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ISSUE  

Summarize the history of changes to Connecticut laws establishing separate 

penalties for drug crimes near schools and other designated areas (“drug-free 

zones”). 

SUMMARY 

In 1987, Connecticut initially enacted enhanced penalties for drug sales and related 

crimes (such as possession with intent to sell) near schools, requiring a mandatory 

minimum prison term for such violations. In 1989, Connecticut enacted similar laws 

requiring a mandatory minimum prison term for drug possession or drug 

paraphernalia crimes committed near schools by individuals who were not enrolled 

as students at the school. 

These laws have been amended several times since then. These amendments 

include: 

1. increasing the mandatory minimum prison term for drug sales committed 
in a school zone (1989); 

2. applying these laws to similar zones around public housing projects (for 
drug sales) and day care centers (for drug sales and drug possession) 

(1992 and 1994); 

3. increasing the size of the zones covered by these laws (1992); 

4. allowing judges to impose less than the mandatory minimum sentence in 

certain circumstances (2001);  

5. decriminalizing the possession of less than one-half ounce of marijuana, 

thus eliminating mandatory minimum sentences for possession of such 
amount of the drug within a zone (and related drug paraphernalia 
offenses) (2011); and 
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6. most recently, eliminating the mandatory minimum prison term for drug 
possession committed within such a zone (2015).   

Current law generally requires a mandatory minimum prison sentence, in addition 

and consecutive to any prison term imposed for the underlying crime, for drug sales 

and paraphernalia crimes committed in designated zones (commonly called drug-

free zones). The mandatory minimum sentences are as follows:  

1. three years for selling illegal drugs or committing sale-related crimes 
within 1,500 feet of property comprising a (a) public or private 
elementary or secondary school, (b) licensed child day care center 

identified as such by a sign in a conspicuous place, or (c) public housing 
project (CGS § 21a-278a(b)); and 

2. one year for various drug paraphernalia crimes committed within 1,500 
feet of property comprising a public or private elementary or secondary 
school when the defendant is not a student there (CGS § 21a-267(c)). 

In 2015, the legislature removed the mandatory minimum prison term for 

possession of one-half ounce or more of marijuana or any quantity of other illegal 

drugs within 1,500 feet of the property comprising (1) an elementary or secondary 

school by someone who is not attending the school or (2) a licensed day care 

center identified as such by a sign in a conspicuous place (PA 15-2, June Special 

Session). Instead, the law now sets the penalty as a Class A misdemeanor, and 

requires the court to sentence the person to a term of imprisonment and probation 

(which must include community service) (CGS § 21a-279(b)). 

Below are tables (1) comparing the elements of the current drug-free zone laws 

and (2) summarizing the history of changes to these laws since enactment. 

For more information on authorized penalties for violating drug laws in Connecticut, 

see OLR Report 2015-R-0219.   

DRUG-FREE ZONE LAWS 

The following table compares the features of the current drug-free zone laws that 

apply to drug possession, drug sales, and specified drug paraphernalia crimes.  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_420b.htm#sec_21a-278a
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_420b.htm#sec_21a-267
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/CGAbillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=7104&which_year=2015
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/CGAbillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=7104&which_year=2015
https://www.cga.ct.gov/2016/sup/chap_420b.htm#sec_21a-279
https://www.cga.ct.gov/2015/rpt/pdf/2015-R-0219.pdf
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Table 1: Comparison of Connecticut’s Drug-Free Zone Laws 
 

Activity Drugs to Which 
the Law Applies 

Settings Where the Law Applies  
(Within 1,500 feet of property 

comprising the following) 

Authorized Penalties 

 Schools Day Care 
Centers 

Public Housing 
Projects 

Possession  
 
CGS § 21a-279(b) 

One-half ounce or 
more of marijuana 
or any quantity of 
other controlled 
substances 

Yes (but 
only if the 
person is not 
attending the 
school) 

Yes No Class A misdemeanor (up to one 
year in prison, up to a $2,000 
fine, or both) 
 
Court must sentence the person 
to a term of imprisonment and 
probation. The conditions of 
probation must include 
performing community service.  

