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Part-Time and Full-Time 

Employment 

By law, a full-time employed juror is 

someone who works at least 30 hours 

per week, and the job is not 

temporary or casual (but it can be a 

job through a temping agency if the 

employee has held that job for over 

90 days and works at least 30 hours 

per week).  

A part-time employed juror is 

someone who works at a position less 

than 30 hours per week or who works 

on a temporary or casual basis (CGS 

§ 51-247).  

 

 

Juror Pay 
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Issue  

This report summarizes Connecticut law on juror pay and employer responsibilities regarding 

employees who serve as jurors.  

 

Summary 

Under Connecticut law, an employer generally must pay 

an employee’s regular wages for his or her first five 

days of jury service if he or she is employed full-time.  In 

certain circumstances, the state covers the cost (up to 

$50 per day) of certain necessary juror expenses 

during that time. After five days of service, the state 

pays jurors $50 per day. 

 

The law also prohibits employers from taking certain 

actions against employees who serve jury duty (e.g., 

firing them or threatening their employment) and 

provides employees with legal recourse if the 

employers take such actions. 

 

The Office of Fiscal Analysis (OFA) provided data for this report on juror pay and reimbursement for 

court year 2017. 

 

For more information, see the “Jury Service in Connecticut” pamphlet published by the Judicial 

Branch and the Department of Labor.  
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Juror Pay 

Under Connecticut law, an employer generally must pay a full-time employee’s regular wages for his 

or her first five days of jury service. Employers must make these payments in the same manner and 

time as they would have paid the juror if he or she had been at work.  

 

After five days of service, the state pays jurors $50 per day. The state also pays between $20 and 

$50 a day for necessary expenses during the first five days of jury service for a juror (1) who is full-

time employed but not paid by his employer for a particular day of jury service, (2) part-time 

employed, or (3) unemployed. Necessary expenses include 20 cents per mile for travel but exclude 

food.  An employee who works full-time for an employer and part-time for another employer on a 

particular day is considered a full-time employee and must be paid by the full-time employer. An 

employer is not required to pay a full-time employee for a day of jury service if the employee would 

not (1) receive regular wages for that particular day or (2) work more than one-half of a shift that 

extends into another day (CGS § 51-247). 

 
An employer has up to 15 days after receiving proof of jury service from an employee to file an 

application with the court to waive the requirement that the employer pay the employee for the first 

five days of jury service. If the court finds that the payment would cause extreme hardship, it can 

excuse the employer from the duty to pay the employee for his or her jury service. It can also excuse 

a self-employed juror from the duty to pay his or her own wages on that basis. When a waiver is 

granted, the state pays the juror his or her regular wages up to $50 per day for up to five days. If 

the waiver is denied, the applicant may apply for a hearing up to 20 days after the court issues its 

finding (CGS § 51-247c).  

 

Employer Prohibited Conduct and Employee Recourse 

 

The law prohibits employers from firing an employee, or threatening or otherwise coercing an 

employee regarding his or her employment, because the employee receives a jury summons, 

responds to such a summons, or serves as a juror. An employer may not require an employee who 

serves eight hours of jury duty in a given day to work in excess of those hours.  Violation of these 

laws constitutes criminal contempt, and an employer convicted for such a violation may be fined up 

to $500, imprisoned for up to 30 days, or both.  

 

If an employer fires an employee for receiving or responding to a jury summons or serving jury duty, 

the employee may, within 90 days, sue the employer for job reinstatement and to recover up to 10 

weeks’ worth of wages lost as a result of the discharge. An employee who prevails in such an action 

must also be allowed a reasonable attorney’s fee.  

https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_884.htm#sec_51-247
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_884.htm#sec_51-247c
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An employer who fails to compensate an employee for serving the first five days of jury service, 

unless exempt, is liable to the employee for damages and is also subject to the criminal penalties in 

place for nonpayment of wages, which may include fines, imprisonment, or both. (The criminal 

penalty varies depending on the amount of wages the employer failed to pay.) The court may award 

triple damages and reasonable attorney’s fees to the juror upon finding that the employer willfully 

refused to pay him or her. The employer’s extreme financial hardship is not a defense to such an 

action. The Labor Department may also bring a civil action against the employer to recover twice 

the amount of unpaid wages, with the recovery distributed to the employee (CGS §§ 51-247, 51-

247a).   

 

Judicial Branch Payments 

OFA provided the following information from the judicial branch regarding juror reimbursement and 

pay during court year 2017. (A court year runs from September 1 – August 31.) 

Table 1: Juror Reimbursement and Compensation for Court Year 2017  

 Statute Statutory Per 
Diem  

Amount Paid 

Reimbursements for out-of-pocket 
expenses 

51-247(a) $20 - $50 $220,192.75 

Payments to jurors for service after five 
days 

51-247(c) $50 $238,950 

Payments of wages to jurors when 
employer’s obligation to pay is waived 

51-247c Up to $50 $16,131 

TOTAL $475,273.75 
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