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Issue

Do any states have laws that prohibit a person from leaving an animal in an unattended
motor vehicle? Do the laws allow someone to break into a vehicle to rescue an animal? This
report updates OLR Report 2015-R-0192.

Summary

Twenty-seven states have laws that explicitly address leaving an animal in an unattended
vehicle: Arizona, California, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, lllinois, Indiana, Maine, Maryland,
Massachusetts, Minnesota, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina,
North Dakota, Ohio, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Tennessee, Vermont, Virginia,
Washington, West Virginia, and Wisconsin (see Table 1 below).

These laws either prohibit a person from leaving an animal in an unattended vehicle, allow
certain people (e.g., police and animal control officers) to rescue an animal that is confined
in a vehicle, or both. Generally, the person may, without liability, use reasonable force to
rescue the animal given the circumstances.

In Connecticut, depending on the facts and circumstances of the case, a person leaving an
animal confined in a parked vehicle in adverse weather (e.g., extreme heat or cold) may be
charged with animal cruelty.
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Under Connecticut law, a person commits animal cruelty if he or she, among other things,
tortures, cruelly beats or Kills, deprives of necessary sustenance, or unjustifiably injures an
animal. A person is also guilty of this crime if (1) when confining an animal, they fail to
provide the animal proper care or to supply it with wholesome air, food, and water or (2)
when having custody of an animal, they inflict cruelty upon it or fail to provide it proper food,
drink, or protection from the weather. Animal cruelty is punishable by up to one year in
prison, a fine of up to $1,000, or both for a first offense and is a class D felony for a
subsequent offense. Intentional and malicious animal cruelty is a class D felony for a first
offense and a Class C felony for a subsequent offense (CGS § 53-247).
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State and
Citation

Table 1: State Laws Concerning Animals Left in an Unattended Vehicle

Prohibited Activity

Rescue Provision

Cal. Penal Code
§597.7

Cal. Civ. Code §
43.100

an unattended motor vehicle
under conditions that endanger
the animal’s health or well-being
due to heat, cold, lack of
adequate ventilation, lack of food
or water, or other circumstances
that could reasonably be expected
to cause suffering, disability, or
death

fine, but if the animal suffered
great bodily injury, then up to a
$500 fine, up to six months in
county jail, or both

Subsequent conviction: up to a
$500 fine, up to six months in
county jail, or both

Arizona Intentionally, knowingly, or Class 1 misdemeanor A peace officer or animal control enforcement agent or deputy may

ARS. recklessly leaving an animal use reasonable force to open a vehicle to rescue an animal.

§§ 13-2910 and umnoe}[:)tfr\;:si(ilznv(\j/hcjrr;ﬁg:dsliz:ll A person may use reasonable force to enter a locked and unattended

12-558.02 injury or death is ikely t)é sl vehicle to remove a confined domestic animal without civil liability if
the person (1) has a good faith belief that the animal is in imminent
danger of suffering injury or death; (2) determines there is no
reasonable method to remove the animal; (3) notifies a peace officer,
emergency medical service or first responder, or an animal control
enforcement agency or deputy before entering; and (4) remains with
the animal until first responders arrive.

California Leaving or confining an animal in | First conviction: up to a $100 | A person with a reasonable, good faith belief that forcible entry is

necessary because the animal is in imminent danger of harm (1) must
contact the local law enforcement agency, fire department, animal
control, or 911 operator; (2) may take reasonable steps to enter the
vehicle to rescue the animal after determining there is no other exit for
the animal; and (3) must remain with the animal until an emergency
responder arrives and immediately turn the animal over to the
responder. Such a person is immune from civil liability.

A peace officer, animal control officer, or humane officer (1) may take
all steps necessary to remove the animal from the vehicle after making
a reasonable effort to locate the person responsible and (2) must
leave a written note indicating where the animal can be claimed.

An owner may claim the animal after paying all charges for the
maintenance, care, medical treatment, or impoundment of the animal.
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State and
Citation
Colorado

CRSA.

§§ 13-21-108.4
and 18-1-706.5

Prohibited Activity

None specified

Table 1 (continued)

Penalty

None specified

Rescue Provision

A person is immune from civil or criminal liability for property damage
resulting from his or her forcible entry into a locked vehicle to rescue
an at-risk dog or cat if the person (1) has reasonable belief that the
animal is in imminent danger of death or suffering serious bodily injury,
(2) determines forcible entry is necessary, (3) makes reasonable effort
to locate the owner, (4) contacts law enforcement prior to entering the
vehicle, and (5) remains with the animal until a first responder arrives.
If the rescuer must leave the scene, he or she must leave a written
note and contact law enforcement first.