Sale  
(Including possession 
with intent to sell; 
manufacturing; and 
related crimes) 
 
CGS § 21a-278a(b) 

Any controlled 
substance 

Yes Yes Yes Mandatory three-year prison term 
running consecutively to prison 
term imposed for the underlying 
crime 
 
Judge may depart from this 
sentence under certain 
circumstances (see below) 

Drug Paraphernalia-
Related Crimes 
 
CGS § 21a-267(c) 

One-half ounce or 
more of marijuana 
or any quantity of 
other controlled 
substances 

Yes (but 
only if the 
person is not 
attending the 
school) 

No No Mandatory one-year prison term 
running consecutively to prison 
term imposed for the underlying 
crime 
 
Judge may depart from this 
sentence under certain  
circumstances (see below) 

 

By law, judges may impose less than the mandatory minimum sentence for drug 

sale or paraphernalia crimes committed within a zone when no one was hurt during 

the crime and the defendant (1) did not use or attempt or threaten to use physical 

force; (2) was unarmed; and (3) did not threaten to use or suggest that he or she 

had a firearm, other deadly weapon (e.g., a switchblade knife), or other instrument 

that could cause death or serious injury. Defendants must show good cause and 

can invoke these provisions only once. Judges must state at sentencing hearings 

their reasons for (1) imposing the sentence and (2) departing from the mandatory 

minimum (CGS § 21a-283a). 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/2016/sup/chap_420b.htm#sec_21a-279
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_420b.htm#sec_21a-278a
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_420b.htm#sec_21a-267
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_420b.htm#sec_21a-283a
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HISTORY OF CHANGES TO DRUG-FREE ZONE LAWS 

The following tables summarize the history of changes to the drug-free zone laws 

described above. 

Table 2: Changes to Drug-Free Zone Laws – Drug Sales and Related Crimes (Including Possession with 
Intent to Sell) 

 

Public Act Brief Description of Change 

PA 87-373 Established a two-year mandatory minimum prison term for anyone who was not a drug-
dependent individual and who violated drug sale laws within 1,000 feet of the property 
comprising a public or private elementary or secondary school   

PA 89-256 Increased mandatory minimum term from two to three years 

PA 92-82 Increased size of zone from 1,000 feet to 1,500 feet from school property 
 
Applied the enhanced penalty to drug sale crimes committed within 1,500 feet of a public 
housing project 

PA 94-233 Removed the prior exception for drug-dependent individuals 
 
Applied the enhanced penalty to drug sale crimes committed within 1,500 feet of a licensed 
child day care center identified as such by a sign in a conspicuous place 

PA 01-99 Allowed judges to impose less than the mandatory minimum sentence in certain 
circumstances when the offense did not involve violence or a weapon; required defendants to 
show good cause and allowed them to invoke these provisions only once 

 
Table 3: Changes to Drug-Free Zone Laws – Drug Possession Crimes 

 

Public Act Brief Description of Change 

PA 89-256 Established a two-year mandatory minimum prison term for anyone who violated drug 
possession laws within 1,000 feet of the property comprising a public or private elementary or 
secondary school, and who was not enrolled as a student at the school 

PA 92-1, JSS Increased size of zone from 1,000 feet to 1,500 feet from school property 

PA 94-233 Applied the enhanced penalty to drug possession within 1,500 feet of a licensed child day 
care center identified as such by a sign in a conspicuous place 

PA 01-99  
 

Allowed judges to impose less than the mandatory minimum sentence in certain 
circumstances when the offense did not involve violence or a weapon; required defendants to 
show good cause and allowed them to invoke these provisions only once 

PA 11-71 Decriminalized the possession of less than one-half ounce of marijuana (such possession 
remains illegal but not subject to imprisonment) and correspondingly removed enhanced 
penalties for such possession within a zone 

PA 15-2, JSS 
 

Removed the mandatory minimum prison term for possession of one-half ounce or more of 
marijuana or any quantity of other illegal drugs within such a zone. Instead set the penalty as 
a Class A misdemeanor and required the court to sentence the person to a term of 
imprisonment and probation, including community service. 

 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=1992&bill_num=82
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=1994&bill_num=233
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2001&bill_num=99
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/CGAbillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6003&which_year=1992
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=1994&bill_num=233
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2001&bill_num=99
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2011&bill_num=71
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/CGAbillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=7104&which_year=2015


 

December 21, 2016 Page 5 of 5 2016-R-0199 
 

Table 4: Changes to Drug-Free Zone Laws – Drug Paraphernalia Crimes 

 

   Public Act Brief Description of Change 

PA 89-256 Established a one-year mandatory minimum prison term for anyone who violated drug 
paraphernalia laws within 1,000 feet of the property comprising a public or private 
elementary or secondary school, and who was not enrolled as a student at the school     

PA 92-1, JSS Increased size of zone from 1,000 feet to 1,500 feet from school property 

PA 01-99  
 

Allowed judges to impose less than the mandatory minimum sentence in certain 
circumstances when the offense did not involve violence or a weapon; required defendants 
to show good cause and allowed them to invoke these provisions only once 

PA 11-71 Decriminalized drug paraphernalia offenses involving less than one-half ounce of marijuana 
(such offenses remain illegal but not subject to imprisonment) and correspondingly removed 
enhanced penalties for such offenses within a zone 

 

JO:tjo 

 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/CGAbillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=6003&which_year=1992
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2001&bill_num=99
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2011&bill_num=71

