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ISSUE  

Can a municipality take enforcement action against a pet shop selling sick puppies? 

The Office of Legislative Research is not authorized to give legal opinions, and this 

report should not be considered one. 

SUMMARY 

It is uncertain whether a municipality can take action against a pet shop selling sick 

puppies. State law imposes requirements on pet shops and grants the Department 

of Agriculture (DoAg) enforcement authority. If a municipality took action against a 

pet shop, its jurisdiction may be challenged based on a question of state 

preemption. If the state has occupied the regulatory field, a municipality may be 

barred from taking action. 

According to DoAg, the Connecticut Conference of Municipalities, and the 

Connecticut Association of Municipal Attorneys (CAMA), a person who wants to 

discuss a municipality’s options should contact the relevant municipal attorney. 

STATE LAW 

Pet Shops 

By law, no one may operate a pet shop without a license from DoAg. Licensees 

must maintain their shops according to DoAg regulations concerning sanitation, 

diseases, humane treatment of animals, and public safety protection (CGS § 22-

344(b)). Before offering a dog or cat for sale and every 15 days until the animal is 

sold, the law requires licensees to have the animal examined by a veterinarian and 

keep records of veterinary services rendered (CGS § 22-344b(a)). A pet shop 

licensee also must post signs informing customers of certain information about its 

animals and include a DoAg telephone number that customers may call to report 

complaints, including those about diseased animals for sale (CGS § 22-344d). 

Licensees who violate these laws are subject to fines (e.g., see CGS §§ 22-344(b), 

22-344b(c), and 22-344d(d)). 
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Under the state's "pet lemon law," pet shop licensees must reimburse a customer 

for veterinarian expenses incurred for a dog or cat that within (1) 20 days after 

sale, becomes ill or dies of an illness that existed at the time of sale or (2) six 

months after sale, is diagnosed with a congenital defect adversely affecting the 

animal's health. Reimbursement is limited to (1) the animal’s purchase price if it 

was bought for $500 or more or (2) $500 if it was bought for less than $500. If the 

customer instead chooses to return the animal, the pet shop licensee must replace 

the animal or refund the animal's purchase price. The law allows customers to seek 

help from DoAg if a licensee fails to follow the law (CGS § 22-344b(b)). 

Municipal Powers 

State law grants municipalities certain powers, including the power to regulate and 

prohibit roaming dogs, animal cruelty, and the keeping of wild or domestic animals 

within the municipal limits (CGS § 7-148(D)). But it is unclear if this grant of power 

extends to regulating pet shops. 

The law also grants broad powers to local health directors (CGS § 19a-206). One 

CAMA member suggested that a health director's powers could possibly be used to 

handle a local health emergency arising due to sick animals as part of an overall 

duty to protect public health, but the local health director would likely have to 

contact DoAg promptly and work in concert with the agency. He also pointed out 

that a town's attempted jurisdiction may be challenged on the basis of state 

preemption. 

STATE PREEMPTION 

According to another CAMA member, because there are specific state statutes and 

regulations concerning pet shops, the state may have preempted this field. 

In general, a local ordinance is preempted by state statute whenever the legislature 

has demonstrated an intent to occupy the entire field of regulation on the matter or 

whenever the ordinance irreconcilably conflicts with the statute (Kaluszka v. Town 

of East Hartford, 60 Conn. App. 749, 760 A.2d 1269 (2000); See also, Modern 

Cigarette, Inc. v. Town of Orange, 256 Conn. 105, 774 A.2d 969 (2001)). Thus, if 

the state has occupied the regulatory field regarding pet shops, a municipality 

seeking to regulate them would likely be prohibited from doing so.  
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