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Issue  

Explain Connecticut’s real estate conveyance tax and how it compares to real estate conveyance 

taxes in the Northeast. 

 

Summary 

State law generally requires a person who sells real property for at least $2,000 to pay a tax on the 

property’s conveyance.  The tax has a state and municipal component and ranges from 1% to 

1.75% of the sales price, depending on the type of property and the municipality in which the 

property is located.  The seller must pay the tax before the deed can be recorded.   

 

Connecticut also imposes a 1.11% controlling interest transfer tax on real estate transferred 

through the sale or transfer of a business entity that owns an interest in Connecticut real property 

with a value of at least $2,000.  The tax is designed to apply to real estate transfers that are not 

subject to the conveyance tax because there is no change in the property’s deed. 

 

The real estate conveyance tax rates for the Northeast states vary significantly across states, and in 

some cases, across jurisdictions within the states. 
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Connecticut’s Real Estate Conveyance Tax 

The real estate conveyance tax has two parts: a state tax and a municipal tax.  The applicable state 

and municipal rates are added together to get the total tax rate for a particular property 

conveyance.  The combined rate is applied to the property’s sales price.  The seller pays the tax 

when he or she conveys the property.  Municipal town clerks collect the tax and remit the state 

share to the state Department of Revenue Services (DRS) (CGS §§ 12-494 et seq.). 

 

State Tax 

The state tax is 0.75% of (1) the first $800,000 of the sale price of a residential dwelling (i.e., single 

family home or condominiums); (2) the full sales price of residential property other than residential 

dwellings (e.g., apartment buildings) and unimproved land (including farm, forest, and open space 

land); and (3) the amount of unpaid mortgage and interest on a property conveyed to a financial 

institution by a delinquent mortgagor. 

 

A 1.25% rate applies to (1) sales of 

nonresidential property other than 

unimproved land and (2) any portion 

of the sales price of a residential 

dwelling that exceeds $800,000.  

Table 1 lists the state tax rates by 

property type. 

 

Municipal Tax 

The municipal tax can range from 0.25% to 0.5%, depending on the municipality in which the 

property is located.  The base rate is 0.25% for all municipalities, plus an additional tax of up to 

0.25% in 19 eligible municipalities that choose to impose the increased rate.  Table 2 lists these 19 

municipalities, which comprise the 18 "targeted investment communities" and a municipality with a 

manufacturing plant that qualifies for enterprise 

zone benefits (i.e., Bloomfield). 

 

With the exception of Stamford, all of the eligible 

municipalities impose the maximum 0.25% 

additional conveyance tax.  Stamford imposes an 

additional tax of (1) 0.25% on properties sold for 

more than $1 million and (2) 0.15% on all other 

properties (Collins, Catherine F.  “Real Estate 

Conveyance Tax and Controlling Interest Transfer 

Tax: A Report Prepared for the Connecticut Tax 

Panel.”  November 17, 2015). 

Table 1: State Conveyance Tax Rates by Property Type 

Property Type 
State 

Rate 

Unimproved land 

0.75% 
Residential dwelling (portion ≤ $800,000) 

Other residential property 

Property conveyed by a delinquent mortgagor 

Nonresidential property (other than unimproved land) 
1.25% 

Residential dwelling (portion > $800,000) 

 

 

Table 2: Local Option Conveyance Tax 

Eligible Municipalities 

Bloomfield 

Bridgeport 

Bristol 

East Hartford 

Groton 

Hamden 

Hartford 

Meriden 

Middletown  

New Britain 

New Haven 

New London 

Norwalk 

Norwich 

Southington 

Stamford 

Thomaston 

Waterbury 

Windham 

 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/fin/tfs/20140929_State%20Tax%20Panel/Connecticut%20Tax%20Study%20Report%20Volume%203.pdf
https://www.cga.ct.gov/fin/tfs/20140929_State%20Tax%20Panel/Connecticut%20Tax%20Study%20Report%20Volume%203.pdf
https://www.cga.ct.gov/fin/tfs/20140929_State%20Tax%20Panel/Connecticut%20Tax%20Study%20Report%20Volume%203.pdf
https://www.cga.ct.gov/fin/tfs/20140929_State%20Tax%20Panel/Connecticut%20Tax%20Study%20Report%20Volume%203.pdf
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Exemptions 

The law exempts various types of transactions from the state and local tax, including the following 

transfers: 

1. transfers between spouses;  

2. conveyances pursuant to certain court decrees, including as a result of (a) an annulment, 

dissolved marriage, or legal separation or (b) foreclosure by sale; 

3. transfers of property to any nonprofit organization organized to hold undeveloped land in 

trust for conservation or recreation purposes; 

4. deeds made pursuant to corporate mergers; and 

5. transfers of a principal residence where the gross purchase price is less than the total 

amount the seller owes on the property for mortgages and tax liens (i.e., “short sales’) (CGS 

§ 12-498). 