Delaware

11 Del.C. § 1325

Confining an animal (not including
fish, crustacea, or molluska)
unattended in a standing or
parked motor vehicle in which the
temperature is either so high or
low as to endanger the health or
safety of the animal

First offense: issued warning

Subsequent offenses: Class A
misdemeanor

A law enforcement officer, animal control officer, or firefighter with
probable cause (1) may use reasonable force to remove the animal
and (2) must use reasonable means to contact the owner. If unable to
contact the owner, he or she must leave a written note with the
location where the animal may be claimed before taking the animal to
a shelter.

Florida
F.S.A.§768.139

None specified

None specified

A person who enters a motor vehicle to remove a vulnerable domestic
animal is immune from civil liability for damage to the motor vehicle if
the person (1) determines there is no reasonable way for the animal to
exit without help, (2) has a good faith and reasonable belief that the
animal is in imminent danger of suffering harm, (3) contacts law
enforcement before entering the vehicle or immediately after, (4) uses
no more force than necessary, and (5) remains with the animal until a
first responder arrives.
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Table 1 (continued)

Stqte _and Prohibited Activity Penalty Rescue Provision
Citation

[llinois Confining an animal in a motor First conviction: class C A law enforcement officer, animal control officer, or agriculture
510 ILCS 70/71 vehicle in a way that places itina | misdemeanor department investigator may enter the vehicle using any reasonable

life- or health-threatening situation Subsequent conviction: class means after making a reasonable effort to locate the person

due to prolonged expogure to B misdemeanor responsible.

extreme heat or cold without

proper ventilation or other

precaution against the heat or

cold
Indiana None specified None specified A person who forcibly enters a motor vehicle to remove a domestic
IC 34-6-2-34.3 animal is liable to the owner or lessee for one-half of repair costs for
and IC 34-30-30- damages, unless liability is waived. The person is immune from other
3 civil or criminal liability if he or she (1) reasonably believes the animal

is in danger of suffering serious harm, (2) determines forcible entry is
the only option, (3) calls 911 before entry, (4) uses no more force than
is necessary, and (5) stays with the animal until a first responder
arrives.

Law enforcement officers, firefighters, government officers whose
primary duties are to ensure public safety, emergency responders,
animal control officers, veterinarians, and veterinarian assistants are
not liable for repair costs if the rescue happens when acting in the
course and scope of employment.
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Table 1 (continued)

Sta_te .and Prohibited Activity Penalty Rescue Provision
Citation

Maine Leaving an animal in a motor None specified, but the A law enforcement officer, humane agent, animal control officer,
7MRSA. § vehicle if the animal’s safety, animal’'s owner can claim the | firefighter, first responder, or licensed security guard (1) may take all
4019 health, or well-being appears to animal only after paying all steps reasonably necessary to remove the animal from the vehicle and (2)
be in immediate danger from heat, | charges accrued for the must leave a written note indicating where the animal may be claimed.
cold, or lack of adequate animal’s maintenance, care,
ventilation and extreme suffering | medical treatment, and
or death could reasonably be impoundment
expected
Maryland Leaving a cat or dog unattended Motor vehicle violation The following people may use reasonable force to remove a cat or dog
MD Code, in a standing or parked motor (currently a $70 fine) from a motor vehicle: law enforcement officer, public safety employee,
Trans., § 21- vehicle in a manner that animal control officer, officer of a prevention of cruelty to animals society
1004 1 endangers the animal’s health or authorized to make arrests, or fire and rescue service volunteer or
safety professional.
Massachusetts | Confining an animal in a motor Civil infraction, subject to a An animal control officer, law enforcement officer, or fire fighter (1) may
MGLA. vehicle in a manner that could fine up to the following use reasonable means to remove an animal from a motor vehicle and (2)
reasonably be expected to amount: must leave written notice indicating where the animal may be claimed. An
140 § 174F threaten the health of the animal First offense: $150 owner may claim the animal after paying all charges for the maintenance,
due to exposure to extreme heat | gecond offense: $300 care, medical treatment, or impoundment of the animal.
or cold ;ggg or subsequent offense: | . nerson with a reasonable, good faith belief that entry to the vehicle is
necessary to prevent imminent danger or harm to the animal may use
reasonable force to remove an animal from a motor vehicle, but first must
(1) try to locate the vehicle owner, (2) notify law enforcement or call 911,
(3) determine there is no other reasonable exit for the animal, and (4)
remain with the animal until a first responder arrives.
Rescuers are immune from criminal or civil liability.
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State and
Citation

Prohibited Activity

Table 1 (continued)

Rescue Provision

Penalty

Minnesota Leaving a cat or dog unattended Petty misdemeanor, subject | A peace officer, humane agent, dog warden, or fire or rescue department

MSA § in a standing or parked motor to a $25 fine volunteer or professional (1) may use reasonable force to remove a cat or

3 4'6 '57' vehicle in a manner that dog from a vehicle and (2) must use reasonable means to contact the

' endangers the animal’s health or animal’s owner to arrange for its return. If unable to contact the owner, the

safety rescuer may take the dog or cat to an animal shelter.

