
 

 

Office of Legislative 

Research 

Research  

Report 
October 28, 2016 2016-R-0253 

 

Phone (860) 240-8400 
http://www.cga.ct.gov/olr 

olr@cga.ct.gov 

  

Connecticut General Assembly 

Office of Legislative Research 
Stephanie A. D'Ambrose, Director 

Room 5300 
Legislative Office Building 

Hartford, CT 06106-1591 

  

MEDICAID POLICIES IN SURROUNDING STATES 

  

By: Katherine Dwyer, Associate Attorney  

Mary Fitzpatrick, Legislative Analyst II 

 

 

ISSUE  

This report discusses the Department of Social Services’ (DSS) proposed 

regulations on Medicaid long-term care eligibility determinations, related federal 

legislation, and policies in Massachusetts, New York, and Rhode Island. Specifically, 

the report discusses provisions related to (1) the look-back period; (2) the start 

date of the penalty period; (3) notes, loans, and other financial instruments owned 

by Medicaid applicants or recipients; and (4) when the spouse of a long-term care 

Medicaid recipient transfers proceeds from certain financial instruments in a way 

that reduces the spouse’s or recipient’s equity in the home. 

SUMMARY 

DSS has proposed changes to its Uniform Policy Manual, which, according to DSS 

staff, (1) implement provisions of the 2005 federal Deficit Reduction Act (DRA) 

regarding Medicaid long-term care eligibility determinations and (2) conform to 

current practice. 

The DRA required states to, among other things, (1) extend their look-back periods 

to 60 months, (2) change the way they calculate the start date for a penalty period 

imposed for an impermissible asset transfer, and (3) treat the purchase of certain 

financial instruments (e.g., mortgages and promissory notes) as an impermissible 

asset transfer unless the instrument met certain criteria. For these provisions, 

policies in Massachusetts, New York, and Rhode Island are similar to those 

proposed by DSS.  

Additionally, under DSS’s proposed regulations, if an institutionalized individual’s 

spouse, after the individual is deemed Medicaid-eligible, transfers the proceeds of a 

home equity loan, reverse mortgage, or similar instrument that reduced the 

institutionalized individual’s or spouse’s home equity, DSS may consider that 

transfer to be made in order to qualify for Medicaid and thus impose a penalty. In 

New York, for those applying for Medicaid coverage of nursing home care, transfers 

of payments received from a reverse mortgage or home equity loan are considered 
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less than fair market value (i.e., a penalty may be imposed) if transferred during 

the month of receipt. In Massachusetts, transfer penalties are not imposed on non-

institutionalized spouses after an eligibility determination. In Rhode Island, the 

proceeds from a home equity loan or reverse mortgage do not count as assets or 

income the month they are received, but they are countable if they are kept beyond 

that month.  

LOOK-BACK PERIOD 

DRA Provisions (§ 6011) 

Federal law presumes that someone who transfers assets for less than fair market 

value during a certain period before applying for Medicaid long–term care (look-

back) does so in order to qualify for assistance. If these transfers occur, and the 

presumption is not successfully rebutted, states must impose periods of Medicaid 

ineligibility based on the value of the uncompensated asset.  

Prior law required states to look back 36 months for most transfers but 60 months 

for transfers made to certain trusts. The DRA requires a 60-month look-back for all 

transfers. This provision applies to transfers made on or after February 8, 2006.  

DSS Proposed Regulations 

Proposed policy 3029.05 would conform the policy manual to both current DSS 

practice and the DRA requirements for the look-back period as described above. 

Specifically, the policy would require a 60 month look-back period for asset 

transfers that took place on or after February 8, 2006. 

Massachusetts, New York, and Rhode Island 

In Massachusetts, New York, and Rhode Island, the look-back period is 60 months 

for transfers occurring on or after February 8, 2006 (130 CMR 520.019(B)(2)), 

(DOH Administrative Directive 06 OMM/ADM-5 (p.5)), (R.I. Code R. § 0384.05)). 

PENALTY PERIOD START DATE 

DRA Provisions (§ 6011(b)) 

Under federal law, if a Medicaid applicant is found to have made a transfer for less 

than fair market value within the look-back period solely to qualify for Medicaid, the 

state must impose a period of Medicaid ineligibility. The duration of the penalty is 

determined by dividing the uncompensated value of the asset in question by the 

average monthly cost of care in a nursing home.  

Prior to the DRA’s passage, applicants who transferred assets early enough before 

they applied for Medicaid tended not to be penalized. This was because the penalty 

period began from the first day of a month during or after which the assets were 

transferred. For example, if someone's penalty was two months, and he or she 
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transferred the asset a year before applying for Medicaid, the transfer would be 

scrutinized, but the penalty would expire 10 months before the person applied.  

The DRA changed the start date of the penalty period to the later of either (1) the 

first day of the month during or after which the assets were transferred or (2) the 

date on which the person transferring the asset is eligible for Medicaid and would 

otherwise be receiving institutional care based on an approved application but for 

the application of the penalty period.  

DSS Proposed Regulations 

Under the proposed regulations, the penalty period under this policy is calculated as 

(1) the first day of the month during which assets are transferred for less than fair 

market value if that month is not part of another penalty period or (2) the first date 

on which the individual became eligible for Medicaid that is not part of a penalty 

period.   

Massachusetts 

For transfers occurring on or after February 8, 2006, the period of ineligibility 

begins on the first day of the month in which resources were transferred for less 

than fair market value or the date on which the individual is otherwise eligible for 

MassHealth agency payment of long-term-care services, whichever is later (130 

CMR 520.019(G)(3)). 

