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ISSUE  

Provide (1) a summary of Connecticut’s gasoline tax and (2) a 50-state comparison 

of gasoline tax rates.  

CONNECTICUT MOTOR VEHICLE FUELS TAX 

Gasoline used or sold in Connecticut is subject to the motor vehicle fuels tax. 

(Diesel, gasohol, propane, and combustible gases or liquids that generate the 

power needed to propel a motor vehicle are also subject to the tax.) Currently, the 

state tax on gasoline is 25 cents per gallon. By law, some fuel sales are exempt 

from the tax, such as fuel sold to the U.S. government, the state, or a Connecticut 

municipality or transit district (CGS § 12-458). 

Fuel distributors pay the tax on a monthly basis. Distributors include any person 

who (1) distributes fuels by tank wagon in the state, (2) imports fuels into the 

state, or (3) produces, refines, manufactures, or compounds fuels in the state (CGS 

§ 12-455a).  

Tax Revenue 

Table 1 provides the total revenue collected from the motor vehicle fuels tax in the 

most recent three fiscal years for which the Department of Revenue Services (DRS) 

has compiled data (DRS Annual Report, 2014-2015). Revenue from the fuel tax 

goes to the Special Transportation Fund.  

Table 1: Annual State Revenue from the Motor Vehicle Fuels Tax 

FY Annual  Revenue 

13 $ 483,880,877 

14 488,751,204 

15 497,541,459 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/olr
mailto:olr@cga.ct.gov
http://olreporter.blogspot.com/
https://twitter.com/CT_OLR
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_221.htm#sec_12-458
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_221.htm#sec_12-455a
http://www.ct.gov/drs/lib/drs/research/annualreport/drs_fy15_annual_report.pdf
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GASOLINE TAX RATES IN OTHER STATES 

Table 2 provides the gasoline excise tax rates and the total state taxes and fees 

charged in each state as of July 1, 2016. The states are listed in order from the 

highest total state taxes and fees to the lowest. The total state taxes and fees 

amount is the sum of the state excise tax and the other taxes charged on gasoline, 

if any. Depending on the state, “other taxes” include, among other things, sales 

taxes, environmental fees, petroleum companies gross earnings taxes, and taxes 

imposed by counties or municipalities.  

Table 2: Gasoline Taxes by State 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 

State 
State Excise 

Tax 
Total State Taxes 

and Fees 

Pennsylvania 0.00 51.40 

Washington 49.40 49.40 

New York 8.05 43.40 

Hawaii 17.00 43.00 

California 27.80 38.57 

Connecticut 25.00 38.30 

Florida 4.00 36.58 

North Carolina 34.00 34.25 

Rhode Island 33.00 34.00 

Nevada 23.00 33.86 

Maryland 25.50 33.50 

Illinois 19.00 33.45 

Michigan  19.00 33.26 

West Virginia 20.50 33.20 

Idaho 32.00 33.00 

Wisconsin 30.90 32.90 

Indiana 18.00 32.07 

Iowa 30.70 31.70 

Georgia 26.00 31.17 

Oregon 30.00 31.12 

Vermont 12.10 30.46 

Maine 30.00 30.01 

South Dakota 28.00 30.00 

   



Table 2 (continued) 
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 Source: American Petroleum Institute  
 

HP:cmg 

State 
State Excise 

Tax 
Total State Taxes 

and Fees 

Utah 29.40 29.41 

Minnesota 28.50 28.60 

Ohio 28.00 28.00 

Montana 27.00 27.75 

Nebraska 25.80 26.70 

Massachusetts 24.00 26.54 

Kentucky 24.60 26.00 

Kansas 24.00 24.03 

Wyoming 23.00 24.00 

New 
Hampshire 

22.20 23.83 

District of 
Columbia 

23.50 23.50 

Delaware 23.00 23.00 

North Dakota 23.00 23.00 

Virginia 19.89 22.39 

Colorado 22.00 22.00 

Arkansas 21.50 21.80 

Tennessee 20.00 21.40 

Alabama 16.00 20.91 

Louisiana 20.00 20.01 

Texas 20.00 20.00 

Arizona 18.00 19.00 

New Mexico 17.00 18.88 

Mississippi 18.00 18.79 

Missouri 17.00 17.30 

Oklahoma 16.00 17.00 

South Carolina 16.00 16.75 

New Jersey 10.50 14.50 

Alaska 8.95 12.25 

http://www.api.org/oil-and-natural-gas/consumer-information/motor-fuel-taxes