Nevada Leaving a pet unattended in a Misdemeanor The following people may use any reasonable means necessary to

N.R.S. SB 409 parked or standing motor vehicle protect and remove a pet from a motor vehicle without incurring civil

§'3 o " | during extreme heat, cold, or any liability: peace officer, animal control officer, public safety officer, fire
other conditions that present a department employee or volunteer, or member of a search and rescue

NRS.§ significant risk to the health and organization that is under a sheriff's supervision.

574.055 safety of the pet

New Confining an animal in a motor Misdemeanor A law enforcement officer or agent of a licensed humane organization

Hampshire vehicle or other enclosed space in may take action necessary to rescue a confined animal endangered by

N.H. Rev. Stat. :]V.h:h the tlemperature is elthe_r SO extreme temperatures.

§ 644:8-aa igh or so low as to cause serious
harm

New Jersey Leaving a living animal or creature | Between $500 and $2,000 None specified

NJSA § ynattended in a.\l/ehlcle under fine

4:22-26(c) inhumane conditions adverse to

its health or welfare
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State and
Citation
New York

N.Y. Agri &
Mkts § 353-d

Prohibited Activity

Confining a companion animal in
a motor vehicle in extreme heat or
cold without proper ventilation or
other protection, placing the
animal in imminent danger of
death or serious physical injury

Table 1 (continued)

Penalty

First offense: between $50
and $100 fine

Subsequent offense: between
$100 and $250 fine

Rescue Provision

A police officer, peace officer, or peace officer acting as an agent of an
incorporated humane society (1) may take necessary steps to remove the
animal from the vehicle and (2) must leave a written note indicating where
the animal will be taken.

North Carolina

Leaving an animal confined in a
motor vehicle under conditions

None specified, but may be
charged with cruelty to

An animal control officer, appointed animal cruelty investigator, law
enforcement officer, firefighter, or rescue squad worker may enter the

N.C.G.SA.
14-363.3 & 1§§ that are likely to cause suffering, | animals, which is a class 1 vehicle by any reasonable means under the circumstances after making a
360 ' injury, or death due to heat, cold, | misdemeanor or class H reasonable effort to locate the person responsible

lack of adequate ventilation, or felony, depending on the

other endangering conditions circumstances
North Dakota | Leaving an animal unattended in | Infraction A law enforcement officer may use reasonable means to remove an
NDCC § 36- a rpotC),r vehicle endangering the animal from a vehicle.
21.9-12 animal’s health and safety
Ohio None specified None specified A person who forcibly enters a motor vehicle to remove an animal from
RC.§959.133 the vehicle is immune from civil liability for damages if he or she (1)

determines forcible entry is the only option, (2) reasonably believes the
animal in the vehicle is in imminent danger of suffering harm, (3) calls law
enforcement before entry, (4) leaves written notice on the vehicle, (5)
stays with the animal until emergency responders arrive, and (6) uses no
more force than is necessary.
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State and

Prohibited Activity

Table 1 (continued)

Rescue Provision

Penalty

Citation
Oregon None specified None specified A person who enters a motor vehicle to remove a domestic animal left
Ch. 424, § 1 unattended is not subject to criminal or civil liability if he or she (1)
determines forcible entry is the only option, (2) reasonably believes the
(2017) animal is in imminent danger of suffering harm, (3) notifies law
enforcement before entry or as soon as practicable, (4) uses no more
force than is necessary, and (5) stays with the animal until emergency
responders arrive.
Rhode Island | Confining an animal in a motor Knowingly violating the law is | An animal control officer, law enforcement officer, or firefighter (1) may
R Gen. Laws vehicle and placing the animal in | punishable by up to one year | enter a vehicle by any reasonable means necessary under the
§4-13.2 a life- or extreme health- in prison, a fine of up to circumstances to rescue the animal after making a reasonable effort to
threatening situation by exposing | $1,000, or both locate the person responsible and (2) must leave a written note indicating
ittoa proIonggd period of extreme The animal’'s owner can claim where the animal may be claimed.
heat.or.cold without propelr the animal only after paying
ventilation or other protection all charges accrued for the
animal’s maintenance, care,
medical treatment, and
impoundment
South Dakota | Leaving a cat, dog, or other small | None specified A peace officer or humane society officer or agent may use reasonable
SDCL § 40-1- animal unattended in a standing force to remove an animal from a vehicle.
36 or parked vehicle in a manner that

endangers the animal’s health or
safety
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State and

