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STATES REQUIRING SEAT BELTS ON SCHOOL
BUSES

By: Paul Frisman, Principal Analyst

ISSUE

You asked for information about federal and
state school bus seat belt laws. This report
updates the information provided in OLR Report
"~ 2010-R-0055.

. SUMMARY

The National Highway Traffic Safety
Administration (NHTSA), which sets national standards for school bus safety,
requires three-point seat belts (lap-and-shoulder belts) on school buses weighing
less than 10,000 pounds, but allows individual states to decide whether to require
seat belts on larger school buses. Six states — California, Florida, Louisiana, New
Jersey, New York, and Texas - do so.

These state laws address such issues as the type of seat belt required (lap or three-
point), priority for allocation of seat belt-equipped school buses, liability of school
bus operators, whether application of the law depends on the availability of funding,
and other factors. For example, New York's law allows local school districts to
decide if students must use seat belts; Texas requires school districts to report
annually on school bus accidents.

NHTSA, which has traditionally maintained that seat belts are not needed on school
buses, announced a change in policy in 2015, and is now exploring ways, in the
words of NHTSA administrator Mark R. Rosekind, to "make seat belts on schools
buses a reality.”

According to the National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL), 10 states,
including Connecticut, considered school bus seat belt bills in 2016, although none
was enacted.
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FEDERAL REGULATION

Federal law authorizes NHTSA to set national standards for school bus safety.
NHTSA requires three-point seat belts on school buses weighing less than 10,000
pounds, but allows individual states or local jurisdictions to decide whether to
require seat belts on larger school buses (49 C.F.R. § 571.222).

NHTSA has traditionally held that large school buses do not need seat belts because
they are already the safest way for students to travel to school. It has said adding
seat belts would cost between $7,346 and $10,296 per bus, and would reduce the
number of students each bus could carry because the thicker seat backs needed to
accommodate the seat belts would mean each bus would have fewer rows of seats.

“Given the trade-off between installing seat belts...and implementing other safety
measures that could benefit pupil transportation or other social welfare initiatives,
and given that large school buses are already very safe,” NHTSA stated in 2008,
“we believe that states should be permitted the choice of deciding whether belts
should be part of their large school bus purchases.”

In November 2015, NHTSA administrator Rosekind announced a change in position,
saying the agency now believes “that every child on every school bus should have a
three-point seat belt.” Rosekind said NHTSA would take a number of steps to
achieve this goal, such as gathering better information on the safety benefits of
seat belts in jurisdictions that require them and on whether seat belt requirements
reduce the safety risks from driver distraction.

STATE LAWS REQUIRING SEAT BELTS ON SCHOOL BUSES

California, Florida, Louisiana, New Jersey, New York, and Texas require school bus
seat belts.

California

California law requires three-point seat belts on (1) school buses manufactured on
and after July 1, 2005 that carry more than 16 passengers and (2) all other school
buses manufactured on and after July 1, 2004. It requires school transportation
providers, when feasible, to give priority to elementary school students when
allocating seat-belt equipped school buses. Under the law, the state cannot charge
any person, school district, or organization with violating this law if a passenger
either does not fasten his or her seat belt, or does so improperly (Cal. Veh. Code §
27316).
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State regulations require school bus passengers to (1) use the seat belts and (2) be
taught how to use them in an age-appropriate manner (Cal. Code Regs. Title 5, §
14105).

Florida

Florida law requires (1) new school buses purchased on and after January 1, 2001
to be equipped with seat belts or other federally-approved restraint system and (2)
each school bus passenger to wear a properly adjusted belt when the bus is
operating. It exempts (1) the state; (2) counties; (3) school districts; and (4)
school bus operators and their agents, including teachers and volunteer
chaperones, from liability for personal injury to a school bus passenger solely
caused by (a) the injured passenger’s failure to wear a seat belt or (b) another
passenger's use or non-use of a seat belt in a dangerous or unsafe manner. It
requires school districts to ensure that elementary schools receive first priority
when they allocate school buses with seat belts, and exempts certain vehicles not
used exclusively to transport public school students (Fla. Stat. Ann. § 316.6145 and
§ 1006.25(1)(b)).

