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Issue  

Briefly explain Connecticut’s cigarette and tobacco products taxes and how they compare to similar 

taxes in surrounding states. 

 

Summary 

Connecticut imposes excise taxes on cigarettes and other tobacco products, including snuff, pipe, 

and chewing tobacco and cigars.  Beginning December 1, 2017, the cigarette tax is $4.35 per pack 

and the tobacco products tax is $3 per ounce on snuff tobacco and generally 50% of the wholesale 

sales price for other tobacco products.  Reduced cigarette and tobacco products tax rates apply to 

certain “modified risk tobacco products” beginning December 1, 2017.  Both taxes are imposed at 

the wholesale level but passed along to consumers as part of the products’ retail price.  Cigarettes 

and tobacco products are also subject to the state’s 6.35% sales and use tax. 

 

New York and Connecticut, as of December 1, 2017, have the highest state cigarette tax rates in 

the region at $4.35 per pack, followed by Rhode Island at $4.25 per pack. (New York City has the 

highest combined state and local rate at $5.85 per pack.)  Tobacco taxes are not as easy to 

compare across states because some states tax tobacco products based on weight (i.e., per unit 

tax), while others do so based on wholesale price (i.e., ad valorem tax).   

 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/olr
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Cigarette and Tobacco Taxes 

Cigarette Tax  

Tax Rate and Stamps.  Connecticut imposes a tax on all cigarettes sold in the state.  The tax 

rate is $3.90 per pack until December 1, 2017, when it is scheduled to increase to $4.35 per pack 

(CGS § 12-296, as amended by SB 1502, June Special Session (§§ 628-630)).  Beginning 

December 1, 2017, the tax rate on modified risk tobacco products, as determined by the U.S. 

Department of Health and Human Services secretary, is reduced by 50% (i.e., $2.175 per pack).  

Under federal law, modified risk tobacco products are tobacco products that are sold or distributed 

for use to reduce harm or the risk of tobacco-related disease associated with commercially 

marketed tobacco products (21 USC 387k). 

 

The tax is levied on licensed cigarette distributors and dealers, but it is ultimately passed through to 

retail customers as part of the price of each cigarette pack.  Distributors and dealers pay the tax by 

purchasing tax stamps or heat-applied decals from the Department of Revenue Services (DRS), 

which they must affix to each package of cigarettes before distributing it.  Distributors get a 1% 

discount on stamps; dealers must pay face value (CGS § 12-298).   

 

Distributors and Dealers.  By law, a distributor is generally anyone who:  

1. is an in-state cigarette manufacturer, 

2. buys cigarettes at wholesale and sells at least 75% of them to licensed dealers, 

3. operates at least five retail stores in the state where cigarettes are sold, 

4. has 25 or more cigarette vending machines and buys cigarettes at wholesale, 

5. imports unstamped cigarettes and sells at least 75% to others for resale, or 

6. operates a Connecticut storage facility for unstamped cigarettes (CGS § 12-285(a)(2)). 

 

A dealer is anyone, other than a distributor, who sells cigarettes at retail in Connecticut, including 

those operating fewer than 25 vending machines (CGS § 12-285(a)(5)). 

 

Exemptions.  The tax does not apply to (1) cigarettes sold to state facilities other than prisons; (2) 

cigarettes sold to U.S. veterans’ hospitals and members of the U.S. Armed Forces, if they are sold 

on a military base by an agency permitted by federal regulation to operate there; or (3) the use or 

storage of up to 200 cigarettes (one carton) brought into the state by a traveler (i.e., on his or her 

person or in baggage) (CGS §§ 12-297, as amended by PA 17-147 (§ 29), and CGS § 12-320). 

 

http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_214.htm#sec_12-296
http://uscode.house.gov/view.xhtml?req=granuleid:USC-prelim-title21-section387k&num=0&edition=prelim
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_214.htm#sec_12-298
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_214.htm#sec_12-285
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_214.htm#sec_12-285
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_214.htm#sec_12-297
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_214.htm#sec_12-320
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Tobacco Products Tax 

Tax Rate and Base.  The state imposes a tax on all non-cigarette tobacco products in the state, 

including cigars, stogies, snuff, pipe, and chewing tobacco.  The tax is levied on licensed 

distributors and unclassified importers when the tobacco products are manufactured, imported, or 

purchased.  As with the cigarette tax, the tobacco products tax is ultimately passed through to retail 

customers as part of the price of each tobacco product. 

 

The tax rate differs according to the type of tobacco product.  Tobacco products, other than snuff 

tobacco, are taxed at 50% of their wholesale price.  Snuff tobacco is taxed at a rate of $1 per ounce 

until December 1, 2017, when it is scheduled to increase to $3 per ounce.  The tax on cigars is 

capped at 50 cents (CGS § 12-330c).  As with the cigarette tax, the tobacco products tax is reduced 

by 50% for modified risk tobacco products, beginning December 1, 2017. 

