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Issues  

Under Connecticut law, what property is exempt from a court judgment for money? What money 

thresholds apply to those exemptions and when were they enacted? How do the monetary 

exemptions compare to inflation? What vehicle and homestead exemptions are in place in other 

New England states? 

 

This report updates OLR Report 2005-R-0368. 

 

Summary 

Connecticut law exempts certain property from court judgment (CGS § 52-352b).  The exemptions 

includes such things as (1) necessary clothes, bedding, food, household furniture, and appliances; 

(2) one motor vehicle; (3) a primary residence; (4) health and disability payments, workers’ 

compensation, social security, veterans’ and unemployment benefits, alimony and support 

payments and court-approved child support payments, and (5) health aids necessary to work or 

maintain health.   

 
The only exemptions that have a monetary threshold are the homestead exemption that applies to 

the primary residence ($75,000); motor vehicle exemption ($3,500); personal property up to a 

value of $1,000; and interest in an unmatured life insurance policy up to $4,000.  For exemption 

purposes, a homestead is an owner-occupied real property, co-op or mobile manufactured home 

that is used as a primary residence. 
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Connecticut’s exemption statute dates back to the 1700’s.  It was modernized in 1977.  The motor 

vehicle exemption was established in 1977 and increased in 2007.  The homestead exemption 

was added in 1993. The 1993 legislation established the amount of the exemption as $75,000.  In 

2003, the homestead exemption was increased to $125,000 for judgments relating to a hospital 

bill.  The provisions for an interest in personal property up to $1,000 and the interest in a life 

insurance contract up to $4,000 were also adopted in 1993.     

 

We used the federal Department of Labor’s Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) Consumer Price Index 

(CPI) Inflation Calculator to adjust the monetary exemptions for inflation.  (The CPI measures the 

changes in prices paid by consumers for goods.) Applying this index, the homestead exemption 

would increase from $75,000 to approximately $130,000 and the motor vehicle exemption would 

increase from $3,500 to approximately $4,200.   

 

All New England states have homestead and motor vehicle exemptions.  The homestead 

exemptions range from a standard exemption of $35,000 in Maine to $500,000 in Massachusetts.  

Motor vehicle exemptions range from $2,500 in Vermont to $12,000 for one or more cars in Rhode 

Island.   

 

Exempt Property 

The current Connecticut exemptions from a money judgment are:  

1. an individual’s homestead up to $75,000 (or in a judgment arising out of hospital 

services, up to $125,000), determined as the fair market value less the amount of any 

statutory or consensual lien which encumbers it; 

2. motor vehicle worth up to $3,500 (fair market value minus all liens and security interests 

on it);  

3. necessary apparel, bedding, foodstuffs, household furniture, and appliances;  

4. tools, books, instruments, farm animals, and livestock feed that the individual needs for 

his or her occupation, profession, or farming operation;  

5. a burial plot for the individual and his or her immediate family;  

6. public assistance payments and wages the recipient earns under an incentive earnings 

or similar program;  

7. health and disability insurance payments;  

8. health aids the individual needs to work or sustain health;  

9. workers’ compensation, social security, veterans' and unemployment benefits;  

10. alimony and support, other than child support, but only to the extent that wages are 

exempt from execution;  

11. court-approved child support payments;  

https://data.bls.gov/cgi-bin/cpicalc.pl
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12. arms, military equipment, uniforms, and musical instruments owned by someone in the 

United States armed forces or militia;  

13. wedding and engagement rings;  

14. one residential utility deposit and one residential security deposit;  

15. an individual's assets or interests in a retirement, Keogh, Individual Retirement Account, 

medical savings account, group annuity, or similar plan or arrangement; 

16. an award under a crime reparations act; 

17. benefits allowed by any association of persons in this state for the support of its 

members who are incapacitated by sickness or infirmity;  

18. money due to the individual from an insurance company on any insurance policy issued 

on exempt property, to the same extent that the property was exempt;  

19. an interest in any property that does not exceed $1,000 in value;  

20. an interest of up to $4,000 in any accrued dividend or interest under, or loan value of, 

any unmatured life insurance contract the individual owns under which he or she, or 

someone upon whom he or she is dependent, is insured; and  

21. irrevocable transfers of money to an account held by a licensed debt adjuster for the 

benefit of the individual's creditors (CGS § 52-352b). 

 

Exempt Property With A Monetary Value Attached  

Homestead Exemption 

The homestead exemption generally permits the debtor to exclude his or her home from execution 

of a judgment up to the value of $75,000. The exemption was enacted in 1993. In 2003, the cap 

was increased to $125,000 for debt arising out of hospital services.  The homestead exemption is 

based upon the equity value of a primary residence. 

