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ISSUE  

Describe when a juvenile offender in Connecticut must 

be transferred from juvenile to criminal court. This report 

updates OLR Report 2014-R-0094 to reflect changes 

made during the 2015 legislative session (see sidebar).  

SUMMARY 

In Connecticut, juvenile courts have jurisdiction over 

children under age 18. The law requires the juvenile 

court to automatically transfer a child aged 15 through 

17 to adult criminal court if he or she is charged with a 

capital felony committed prior to April 25, 2012; a class 

A felony; certain class B felonies; or arson murder (CGS 

§ 46b-127).  

The prosecutor may file a motion to return the matter back to juvenile court at any 

time after the arraignment in criminal court if the child is charged with: 

1. a class B felony or 

2. 1st degree sexual assault when it involved sexual intercourse with a victim 
under age 13 and the actor was more than two years older (but under age 

18) (CGS § 53a-70(a)(2)). 

For children charged with felonies not subject to automatic transfer, the prosecutor 

has discretion to request a transfer to adult court. The court can order the transfer 

only if (1) the child was at least age 15 at the time of the alleged offense, (2) there 

is probable cause to believe that the child committed the alleged offense, and (3) 

the best interests of the child and public are not served by keeping the case in 

TRANSFERS TO 

ADULT CRIMINAL 

COURT: 2015 

LEGISLATIVE 

CHANGES 

PA 15-183 reduced 

the number of cases 

subject to transfer 

from juvenile to 

criminal court by (1) 

raising the minimum 

age for such transfers, 

from 14 to 15 and (2) 

eliminating automatic 

transfers for certain 

class B felonies.  

http://www.cga.ct.gov/olr
mailto:olr@cga.ct.gov
http://olreporter.blogspot.com/
https://twitter.com/CT_OLR
https://www.cga.ct.gov/2014/rpt/pdf/2014-R-0094.pdf
https://www.cga.ct.gov/2016/sup/chap_815t.htm#sec_46b-127
https://www.cga.ct.gov/2016/sup/chap_815t.htm#sec_46b-127
https://www.cga.ct.gov/2016/sup/chap_952.htm#sec_53a-70
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2015&bill_num=183
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juvenile court. If a case is transferred in this way, the criminal court can return the 

case to juvenile court any time before a jury verdict or guilty plea, for good cause 

shown (CGS § 46b-127). 

CRIMES REQUIRING AUTOMATIC TRANSFER TO ADULT COURT 

The law requires the juvenile court to automatically transfer a child aged 15 

through 17 to adult criminal court if he or she is charged with a capital felony 

committed prior to April 25, 2012, a class A felony, most class B felonies, or arson 

murder (CGS § 46b-127). 

Table 1 displays these crimes and their authorized prison sentences, including any 

mandatory minimum sentences. As described above, the prosecutor can file a 

motion to (1) return some of these cases to juvenile court and (2) request transfer 

of children charged with other felonies not appearing in this table to adult court. 

Table 1:  Crimes That Subject a Child to Automatic Transfer from Juvenile to Adult Court                             

(see CGS § 46b-127) 

Classification 
 

Crime 
(CGS §) 

Prison Sentence 

Capital Felony 
 

Capital felony (for crimes committed before April 25, 2012) 
(formerly 53a-54b) 

25 to 60 years 
Mandatory minimum 25 years 
 
(PA 15-84 eliminated life sentences 
for this crime for offenders under age 
18 at the time of the offense) 
 

Class A Felony Murder* 
(53a-54a) 

25 to 60 years 
Mandatory minimum 25 years 

 Felony murder 
(53a-54c) 

25 to 60 years 
Mandatory minimum 25 years 

 Aggravated sexual assault of a minor  
(53a-70c) 

25 to 50 years 
Mandatory minimum: 

 1st offense: 25 years 

 Subsequent offense: 50 
years  

 Assault of pregnant woman resulting in termination of 
pregnancy  
(53a-59c) 

10 to 25 years 
Mandatory minimum 10 years 

 

 
 
 

 
 
 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/2016/sup/chap_815t.htm#sec_46b-127
https://www.cga.ct.gov/2016/sup/chap_815t.htm#sec_46b-127
https://www.cga.ct.gov/2016/sup/chap_815t.htm#sec_46b-127
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2015&bill_num=84
https://www.cga.ct.gov/2016/sup/chap_952.htm#sec_53a-54a
https://www.cga.ct.gov/2016/sup/chap_952.htm#sec_53a-54c
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#sec_53a-70c
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#sec_53a-59c
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Table 1 (continued) 
 

