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Maximum Payments 

Connecticut – Generally $15,000 ($25,000 

for death) 

Massachusetts – $25,000 ($50,000 for 

catastrophic injury) 

New York – No medical maximum (limits on 

other expenses ranging from $500 for 

certain personal property to $30,000 for 

lost wages) 

Rhode Island – $25,000 

 

 

Crime Victim Compensation 
  

By: Michelle Kirby, Senior Legislative Attorney 

February 10, 2017 | 2017-R-0055 
 

 

Issue  

Provide a summary of the crime victim compensation limits in Connecticut (including any recent 

changes to the limits under CGS § 54-211), Massachusetts, New York, and Rhode Island. 

Summary 

Connecticut, Massachusetts, New York, and Rhode Island all have crime victim compensation 

programs under which crime victims may receive compensation for eligible crime-related expenses 

(e.g., medical, lost wages, and counseling) up to 

certain limits (see sidebar).   

 

Under Connecticut law, the Judicial Branch’s Office 

of Victim Services (OVS) administers the state’s 

Victim Compensation Program.  For good cause 

shown and upon a finding of compelling equitable 

circumstances, OVS or a victim compensation 

commissioner may award amounts above the 

statutory maximum. (Under the law, OVS may 

receive money from federal and state funds, 

businesses or other sources (CGS § 54-203).) 

 

CGS § 54-211 has been amended three times in the past 10 years.  None of these changes 

affected the statutory maximum.  Over the past five sessions, there have been two legislative 

proposals to change the award limits; pSB 592 (2017) and pSB 726 (2017) propose to increase 

the statutory maximum from $15,000 to $25,000 for sexual assault victims.   

 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/olr
mailto:OLRequest@cga.ct.gov
http://olreporter.blogspot.com/
https://twitter.com/CT_OLR
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_968.htm#sec_54-211
https://www.jud.ct.gov/crimevictim/compensation.htm
https://www.jud.ct.gov/crimevictim/compensation.htm
https://www.jud.ct.gov/crimevictim/compensation.htm
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_968.htm#sec_54-203
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_968.htm#sec_54-211
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2017&bill_num=592
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2017&bill_num=726
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For information on crime victim compensation limits in other states, see the National Association of 

Crime Victim Compensation Boards' website. 

 

Connecticut's Victim Compensation Awards 

Award Limits and Covered Expenses (CGS §§ 54-201, et seq.) 

The maximum payments under Connecticut’s Victim Compensation Program are $15,000 for 

personal injury, $25,000 for survivor benefits, and $2,000 for counseling for a non-relative child 

witness of domestic violence. 

 

Personal injury includes: 

1. medical, dental, counseling, and prescription expenses; 

 

2. counseling for relatives of sexual assault, domestic violence, and child abuse victims; 

 

3. cosmetic and plastic surgery; 

 

4. medical-related special needs, such as medical equipment (e.g., wheelchair) and 

modifications to a home or vehicle (e.g., ramp); 

 

5. lost wages (does not include going to court); and 

 

6. crime scene clean-up (up to $1,000). 

 

Survivor benefits include: 

1. funeral (up to $5,000) to any person who paid some or all of the expenses; 

 

2. loss of support for dependents and legal designated decision makers; 

 

3. lost wages and mileage for relatives and legal designated decision makers to attend 

criminal court proceedings; 

 

4. counseling for relatives and legal designated decision makers; and 

 

5. crime scene clean-up (up to $1,000). 

 

Legislative Amendments  

Connecticut's statutory maximums for victim compensation awards is governed by CGS § 54-211.  

Over the past five sessions, there have been two legislative proposals to change the award limits; 

pSB 592 (2017) and pSB 726 (2017) propose to increase the statutory maximum from $15,000 to 

$25,000 for sexual assault victims.   

 

http://www.nacvcb.org/index.asp?sid=7
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_968.htm#sec_54-211
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_968.htm
https://www.jud.ct.gov/crimevictim/compensation.htm
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_968.htm#sec_54-211
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2017&bill_num=592
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2017&bill_num=726
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CGS § 54-211 has been amended three times in the past 10 years.  None of these changes 

affected the statutory maximums. 

 

1. PA 15-195 (§ 6) specifically allows OVS to waive the two-year limitation on crime victim 

compensation applications for minors, including minors who are victims of human trafficking 

or related federal crimes, if the office finds that the minor is not at fault for missing the 

application deadline (Effective October 1, 2015).   

