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Issue  

Provide a brief summary of a recently enacted Massachusetts abortion law: The Negating Archaic 

Statutes Targeting Young Women Act (“NASTY Women Act”).  Could Connecticut adopt similar 

legislation? 

 

Summary 

In July 2018, the Massachusetts legislature passed the NASTY Women Act (2018 S.2260), which 

primarily repeals outdated unenforced provisions related to women’s reproductive health, including 

abortion, contraception, and adultery. We discuss the act’s provisions and their relationship to 

Connecticut law individually below. Generally, Connecticut does not have laws with similar 

provisions. 

 

For additional information on state abortion laws, see OLR Report 2018-R-0181, which compares 

Connecticut’s abortion laws with those of other states. 

 

Massachusetts’ NASTY Women Act 

Abortion Ban 

The Massachusetts act repeals a 173-year-old law that prohibited a woman from “procuring a 

miscarriage” and anyone from assisting or performing one.  While abortion is already legal under 

other Massachusetts law and federal law, it was widely reported that the legislature passed the act 

in the event that the U.S. Supreme Court overturns Roe v. Wade in the future (M.G.L  Ch. 272, § 

19).  

http://www.cga.ct.gov/olr
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Connecticut does not have a similar law. Conversely, it is one of a small number of states that have 

enacted laws affirmatively declaring a woman’s right to choose an abortion. Connecticut law 

provides that “the decision to terminate a pregnancy prior to the viability of the fetus shall be solely 

that of the pregnant woman in consultation with her physician” (CGS § 19a-602(a)).  

 

In 1990, Connecticut repealed its laws that criminalized abortion.  

 

Late-Term Abortions 

The Massachusetts act eliminates a provision that required abortions occurring on or after the 13th 

week of pregnancy to be performed in a hospital. As under prior law, it continues to prohibit 

abortion after 24 weeks of pregnancy except to preserve the mother’s life or health. Such abortions 

must be performed in a hospital (§ 1, amending M.G.L Ch. 112, § 12Q). 

 

Connecticut law and regulations prohibit abortion after the fetus is viable (i.e., during the third 

trimester), except to preserve the mother’s life or health (CGS § 19a-602(b) and Conn. Agencies 

Regs., § 19-13-D54). Abortions induced after the second trimester must be performed at a hospital 

with anesthesiology and obstetrics and gynecology departments (Conn. Agencies Regs., § 19-13-

D54). 

 

Abortion Assistance 

The Massachusetts act repeals a law that prohibited someone from selling, offering to sell, giving 

away, or lending (1) an instrument or article to be used for self-abuse or (2) drug, medicine, or 

instrument to prevent pregnancy or cause an unlawful abortion. A person who violated that law was 

subject to up to five years’ imprisonment or a fine of between $100 and $1,000 (M.G.L  Ch. 272, § 

21).  

 

Connecticut does not have a similar law.  

 

Advertising Abortion Services 

The Massachusetts act repeals a law that prohibited someone from advertising or publishing 

abortion information or services. A person who violated the law was subject to up to three years’ 

imprisonment or a fine of up to $1,000 (M.G.L  Ch. 272, § 20). 

 

Connecticut does not have a similar law. 

 

https://search.cga.state.ct.us/r/statute/dtsearch.asp?cmd=getdoc&DocId=14917&Index=I%3a%5czindex%5csurs&HitCount=2&hits=7b+7c+&hc=2&req=%28number+contains+19a%2D602%2A%29&Item=0
https://search.cga.state.ct.us/r/statute/dtsearch.asp?cmd=getdoc&DocId=14917&Index=I%3a%5czindex%5csurs&HitCount=2&hits=7b+7c+&hc=2&req=%28number+contains+19a%2D602%2A%29&Item=0
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Contraception 

The Massachusetts act amended a provision under prior law that allowed only a physician to 

administer or prescribe, and a pharmacist to dispense, contraception to married individuals. It 

instead allows any authorized health care provider (i.e., physician, physician assistant, nurse 

practitioner, or certified nurse midwife) to administer or prescribe contraception to any person, not 

just those who are married. 

 

The act also allows any health care provider, instead of only a public health agency, registered 

nurse, or a hospital maternity health clinic to provide information about where to lawfully obtain 

contraception. It allows this information to be provided to any person, not just married persons as 

under prior law (§ 3, amending M.G.L  Ch. 272, § 21A).  

 

Connecticut does not have a similar law. 

 

Adultery 

The Massachusetts act repeals a law that subjected a married or unmarried person who committed 

adultery to a fine of up to $500, imprisonment for up to three years, or both (M.G.L  Ch. 272, § 14).  

 

Connecticut does not have a similar law. In 1991, the legislature repealed a law that made adultery 

a Class A misdemeanor (former CGS § 53a-81). 

 

Fornication 

The Massachusetts act repeals a law that made fornication punishable by up to three months 

imprisonment or a fine of up to $30 (M.G.L  Ch. 272, § 18). 

 

Connecticut does not have a similar law.  

 

 