Classification 
 

Crime 
(CGS §) 

Prison Sentence 

Class A Felony 
(continued) 

Sexual assault 1st degree (when (1) use or threaten force 
and victim under age 16 or (2) victim under age 13 and actor 
more than two years older) 
(53a-70) 
  

10 to 25 years 
Mandatory minimum: 

 Five years if victim under 
age 16  

 10 years if victim under age 
10  

 
Sentence must include at least 10 
years’ imprisonment (any non-
mandatory portion may be suspended) 
or a term of imprisonment and special 
parole together constituting at least 10 
years 

 Aggravated sexual assault 1st degree (victim under age 16) 
(53a-70a) 

10 to 25 years 
Mandatory minimum: 

 10 years 

 20 years if use force or 
threaten force 

 Kidnapping 1st degree  
(53a-92) 

10 to 25 years 
Mandatory minimum 10 years 

 Kidnapping 1st degree with a firearm  
(53a-92a) 

10 to 25 years 
Mandatory minimum 10 years  

 Home invasion  
(53a-100aa) 

10 to 25 years 
Mandatory minimum 10 years 

 Arson 1st degree 
(53a-111)  

10 to 25 years 
No mandatory minimum (pursuant to 
State v. O’Neill, 200 Conn. 268 
(1986))  

 Employing a minor in an obscene performance 
(53a-196a)  

10 to 25 years 
Mandatory minimum 10 years 

Class B Felony 
 

Manslaughter 1st degree with a firearm  
(53a-55a) 

Five to 40 years 
Mandatory minimum five years  

  Transferring pistol or revolver that is stolen or has altered 
identification 
(29-33) 

One to 20 years  
Mandatory minimum three years 

 Transferring long gun that is stolen or has altered 
identification 
(29-37a) 

One to 20 years 

 Strawman gun violations committed by a felon 
(29-37j) 

One to 20 years  
Mandatory minimum three years 

 Workers’ compensation fraud (over $2,000 in benefits) 
(31-290c) 

One to 20 years 

 Risk of injury (sexual contact with child under age 16) 
(53-21(a)(2)) 

One to 20 years  
Mandatory minimum five years if victim 
under age 13 

 Deprivation of rights (if results in death) 
(53-37b) 

One to 20 years 

 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/2016/sup/chap_952.htm#sec_53a-70
https://www.cga.ct.gov/2016/sup/chap_952.htm#sec_53a-70a
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#sec_53a-92
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#sec_53a-92a
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#sec_53a-100aa
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#sec_53a-111
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#sec_53a-196a
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#sec_53a-55a
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_529.htm#sec_29-33
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_529.htm#sec_29-37a
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_529.htm#sec_29-37j
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_568.htm#sec_31-290c
https://www.cga.ct.gov/2016/sup/chap_939.htm#sec_53-21
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_939.htm#sec_53-37b
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Table 1 (continued) 
 

Classification 
 

Crime 
(CGS §) 

Prison Sentence 

Class B Felony 
(continued) 

Unlawful bomb manufacture 
(53-80a) 

One to 20 years 

 Intentional failure to report loss or theft of a firearm 
(53-202g) 

One to 20 years 

 Firearms trafficking 
(53-202aa) 

One to 20 years  
Mandatory minimum three years 

 Unlawful manufacture of chemical, biological, or radioactive 
weapon 
(53-209a) 

One to 20 years 

 Extortionate advance of credit 
(53-390) 

One to 20 years 

 Extortionate advance of money 
(53-391) 

One to 20 years 

 Extortionate collection or conspiracy to do so 
(53-392) 

One to 20 years 

 Conspiracy (to commit a class A or B felony) 
(53a-48 and 53a-51) 

One to 20 years 

 Attempt (to commit a class A or B felony) 
(53a-49 and 53a-51) 

One to 20 years 

 Assault 1st degree  
(53a-59) 

One to 20 years 
Mandatory minimum: 

 Five years when committed 
with a deadly weapon or 
dangerous instrument 

 10 years if victim is (1) under 
age 10 or (2) a witness and 
actor knew victim was a 
witness 

 Assault of an elderly, blind, disabled, or pregnant person or 
person with intellectual disability 1st degree  
(53a-59a) 

One to 20 years  
Mandatory minimum five years 

 Sexual assault 1st degree (also an A felony under certain 
circumstances, see above) 
(53a-70) 
  