A full list of conveyance tax exemptions is available in DRS’s conveyance tax return instructions. 

 

Revenue 

The state collected approximately $186.6 million in state conveyance tax revenue in FY 16, up from 

$176.9 million in FY 15 and $172.2 million in FY 14 (DRS FY 16 Annual Report, pg. 62).  

Municipalities collected $52.4 million in municipal conveyance tax revenue in FY 16 (according to 

the Office of Fiscal Analysis). 

 

Controlling Interest Transfer Tax 

The controlling interest transfer tax is designed to apply to transfers of real property that are not 

covered by the real estate conveyance tax.  It applies when Connecticut real estate valued at 

$2,000 or more is transferred through the sale or transfer of a controlling interest (i.e., more than 

50%) of the business entity (e.g., corporation, partnership, association, or trust) that owns the 

property.  Because such transfers are due to the transfer of interests in the property, rather than 

the transfer of a deed, the conveyance tax does not apply to them.  The tax rate is 1.11% of the 

property’s “present true and actual value”; the state remits 0.11% to the municipality in which the 

property is located and keeps the remaining 1% (CGS § 12-638a et seq.).   

 

In FY 16, the state collected approximately $13.9 million from the tax, up from $9.1 million in FY 15 

and $8.3 million in FY 14 (DRS FY 16 Annual Report, pg. 17). 

 

http://www.ct.gov/drs/lib/drs/forms/1-2017/realestate/op-236_i.pdf
http://www.ct.gov/drs/lib/drs/research/annualreport/drs_fy16_annual_report.pdf
http://www.ct.gov/drs/lib/drs/research/annualreport/drs_fy16_annual_report.pdf
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Conveyance Taxes in Surrounding States 

As Table 3 shows, the generally applicable real estate conveyance tax rates for the Northeast states 

vary significantly from state to state and, in some cases, within each of the states. 

 

Connecticut’s combined state and local rates (1% to 1.75%) exceed the maximum rates in Maine, 

Massachusetts, and Rhode Island (with two exceptions), but are generally in line with rates in New 

Hampshire and Vermont.  The combined rates in Delaware, New Jersey, New York, and 

Pennsylvania generally exceed Connecticut’s. 

 

Table 3: Real Estate Conveyance Tax Rates in the Northeast 

State State Tax Rate Local Tax Rate Total Tax Rate 

Connecticut 0.75% or 1.25%, depending on property 

type 

0.25%; up to 0.5% in 19  

municipalities 

1% to 1.75% 

Delaware 2% (1.5% if local government assesses a 

local tax of 1.5%) 

Up to 1.5% 2% to 3% 

Maine 0.44% (equally split between the buyer 

and seller) 

None 0.44% 

Massachusetts 0.456%  0.648% (state and local 

combined rate) in Barnstable 

County 

0.456% to 0.648% 

New Hampshire 1.5% (0.75% imposed on both buyer and 

seller) 

None 1.5% 

New Jersey 0.25% base rate, plus additional fees 

ranging from 0.05% to 0.43% each 

 

Additional 1% tax applies to buyers on 

transfers over $1 million 

0.1%  

 

0.25% to approx. 

2.21% 

New York 0.4%; 1.4% of total sales price for 

residential sales exceeding $1 million  

 

Additional mortgage recording tax also 

applies 

0.1% to 2.625% 0.4% to 3.025% 

Pennsylvania 1% (split between the buyer and seller) Up to 1% in municipalities and 

school districts (combined) 

 

No limit for home rule 

jurisdictions 

1% to 5% (in select 

jurisdictions) 

Rhode Island 0.46%  None 0.46% 

Vermont Ranges from 0.50%  to 1.45%, depending 

on property type (includes 0.2% Clean 

Water Surcharge) 

None 0.50% to 1.45% 

Sources: Collins, Catherine F.  “Real Estate Conveyance Tax and Controlling Interest Transfer Tax: A Report Prepared for the 

Connecticut Tax Panel.”  November 17, 2015; Real Estate Transfer Taxes, National Conference of State Legislatures, State and local 

tax department websites. 
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