New York 

According to New York’s Department of Health (DOH), for transfers on or after 

February 8, 2006, the penalty period starts on the later of the (1) first day of the 

month of the transfer or (2) date on which the otherwise eligible individual is 

receiving nursing facility services for which Medicaid coverage would be available 

were it not for the penalty period (DOH Administrative Directive 06 OMM/ADM-5 

(p.5)).  

Rhode Island 

Under Rhode Island regulations, for all asset transfers made on or after February 8, 

2006, the penalty period begins the later of (1) the date on which the individual 

became eligible for Medicaid and would otherwise be receiving institutional care or 

(2) the first day of the month during or after which the assets have been 

transferred for less than fair market value and which does not occur during any 

other penalty period (R.I. Code R. § 0384.25).   

https://www.cga.ct.gov/2016/rrdata/pr/2016REG2016-020-RC.PDF
http://www.mass.gov/courts/docs/lawlib/116-130cmr/130cmr520.pdf
http://www.mass.gov/courts/docs/lawlib/116-130cmr/130cmr520.pdf
http://www.health.ny.gov/health_care/medicaid/publications/docs/adm/06adm-5.pdf
http://www.health.ny.gov/health_care/medicaid/publications/docs/adm/06adm-5.pdf
http://www.dhs.ri.gov/Regulations/MedicaidRulesandRegulations8.pdf


October 28, 2016 Page 4 of 5 2016-R-0253 
 

NOTES, LOANS, AND OTHER FINANCIAL INSTRUMENTS 

DRA Provisions (§ 6016(c)) 

Under this provision, states must consider funds used to purchase a promissory 

note, loan, or mortgage as an asset transfer for less than fair market value unless 

the repayment terms (1) are actuarially sound, (2) provide for payments to be 

made in equal amounts during the loan’s term with no deferral or balloon 

payments, and (3) prohibit the cancellation of the balance upon the death of the 

lender. If the note, loan, or mortgage does not meet these qualifications, its value 

as an asset must be the outstanding balance due on the date the applicant applies 

for Medicaid services.  

DSS Proposed Regulations 

Under proposed policy 4030.50(C), if an individual of his or her spouse uses his or 

her funds to purchase a mortgage note, loan, installment contract, or similar 

financial instrument, DSS may consider the transaction a transfer of assets for less 

than fair market. This proposed policy conforms to both another current policy 

(UPM 3029.14) and current DSS practice.  Under 3029.14, unchanged by the 

proposed policy revisions, the purchase of a bona fide mortgage note, loan, 

installment contract, or similar financial instrument is considered an asset transfer 

for less than fair market value unless the instrument meets the criteria set forth in 

the DRA (see above).  

Massachusetts 

Massachusetts regulations provide that annuities, promissory notes, loans, 

mortgages, and similar transactions are considered assets. According to MassHealth 

staff, when an individual and his or her spouse uses their funds to purchase such 

instruments, MassHealth may consider such a transaction a transfer of assets for 

less than fair market value. The value of any outstanding balance due on a 

promissory note, loan, or mortgage (“financial instrument”) is a disqualifying 

transfer of assets unless the transfer meets the criteria set forth in the DRA (see 

above) (130 CMR 520.007(J)(3)). 

New York 

In New York, funds used to purchase a promissory note, loan, or mortgage on or 

after February 8, 2006, are treated as an uncompensated transfer of assets unless 

the note, loan, or mortgage meets the criteria set forth in the DRA (see above) 

(DOH Administrative Directive 06 OMM/ADM-5 (p.5)). 

Rhode Island 

Under Rhode Island regulations, a negotiable note, mortgage, or loan agreement is 

considered an asset in the amount of the outstanding principle balance, unless it 

meets the criteria set forth in the DRA. If it does not meet these criteria, its value is 
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considered to be the outstanding balance due on the date the applicant applied for 

Medicaid (R.I. Code R. § 0382.15.20.10). 

SPOUSE ASSET TRANSFERS AFTER MEDICAID ELIGIBILITY WAS 

DETERMINED 

DSS Proposed Regulations 

Under certain circumstances, DSS may impose a penalty period when a community 

spouse transfers an asset after the institutionalized spouse has been determined to 

be Medicaid eligible. Under the current policy, DSS considers the transfer of the 

spouse’s or recipient’s home after the recipient is deemed Medicaid-eligible to be an 

asset transfer that was made for qualification purposes and thus imposes a penalty. 

Under proposed policy 3029.15 and current DSS practice, if an institutionalized 

individual’s spouse, after the individual is deemed Medicaid-eligible, transfers the 

proceeds of a home equity loan, reverse mortgage, or similar instrument that 

reduced the institutionalized individual’s or spouse’s home equity, DSS may impose 

a penalty. 

Massachusetts 

According to MassHealth Staff, current state regulations do not impose a transfer 

penalty on the spouse of an institutionalized person after an eligibility 

determination. 

New York 

Payments received from a reverse mortgage or home equity loan are not counted in 

the month of receipt for eligibility purposes, but if the funds are transferred during 

the month of receipt, the transfer is considered to be for less than fair market value 

for those applying for Medicaid coverage of nursing home care (New York MRG p. 

402). 

Rhode Island 

According to the Rhode Island Department of Human Services, when a spouse 

transfers the proceeds of a bona fide home equity loan or reverse mortgage for 

which the applicant was the borrower, the proceeds do not count as income or 

resources the month the spouse receives them, but if the proceeds are kept beyond 

a month, they become countable. If the loan is not bona fide, the proceeds are 

countable as unearned income when the spouse receives them. For a loan to be 

considered bona fide, the terms of the loan must be legally binding on the borrower 

under state law.  
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