 

2. PA 12-133 (§ 28) authorizes compensation when OVS or a victim compensation 

commissioner reasonably concludes that (a) an alleged sexual assault crime or risk of injury 

to a minor occurred and (b) the personal injury was disclosed to certain individuals.  The act 

also eliminated the $100 deductible on the total amount of victim compensation 

determined for an injury (Effective October 1, 2012). 

 

3. PA 06-100 (§§ 2 & 3) permits OVS, for good cause and upon a finding of compelling 

equitable circumstances, to (a) waive the time limitation on crime victim compensation 

applications and (b) award compensation in an amount in excess of the statutory maximum. 

The act also makes eligible for compensation sexual assault victims who fail to report the 

crime to the police within the time period but who go to a health care facility within 72 hours 

after the assault for a sexual assault examination and evidence collection (Effective October 

1, 2006).  

 

Victim Compensation Limits in Neighboring States 

Massachusetts (Mass. Gen. Laws Ann. Ch. 258C § 1, et seq.) 

The Massachusetts Attorney General's Victim Compensation & Assistance Division assists crime 

victims with expenses up to a maximum of $25,000 per crime (up to $50,000 for catastrophic 

injuries, such as paralysis, amputations, or second or third degree burns).   

 

The following expenses are covered: 

1. medical and dental expenses (including equipment, supplies, and medications); 

 

2. counseling expenses (for victims, for family members of homicide victims, and for children 

who witness violence against a family member); 

 

3. funeral or burial costs (up to $8,000 and up to $800 ancillary expenses); 

 

4. lost wages (for victims only); 

 

5. loss of financial support (for dependents of homicide victims); 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_968.htm#sec_54-211
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2015&bill_num=195
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2012&bill_num=133
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2006&bill_num=100
https://malegislature.gov/Laws/GeneralLaws/PartIII/TitleIV/Chapter258C
http://www.mass.gov/ago/docs/victim/victim-comp-app.pdf
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6. homemaker expenses; 

 

7. ancillary funeral or burial; 

 

8. replacement bedding or clothing; 

 

9. crime scene cleanup; 

 

10. forensic sexual assault exam;  

 

11. security measures; and 

 

12. counseling for non-offending parents of a child victim. 
 

New York (N.Y. Exec. Law §§ 620, et seq.) 

New York's Office of Victim Services compensates victims for expenses related to personal injury, 

death, and loss of essential personal property.  There are no maximum limits for medical expenses. 

   

Covered expenses include: 

1. medical and counseling expenses; 

 

2. loss or damage of essential personal property (up to $500); 

 

3. burial/funeral expenses (up to $6,000); 

 

4. lost wages or lost support including lost wages of parents if a child victim is hospitalized (up 

to $30,000); 

 

5. transportation (necessary court appearances for prosecution); 

 

6. occupational/vocational rehabilitation; 

 

7. use of shelters by domestic violence victims and their children; 

 

8. crime scene clean-up (up to $2,500); 

 

9. good Samaritan property losses (up to $5,000); and 

 

10. moving expenses (up to $2,500). 
 

http://public.leginfo.state.ny.us/lawssrch.cgi?NVLWO:
https://ovs.ny.gov/sites/default/files/brochure/ovs-brochure-final-web.pdf
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Rhode Island (R.I. Gen. Laws. §§ 12-28-1, et. seq.) 

Under the Rhode Island Crime Victim Compensation Program, a victim may be eligible for 

compensation up to a maximum of $25,000 but there are limits for some expenses, including:     

1. funeral and burial up to $8,000; 

2. relocation expenses up to $2,500; and 

 

3. crime scene clean-up up to $2,000. 
 

The following crime-related expenses are covered if they are not covered by insurance or other 

resources: 

1. medical, dental, and hospital care; 

 

2. eyeglasses; 

 

3. mental health counseling; 

 

4. sexual assault examinations; 

 

5. funeral and burial costs; 

 

6. crime scene clean-up costs; 

 

7. loss of earnings; 

 

8. loss of support (dependents of deceased only); and 

 

9. relocation expenses. 

 

MK:bs 

 

http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE12/12-28/INDEX.HTM
https://d10k7k7mywg42z.cloudfront.net/assets/54ab7a37c0d6716118025759/CVCP_English_Brochure_09_14.pdf