 

Distributors and Importers.  By law, a distributor is anyone who (1) manufactures tobacco 

products, (2) purchases untaxed tobacco products at wholesale from manufacturers or other 

distributors, or (3) imports untaxed tobacco products and sells at least 75% of them (CGS § 12-

330a(3)).  An unclassified importer is anyone, other than a distributor, who imports, receives, or 

acquires untaxed tobacco products from outside this state for his or her personal use or 

consumption in the state (CGS § 12-330a(4)). 

 

Exemptions.  The tax does not apply to tobacco products (1) exported from the state or (2) 

exempt from tax pursuant to federal law (CGS § 12-330c). 

 

Revenue 

Table 1 shows the amount of revenue 

the state received from cigarette and 

tobacco taxes in FYs 14 through 16.   

 

 

Cigarette and Tobacco Taxes in Surrounding States 

Table 2 provides the state cigarette and tobacco tax rates in Connecticut and surrounding states.  

As it shows, New York and Connecticut impose the highest state cigarette tax rates in the region at 

$4.35 per pack, followed by Rhode Island at $4.25 per pack. (New York City has the highest 

combined state and local rate at $5.85 per pack.)  New Hampshire imposes the lowest rate in the 

region at $1.78 per pack. 

 

Table 1: Cigarette and Tobacco Products Excise Tax Revenue 

FY Cigarette Tax 

Tobacco Products Tax 

Snuff 

Tobacco 

Cigars  

(> $1) 

Other 

Tobacco 

Products 

16 $361,578,691 $4,807,575 $1,090,566 $6,346,391 

15 348,169,977 4,144,666 1,446,305 5,240,806 

14 364,655,595 4,480,315 1,205,968 6,380,772 

Source: DRS FY 16 Annual Report 

 

http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_214a.htm#sec_12-330c
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_214a.htm#sec_12-330a
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_214a.htm#sec_12-330a
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_214a.htm#sec_12-330a
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_214a.htm#sec_12-330c
http://www.ct.gov/drs/lib/drs/research/annualreport/drs_fy16_annual_report.pdf
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Tobacco taxes are not as easy to compare across states because some states tax tobacco products 

based on weight (i.e., per unit tax), while others do so based on wholesale price (i.e., ad valorem 

tax).  Connecticut and Vermont impose the highest per unit taxes on snuff in the region at $3 and 

$2.57 per ounce, respectively.  Massachusetts imposes the highest ad valorem tax on snuff at 

210% of the wholesale price.  With two exceptions, the states impose uniform ad valorem taxes on 

all other tobacco products.  Vermont’s and Rhode Island’s rates are the highest at 92% and 80% of 

wholesale price, respectively.  The exceptions are Maine and Massachusetts, which impose 

different per unit taxes on chewing tobacco than for other tobacco products ($2.02 per ounce and 

210% of wholesale price, respectively).  Connecticut, Rhode Island, and Vermont cap the total tax 

on cigars, while New Hampshire exempts certain premium cigars from the tax entirely. 
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Table 2: Tobacco Taxes in Connecticut and Surrounding States 

 

State 

Cigarette Tax 

Rate 

(per pack of 

20) 

Tobacco Products Tax Rate and Base 

Snuff Chewing Tobacco Smoking Tobacco Cigars 

Connecticut1 

$3.90; 

$4.35 

beginning 

12/1/17 

$1 per ounce; $3 per ounce 

beginning 12/1/17 
50% of wholesale price 

50% of wholesale 

price 

50% of wholesale price; capped at 

$0.50 per cigar 

Maine $2.00 
$2.02 per ounce; $2.02 per 

package containing less than 

one ounce 

$2.02 per ounce; $2.02 

per package containing 

less than one ounce 

20% of wholesale 

price 
20% of wholesale price 

Massachusetts $3.51 210% of wholesale price 210% of wholesale price 
40% of wholesale 

price 
40% of wholesale price 

New 

Hampshire 
$1.78 65.03% of wholesale price 

65.03% of wholesale 

price 

65.03% of 

wholesale price 

65.03% of wholesale price (certain 

premium cigars are exempt) 

New Jersey $2.70 
30% of wholesale price, except 

tax on moist snuff is  $0.75 per 

ounce 

30% of wholesale price 
30% of wholesale 

price 
30% of wholesale price 

New York2 

$4.35 

($5.85 in 

New York 

City) 

$2 per ounce; $2 per package 

containing one ounce or less 

75% of wholesale price 

 

75% of wholesale 

price 

 

75% of wholesale price 

Rhode Island $4.25 

$1 per ounce; $1.20 per 

container if packaged in 

quantities of less than 1.2 

ounces 

80% of wholesale price 
80% of wholesale 

price 

80% of wholesale price; capped at 

$0.50 per cigar 

Vermont $3.08 

$2.57 per ounce; $3.08 per 

container if packaged in 

quantities of less than 1.2 

ounces 

92% of wholesale price 
92% of wholesale 

price 

92% of wholesale price; capped at 

(1) $2 if wholesale price is 

between $2.18 and $10 (2) $4 if 

wholesale price is $10 or greater 
Source: State tax department websites (accessed November 1, 2017) 
1 Modified risk tobacco products are subject to reduced tax rates as of December 1, 2017 
2 New York City imposes a local cigarette excise tax of $1.50 per pack, bringing the combined tax rate to $5.85 
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