Table 1 (continued)

Rescue Provision

Citation

Prohibited Activity

Penalty

Tennessee None specified None specified A person with a reasonable, good faith belief that forcible entry is

T.C.A. § 29- necessary because the animal is in imminent danger of suffering harm

34-209 who has contacted the local law enforcement agency, fire department, or
911 operator (1) may, without civil liability, use no more force than is
necessary to enter the vehicle to rescue the animal and (2) must (a) leave
a written note indicating where the animal will be taken and (b) remain
with the animal until an emergency responder arrives.

Vermont Leaving an animal unattended in | First conviction: up to one A humane officer or member of a fire and rescue service (1) may use

13V.SA §§ a standing or parked motor year in prison, up to a $2,000 | reasonable force to remove an animal from a vehicle; (2) bring the animal

386, 352, & vehicle in a manner that fine, or both to a humane society, veterinarian, or town or municipal pound; and (3)

353 endangers the animal’s health or Subsequent conviction: up to must, |.f the owner can.not be found, leave a written note indicating where

12VSAS safety two years in prison, up to a the animal may be claimed.

5784 $5,000 fine, or both Any person with a reasonable, good faith belief that forcible entry is

If the person is a first time
offender, in lieu of a criminal
arrest, a law enforcement
officer may issue a civil
citation and assess a fine of
up to $500

The owner is liable for
reasonable expenses
incurred for rescuing the
animal

necessary because the animal is in imminent danger of harm who has
contacted the local law enforcement agency, fire department, or 911
operator (1) may, without civil liability, use no more force than necessary
to enter the vehicle to rescue the animal after determining there is no
reasonable exit for the animal and (2) must (a) remain with the animal
until an emergency responder arrives and (b) leave a written note
indicating authorities were notified and where the animal will be taken.
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Table 1 (continued)

Séa_)te fmd Prohibited Activity Penalty Rescue Provision
itation e
Virginia None specified None specified A law enforcement officer, firefighter, emergency medical
VA ST §3.2- personnel, or animal control officer may forcibly enter a motor
6504.1 vehicle to remove an unattended companion animal at risk of
serious bodily injury or death without liability, unless gross
negligence or willful misconduct results in property damage or
injury.
Washington Leaving or confining an animal | Class 2 civil infraction, subject to a An animal control or law enforcement officer who reasonably
RCWA §§ unattended in a motor vehicle | maximum fine of $125 (not including believes an animal is suffering or likely to suffer harm may enter
1652340 and | ©" enclosed space if the statutory assessments) a vehicle or enclosed space to remove the animal by any means
780120 arnmal could be harmed or Animal cruelty charges may also apply reasonable under the circumstances.
killed due to excessive heat,
cold, lack of ventilation, or lack
of necessary water
West Virginia | Leaving an animal unattended | First conviction: misdemeanor, subjectto | None specified
W.Va. Code § and confined in a motor up to six months in jail, a fine of between
61-8-19 vehicle when physical injury or | $300 and $2,000, or both
death is likely to result Subsequent conviction: misdemeanor,
subject to jail for at least 90 days, a fine of
between $500 and $3,000, or both
A person convicted may be (1) required
to complete a psychiatric or psychological
evaluation and an anger management
program and (2) prohibited from owning or
possessing an animal for five years
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State and

Prohibited Activity

Table 1 (continued)

Rescue Provision

Citation
Wisconsin

W.SA.
§ 895.484

None specified

None specified

Penalty

A person who forcibly enters a motor vehicle to remove a
domestic animal is immune from civil liability if he or she (1)
reasonably believes the animal is in imminent danger of suffering
bodily harm unless removed; (2) determines forcible entry is
necessary; (3) calls 911 or contacts law enforcement,
emergency medical services, or animal control before entry; (4)
stays with the animal until emergency responders arrive; (5)
uses no more force than is necessary; and (6) if leaving the
scene, also leaves detailed written notice.

Sources: Individual state laws and Michigan State University College of Law’s Animal Center (https://www.animallaw.info/topic/table-state-laws-protect-animals-left-parked-vehicles)
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