Louisiana

Louisiana requires the state Board of Elementary and Secondary Education to (1)
adopt rules and regulations requiring every bus used primarily to transport students
to be equipped with seat belts by June 30, 2004, and (2) require the governing
authority of each public and private school to comply with these rules and
regulations. However, Louisiana makes compliance with the law contingent on the
appropriation of funds (La. Rev. Stat. § 17:164.2). According to NCSL, the state
has not appropriated the necessary money.

New Jersey

New Jersey requires school buses to have lap belts or other child restraint systems
that meet federal standards and certain minimum seat back heights. It requires
students to wear properly adjusted and fastened seat belts while the bus is
operating, and relieves school bus owners and operators of liability for a
passenger's failure to wear a seat belt if that failure directly results in an injury to
the passenger (N.J. Stat. Ann. § 39:3B-10 and § 39:3B-11).
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New York

New York requires school buses manufactured for use in New York on and after July
1, 1987 to have seat belts and increased seat back padding on all passenger seats.
It requires school buses scheduled for retrofitting to have these same modifications,
but exempts certain older buses from this requirement and allows the motor vehicle
commissioner to exempt certain others. However, New York allows individual school
boards to determine whether their students must use the seat belts (N.Y. Veh. &
Traf. § 383(5) and N.Y. Educ. 3635-a (1)).

Texas

Texas requires each (1) bus purchased by a school district starting September 1,
2010 and (2) school-chartered bus contracted for use by a school district starting
September 1, 2011, to be equipped with three-point seat belts for the passengers
and the driver. But the requirement takes effect only if the legislature appropriates
money to reimburse school districts for the cost of installing the belts. NCSL says
the Texas legislature has not provided the funding needed to implement the law.

Texas requires the state board of education to develop and provide to each school
district instructions on the proper use of three-point seat belts, and makes the
board the clearinghouse for districts seeking information on school bus safety.
School districts must require students to wear seat belts on buses equipped with
them, and they may develop a disciplinary policy to enforce the seat belts' use.

The law allows people to donate three-point seat belts, or money for their
purchase, and allows a school district's board of trustees to acknowledge this by
displaying a “small, discreet” sign on the side or back of the bus. (But the sign may
not be an advertisement for the donor.)

It also requires each school district to file an annual report with the Texas Education
Agency on accidents involving its school buses. The report must include information
on (1) the type of bus involved, (2) whether it had seat belts, (3) the humber of
students and adults involved in the accident, (4) the number and types of injuries
sustained by the bus passengers, and (5) whether the injured passengers were
wearing seat belts at the time of the accident. The agency must publish the reports
on its website (Texas Tran. Code Ann. § 547.701(e) and Ed. Code Ann. § 34.012
through 34.015).
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RECENT LEGISLATION

According to NCSL, 10 states, including Connecticut, considered school bus seat
belt bills in 2016, although none was enacted. The other states are Arizona,
Hawaii, Indiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Oklahoma, Rhode Island, South
Carolina, and West Virginia. Indiana adopted a resolution urging the legislative
council to study the topic of seat belts on school buses. More information on these
bills can be found in NCSL's traffic safety legislation database.

The Connecticut bill, HB 5462, would have required all school buses to have three-
point seat belts, starting with model year 2021. It was reported favorably by the
Transportation Committee (File 283) but died in the Appropriations Committee.

MORE INFORMATION

A June 2016 NCSL report on school bus seat belts can be found at:
http://www.ncsl.org/research/transportation/should-school-buses-have-seat-

belts.aspx.

More information on school bus seat belts can be found in OLR Report 2009-R-
04109.

A July 2015 NHTSA PowerPoint presentation on Seat Belts on Large School Buses
can be found at: www.nhtsa.gov/nhtsa/symposiums/july2015/assets/NHTSA-PPT-
SchoolBus.pdf.
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