.2 and 12-19-2.1 

In-person absentee voting 46 days before election  Day before the election 

Tennessee 

 

TCA § 2-6-102 

Early in-person voting 20 days before election 5 days before election  

Texas 

 

Tex. Elec. Code 

§§ 85.001 and 

85.002 

Early in-person voting 17 days before election 
 

4 days before election 
 

Utah 

 

UCA § 20A-3-601 

Early in-person voting 14 days before election Friday before election, but  

election officials may opt to 

extend early voting to day 

before after providing required 

notice 

Vermont 

 

17 VSA §§ 2531 

to 2537 

In-person absentee voting 45 days before election  Day before election 

Washington 

 

RCW § 

29A.40.160 

All mail voting Vote centers must open 18 

days before election 

Day of election 

West Virginia 

 

WVC § 3-3-3  

Early in-person voting 13 days before election 3 days before election 

Wisconsin 

 

WSA § 6.86 

In-person absentee voting Third Monday before election  Friday before election 

Wyoming 

 

WS § 22-9-101 et 

seq. 

In-person absentee voting 40 days before election  Day of election 

SOURCES: NCSL and Secretaries of State  
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