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ISSUE  

Explain “criminal” identity theft and summarize 

the main components of California’s Identity Theft 

Registry.  Does Connecticut have such a registry? 

SUMMARY 

“Criminal” identity theft refers to a specific type of 

identity theft where someone cited or arrested for 

a crime uses another person’s name and 

identifying information, thus creating a criminal 

record in that person’s name.   

In California, a victimized person may be able to 

correct the identity problem by presenting information to the law enforcement 

agency that issued the arrest warrant.  If the arresting agency and prosecutor do 

not act on that information, the person may petition the court for a Certificate of 

Identity Theft (i.e., an order declaring the person’s innocence). 

Once the person has such a certificate, he or she may be placed on the Identity 

Theft Registry (Cal. Penal Code § 530.7).  The registry provides a centralized place 

where police and other authorized personnel can quickly confirm that the criminal 

history does not belong to that person.  Once on the registry, a person can present 

his or her status if questioned and can also request notification be sent to 

prospective employers or others.  (For more details on the registry, see California’s 

Department of Justice website.)  

Connecticut does not currently have a criminal identity theft registry and we were 

unable to find any legislation proposed. 

HOW DOES “CRIMINAL” 

IDENTITY THEFT HAPPEN? 

• A thief is arrested for a 

crime and uses your name 

for police records. 

• The thief is convicted in your 

name of a crime. 

 Your name is somehow 

mistakenly associated with 

someone else's criminal 

conviction. 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/olr
mailto:olr@cga.ct.gov
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https://twitter.com/CT_OLR
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/displaycode?section=pen&group=00001-01000&file=528-539
https://oag.ca.gov/idtheft/facts/how-to-registry
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CALIFORNIA’S CRIMINAL IDENTITY THEFT REGISTRY 

Arrested Due to Criminal Identity Theft 

If a person is erroneously arrested due to criminal identity theft, he or she can file a 

petition with the arresting agency (e.g., police).  This allows the arresting agency to 

voluntarily seal and destroy the erroneous records (thus no longer needing to place the 

person on the registry).  This petition must also be given to the district attorney with 

jurisdiction over the crime.   

The arresting agency and the prosecutor then have 60 days to decide if the person is 

factually innocent and seal and destroy the records.  If they do not act within 60 days, 

or if they deny the petition, the person can go to court to ask for a Certificate of 

Identity Theft. 

Certificate of Identity Theft 

If the identity theft victim’s petition was denied or if the identity thief was arrested, the 

person can seek a Certificate of Identity Theft from the court.  Depending on the 

circumstance, this could involve filing certain paperwork with facts supporting the 

person’s innocence due to criminal identity theft.  If the identity thief was arrested, it 

may be possible for a judge to grant a certificate without any formal written 

documents.  

A person can also provide declarations by witnesses (e.g., a statement from a witness 

who was with the person when the crime occurred).  These statements of facts are 

subject to penalties of perjury. 

Once the court determines that there is no reasonable cause to believe that the person 

is guilty of the crime that was committed in his or her name, it will issue the Certificate 

of Identity Theft stating the person is "factually innocent" of the crime.  Then the 

person can be put onto the registry. 

Registry Procedure 

The person must then get his or her fingerprints scanned at either a sheriff’s office or 

police station or have them taken manually and then mailed in (along with other 

required registration documents).  Although there is no fee to be put on the registry, 

there are fees associated with the fingerprint scans. 

Then the person must complete the “Identity Theft: Application as Victim” form and 

submit it along with the Certificate of Identity Theft and fingerprints. 

After the state Department of Justice verifies this information with the Department of 

Motor Vehicles, the person is a part of the registry. 
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