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Security Deposit 

“Security deposit” means any 

advance rental payment, or any 

installment payment collected 

pursuant to state law, except an 

advance payment for the first month's 

rent or a deposit for a key or any 

special equipment (CGS § 47a-

21(a)(11)). 

A security deposit is exempt from 

attachment and execution by the 

landlord’s creditors and is not part of 

the landlord’s estate. The landlord’s 

security interest is assigned to any 

successor landlord (CGS § 47a-21(c)). 

 

 

Tenant's Security Deposit 
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Issue  

Summarize the laws that govern a tenant’s ability to reclaim a security deposit from a nonresident 

landlord. 

 

Summary 

By law, any security deposit paid by a tenant remains 

the tenant’s property in which the landlord has a 

security interest to secure the tenant's obligations (CGS 

§ 47a-21).  

 

Under the law, the landlord: 

 

1. must immediately deposit the entire amount of 

any security deposit into an escrow account for 

the tenant’s benefit; 

2. is prohibited from withdrawing the funds except 

under certain circumstances, such as to disburse 

accrued interest to the tenant; and 

3. must pay the tenant the deposit plus accrued 

interest at the termination of the tenancy (CGS § 

47a-21(d) & (h)). 
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Anyone may bring an action in any court of competent jurisdiction to reclaim any part of his or her 

security deposit which may be due.  The law does not preclude the tenant or landlord from 

recovering other damages to which they may be entitled (CGS § 47a-21(g)). 

 

The security deposit laws apply whether or not the landlord resides in Connecticut.  However, any 

landlord who is not a Connecticut resident must appoint, in writing, the secretary of the state as the 

landlord's attorney upon whom all process in any action or proceeding against the landlord may be 

served (CGS § 47a-21(f)). 

 

The law does not limit (1) the power or authority of the state, the attorney general, or the banking 

commissioner to seek administrative, legal, or equitable relief permitted by law or (2) the right of 

any tenant to bring a civil action permitted by law (CGS § 47a-21(l)). 

 

If an action is brought in the small claims court by a tenant to reclaim any part of a security deposit 

which may be due, the judicial authority hearing the action may award the tenant the damages 

authorized by CGS § 47a-21(d) and, if authorized by the rental agreement or any provision of the 

general statutes, costs, even if the amount of such damages and costs, in the aggregate, exceeds 

the small claims court’s jurisdictional monetary limit (i.e., up to $5,000) (CGS § 51-15).  By law, any 

landlord who does not return a security deposit or interest when due is liable for twice the amount 

of the tenant’s security deposit, except that, if the only violation is the failure to deliver the accrued 

interest, the landlord is liable for $10 or twice the amount of the accrued interest, whichever is 

greater (CGS § 47a-21(d)(2)). 

 

Commissioner’s Investigation of Complaints  

Generally, the banking commissioner may receive and investigate complaints regarding certain 

alleged violations of the security deposit laws.  However, the commissioner does not have 

jurisdiction over a landlord’s (1) failure to pay interest to a tenant annually or (2) refusal or other 

failure of the landlord to return all or part of the security deposit if the failure results from the 

landlord's good faith claim that he or she has suffered damages as a result of a tenant's failure to 

comply with such tenant's obligations, regardless of whether the existence or amount of the alleged 

damages is disputed by the tenant (CGS § 47a-21(j)).  
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Penalties for Violation 

Failure to Return Security Deposit 

At the termination of a tenancy, any landlord who knowingly and willfully fails to pay all or part of a 

security deposit when due is subject to a fine of up to $250 for each offense.  However, it is an 

affirmative defense that the failure was caused by the landlord's good faith belief that he or she 

was entitled to deduct the value of damages he has suffered as a result of the tenant's failure to 

comply with his or her obligations (CGS § 47a-21(k)(1)). 

 

Escrow Requirement Violation 

A landlord who knowingly and willfully violates the escrow requirements is subject to up to a $500 

fine, up to 30 days in prison, or both for each offense. It is an affirmative defense that at the time of 

the offense, the landlord leased residential real property to fewer than four tenants who paid a 

security deposit (CGS § 47a-21(k)(2)). 

 

Failure to Pay Interest  

A landlord who knowingly and willfully fails to pay interest on the security deposit at the time it is 

due to the tenant is subject to a fine up to $100 for each offense (CGS § 47a-21(k)(3)). 
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