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NO-FAULT AUTOMOBILE INSURANCE 

  

By: Janet Kaminski Leduc, Senior Legislative Attorney 

 

 

ISSUE  

Does Connecticut follow a no-fault automobile 

insurance system?  

SUMMARY 

Connecticut is no longer a no-fault state for 

automobile insurance, but was before 1994.  

The term “no-fault automobile insurance” often refers 

to automobile insurance that permits a person to 

recover financial losses from his or her own insurance 

company regardless of who caused the loss. In the 

strictest sense, however, a no-fault insurance system 

is one that both (1) provides payment of no-fault first 

party benefits and (2) restricts the right to sue by 

establishing an injury severity threshold that, if not 

met, prohibits a person from suing for damages. 

Before January 1, 1994, Connecticut had a no-fault 

insurance law that required private passenger motor 

vehicle operators to purchase a $5,000 basic 

reparations coverage benefit. The benefit paid medical 

expenses and lost wages incurred due to injury 

sustained in an automobile accident without regard to 

who was at fault. In exchange for this benefit, the no-

fault law restricted an accident victim’s right to sue 

the at-fault person. 

Public Act 93-297 repealed the no-fault insurance law. As a result, basic reparations 

coverage is no longer required. Instead, a person injured in an automobile accident 

because of another’s negligence may seek compensation for his or her injuries from 

the at-fault driver and, if necessary, initiate a lawsuit to determine fault and the  

AUTOMOBILE INSURANCE 

Anyone who wants to receive 

or retain a driver’s license or 

motor vehicle registration in 

Connecticut must provide and 

continuously maintain a 

minimum amount of financial 

security (e.g., insurance), 

including liability coverage and 

uninsured and underinsured 

motorist coverage (CGS §§ 

38a-334 to 38a-343 and 38a-

371). 

For liability coverage, the law 

requires a driver to maintain 

insurance of at least $20,000 

per person and $40,000 per 

accident for bodily injury 

liability and $10,000 per 

accident for property damage 

liability (CGS §§ 38a-335 and 

14-112(a)). For uninsured and 

underinsured coverage, the 

law requires a minimum of 

$20,000 per person and 

$40,000 per accident (CGS § 

38a-336). 
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amount of damages to be awarded. Under the terms of a standard automobile 

insurance policy, an insurer has a (1) duty to defend an insured person and (2) 

right to recover from those at fault any payments it makes to an insured person. 

For more information about no-fault automobile insurance, see this February 2014 

report from the Insurance Information Institute. 
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