 

In a 2003 Superior Court decision, the court noted that if spouses own a house jointly, then the 

homestead is subject to a $150,000 exemption since each of them has an exemption valued at 

$75,000 (Bolduc v. Riches, 47 Conn. Sup. 590 (2003)).  (We found no Supreme or Appellate court 

decisions or other authorities that address this issue.)  

 

According to BLS’ CPI Inflation Calculator, inflation would increase the $75,000 exemption to 

approximately $130,000 and the $125,000 exemption would increase to approximately $170,000.  

 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_906.htm#sec_52-352b
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Motor Vehicle Exemption 

The motor vehicle exemption was enacted in 1977.  In 2007, the legislature increased the 

exemption from $1,500 to the current limit of $3,500 (PA 07-37). Using the CPI, the motor vehicle 

exemption would increase from $3,500 to approximately $4,200 when adjusted for inflation.   

 

Additional Exemptions with Monetary Thresholds 

The exemptions for any property for which the debtor has an interest that is greater than $1,000 

(CGS § 52-352b(r)) and any interest up to $4,000 for unmatured life insurance contracts (CGS § 

52-352b(s)) were enacted in 1993.  These amounts would be increased to approximately $1,700 

and $7,000, respectively, using the same CPI adjustment.  

 

Homestead Exemptions In Other States 

All other New England states have homestead exemptions.  

 

In Maine, the standard homestead exemption is $47,500. But if minor dependents live with the 

debtor, the exemption is $95,000 and if the debtor or his or her dependent is at least 60 years old 

or has a disability, the limit is $95,000 (Maine Rev. Stat. tit. 14 § 4422). The exemption does not 

apply to fraudulent conveyances or certain tort judgments.  

 

In Massachusetts, there is an automatic homestead exemption of $125,000 if the homeowner 

does not declare such an exemption with the Registry of Deeds. Alternatively, a homeowner 

generally may claim an exemption up to $500,000 by filing a “Declaration of Homestead” with the 

registry. The exemption does not apply to (1) sales for taxes; (2) a lien on the home recorded prior 

to the homestead’s creation; (3) a mortgage on the home; (4) spousal or child support orders; (5) 

money owed for ground rent if the homeowner does not own the underlying land; and (6) court 

judgments based on fraud, mistake, duress, undue influence, or lack of capacity (Mass. Gen. Law 

ch. 188 § 1 et seq.).  

 

In New Hampshire, the homestead exemption is $120,000. The exemption does not apply to taxes; 

mechanics liens and liens for the construction, repair, or improvement of the homestead; liens filed 

by homeowner or condominium associations for unpaid assessments; certain mortgages; and 

certain levies of execution (N. H. Rev. Stat. § 480:1 et seq.).  

 

In Rhode Island, the homestead exemption is $500,000 in land and buildings of the debtor’s 

primary residence. The exemption does not apply to (1) sales for taxes and certain public services 

liens; (2) debts prior to acquiring the property; (3) debts from buying the homestead; (4) judgments 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2007&bill_num=37
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_906.htm#sec_52-352b
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_906.htm#sec_52-352b
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_906.htm#sec_52-352b
http://legislature.maine.gov/statutes/14/title14sec4422.html
https://malegislature.gov/Laws/GeneralLaws/PartII/TitleI/Chapter188
https://malegislature.gov/Laws/GeneralLaws/PartII/TitleI/Chapter188
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/NHTOC/NHTOC-XLIX-480.htm
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for spousal or child support; (5) money owed for ground rent if the homeowner does not own the 

underlying land; (6) reimbursements to the state for medical assistance; and (7) debts to banks  (R. 

I. Gen. Laws § 9-26-4.1).  

 

In Vermont, the homestead exemption is $125,000 of the value of a dwelling, outbuildings, and the 

land used in connection with them owned and used by the debtor as a homestead. The exemption 

does not apply to taxes, mortgages, or causes of action that existed at the time of acquiring the 

homestead (Vt. Stat. Tit. 27 § 101).  

 

Vehicle Exemptions in Other States 

All other New England States have motor vehicle exemptions. 

 

 In Maine, the motor vehicle exemption is the debtor’s interest, up to $7,500, in one motor 

vehicle (Maine Rev. Stat. Tit. 14 § 4422).   

 

 In Massachusetts, the exemption is for one vehicle needed for personal transportation or for 

employment, up to $7,500 of the vehicle’s wholesale retail value. The exemption is up to 

$15,000 of the vehicle’s wholesale resale value if the owner is either disabled or age 60 or 

older (Mass. Gen. Law ch. 235 § 34).  

 

 In New Hampshire, the exemption is for one automobile, up to $4,000 in value (N.H. Rev. 

Stat. § 511:2). 

 

 In Rhode Island, the exemption is for any and all motor vehicles up to $12,000 in total value 

(R. I. Gen. Laws § 9-26-4).   

 

 In Vermont, the exemption is for one or more motor vehicles up to $2,500 in total value (Vt. 

Stat. Tit. 12 § 2740). 
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