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Certificate of Dealer 

Registration 

Required before one may sell, offer for 

sale, or possess with the intent to sell 

an electronic nicotine delivery system or 

vapor product in Connecticut  

(CGS § 21a-415) 

 

Certificate of Manufacturer 

Registration  
Required before one may manufacture 
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delivery system or vapor product in 

Connecticut  

(CGS § 21a-415a) 
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Issue  

What type of Department of Consumer Protection (DCP) 

registration must one have in order to sell vapor 

products?  Does the requirement vary depending on the 

type of seller? 

 

(This report does not discuss provisions in the federal 

Family Smoking Prevention and Tobacco Control Act that 

apply to the manufacturing and sale of vapor products.) 

 

Summary 

Since March 1, 2016, anyone selling, offering to sell, or 

possessing with the intent to sell a vapor product must 

first obtain an electronic nicotine delivery system  

certificate of dealer registration from DCP. The requirement applies to retailers, wholesalers, and 

dealers.  A business’ individual employees do not need to obtain a registration; only the business’ 

owner or authorized designee.  A separate registration is required for each place of business where 

such product is sold, offered for sale, or possessed with the intent to sell (CGS § 21a-415).  By law, 

“sale” or “sell” means an intentional act, whether done as principal, proprietor, agent, servant, or 

employee, of transferring, or offering or attempting to transfer, for consideration, a vapor product, 

including bartering or exchanging, or offering to barter or exchange, a vapor product (CGS § 53-

344b). 
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Similarly, since March 1, 2016, an electronic nicotine delivery system certificate of dealer 

registration is required to manufacture a vapor product in Connecticut.  Manufacturing includes 

mixing, compounding, repackaging, or resizing a vapor product.  Each place of business that 

manufactures a vaping product in the state must obtain a registration (CGS § 21a-415a).   

 

To obtain either type of registration, one must annually apply to DCP and pay the applicable fees.  

The application fee is $75, but is not charged for renewals.  Additionally, the annual registration fee 

is $400 (CGS §§ 21a-415 & -415a). 

 

(Additional information on Connecticut’s regulation of electronic nicotine delivery systems and 

vapor products can be found in OLR Report 2018-R-0040.) 

 

Penalties 

Connecticut law prohibits anyone from knowingly manufacturing, selling, offering for sale, or 

possessing with intent to sell a vapor product from a business without the appropriate registration. 

The penalty is a fine of up to $50 per day the violation continues. But the DCP commissioner may 

waive the fine if she determines that there was reasonable cause for failing to obtain or renew the 

registration.  The penalty is an infraction with a $90 fine, payable by mail without court appearance, 

for a manufacturer or dealer who operates for up to 90 days with an expired registration.   

 

Before imposing a fine, the DCP commissioner must notify the dealer or manufacturer of the 

violation and give them 60 days to comply. 

 

DCP may suspend or revoke a registration at its discretion. Anyone aggrieved by a denial, 

suspension, or revocation may appeal using the appeal process for liquor sale permits (CGS §§ 

21a-415 & -415a). 

 

Definitions  

A “vapor product” is a product that uses a heating element, power source, electronic circuit, or 

other electronic, chemical, or mechanical means, regardless of shape or size, to produce a vapor 

that may or may not include nicotine, that is inhaled by the user of such product (CGS § 53-344b). 

 

An “electronic nicotine delivery system” is an electronic device that may be used to simulate 

smoking in the delivery of nicotine or other substance to a person inhaling from the device, and 

includes electronic cigarettes, electronic cigars, electronic cigarillos, electronic pipes, or electronic 

hookahs and any related device and any cartridge, electronic cigarette liquid, or other component 

of such device (CGS § 53-344b). 
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