One to 20 years  
Mandatory minimum: 

 Two years 

 10 years if victim is under 
age 10 

 
Sentence must include at least 10 
years’ imprisonment (any non-
mandatory portion may be suspended) 
or a term of imprisonment and special 
parole together constituting at least 10 
years 

  
  

Aggravated sexual assault 1st degree (victim age 16 or 
older) 
(53a-70a) 

10 to 20 years 
Mandatory minimum five years 

 Sexual assault in spousal or cohabitation relationship  
(53a-70b) 

One to 20 years 
Mandatory minimum two years 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_941.htm#sec_53-80a
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_943.htm#sec_53-202g
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_943.htm#sec_53-202aa
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_943.htm#sec_53-209a
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_949a.htm#sec_53-390
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_949a.htm#sec_53-391
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_949a.htm#sec_53-392
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#sec_53a-48
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#sec_53a-51
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#sec_53a-49
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#sec_53a-51
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#sec_53a-59
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#sec_53a-59a
https://www.cga.ct.gov/2016/sup/chap_952.htm#sec_53a-70
https://www.cga.ct.gov/2016/sup/chap_952.htm#sec_53a-70a
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#sec_53a-70b
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Table 1 (continued) 
 

Classification 
 

Crime 
(CGS §) 

Prison Sentence 

Class B Felony 
(continued) 

Sexual assault 3rd degree with a firearm (victim under 16) 
(53a-72b) 

One to 20 years 
Mandatory minimum: 

 Two years 
Combined prison and special parole 
term of 10 years 

  
  
  

Promoting prostitution 1st degree  
(53a-86) (This statute was amended by PA 16-71, § 16) 

One to 20 years 
Mandatory minimum nine months if the 
prostitute is under age 18 

  
  

Enticing a minor (victim under age 13 or 3rd or subsequent 
offense and victim is age 13 or older) 
(53a-90a) (This statute was amended by PA 16-71, § 9) 

One to 20 years 
Mandatory minimum when minor is 
under age 13: 

 1st offense: five years 

 Subsequent offense: 10 
years 

  
  

Kidnapping 2nd degree with a firearm  
(53a-94a) 

One to 20 years 
Mandatory minimum three years   

  
  

Burglary 1st degree (53a-101) 
 
Note: one form of committing this crime is subject to 
discretionary rather than automatic transfer (53a-101(a)(2)) 

One to 20 years 
Mandatory minimum five years when 
actor was armed with explosives, a 
deadly weapon, or a dangerous 
instrument  

  
  

Robbery 1st degree, when the person is armed with a deadly 
weapon  
(53a-134(a)(2)) 

One to 20 years 
Mandatory minimum five years when 
committed with a deadly weapon 

  Possession of a weapon or dangerous instrument in a 
correctional institution  
(53a-174a) 

One to 20 years 
 

  
  

Rioting at correctional institution  
(53a-179b) 

One to 20 years  
  

  
  
  
  

  

Trafficking in persons 
(53a-192a) (This statute was amended by PA 16-71, § 12) 

One to 20 years 
  

Promoting a minor in an obscene performance  
(53a-196b) 

One to 20 years 
  

Money laundering 1st degree  
(53a-276) 

One to 20 years 
  

  
  

Vendor fraud 1st degree  
(53a-291) 

One to 20 years 
  

Unclassified Arson murder  
(53a-54d) 

25 to 60 years 
Mandatory minimum 25 years 
 
(PA 15-84 eliminated life sentences 
for this crime for offenders under age 
18 at the time of the offense) 

* Murder with special circumstances (CGS § 53a-54b) is also a class A felony, but under PA 15-84, a defendant must have been over age 18 when 
the offense occurred to be charged with that crime.  

JO:bs 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#sec_53a-72b
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#sec_53a-86
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2016&bill_num=71
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#sec_53a-90a
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2016&bill_num=71
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#sec_53a-94a
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#sec_53a-101
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#sec_53a-134
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#sec_53a-174a
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#sec_53a-179b
https://www.cga.ct.gov/2016/sup/chap_952.htm#sec_53a-192a
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2016&bill_num=71
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#sec_53a-196b
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#sec_53a-276
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm#sec_53a-291
https://www.cga.ct.gov/2016/sup/chap_952.htm#sec_53a-54d
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2015&bill_num=84
https://www.cga.ct.gov/2016/sup/chap_952.htm#sec_53a-54b
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2015&bill_num=84

