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ISSUE  

Describe the law allowing certain advanced 

practice registered nurses (APRNs) in Connecticut 

to practice without a collaborative agreement with 

a physician. 

APRN PRACTICE  

Connecticut law gives APRNs with certain      

experience the option to practice without 

collaborating with a physician. “Collaboration” 

means a mutually agreed upon relationship 

between an APRN and a physician whose 

education, training, or experience is related to the 

APRN’s work. Among other things, the 

collaboration must address (1) a reasonable and 

appropriate level of consultation and referral, (2) 

patient coverage in the APRN’s absence, and (3) methods to review patient 

outcomes and disclose the relationship to the patient.  

APRNs may practice without such collaboration if they have been licensed and 

practicing in collaboration with a physician for at least three years with at least 

2,000 hours of such collaborative practice. APRNs who do not meet this experience 

requirement must practice in collaboration with a physician.  

Before practicing without such collaboration, an APRN must notify the Department 

of Public Health (DPH) in writing of his or her intention to do so. Such an APRN 

must (1) maintain documentation of his or her completion of the above 

APRN PRACTICE IN 

CONNECTICUT 

A 2014 state law allows 

certain APRNs to practice 

without a collaborative 

agreement with a physician 

after attaining a specified 

level of experience (PA 14-12, 

as amended by PA 14-231, 

effective July 1, 2014).   

As of September 26, 2016, 

there were 4,589 APRNs in 

Connecticut with active 

licenses. Of these, 439 

(9.6%) have notified DPH of 

their intent to practice 

without collaborating with a 

physician.  
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collaborative practice requirement for at least three years after completing the 

requirement and (2) submit the documentation to DPH within 45 days of the 

department’s request (CGS § 20-87a(b)). 

Concerning an APRN’s prescriptive authority, APRNs practicing without a 

collaborative agreement may prescribe schedule II, III, IV, or V controlled 

substances. For APRNs working in collaboration with a physician, the collaborative 

agreement must specify which Schedule II and III controlled substances the APRN 

may prescribe (they may also prescribe schedule IV or V controlled substances) 

(CGS §§ 20-87a(b)(2) & 20-94b). The law also specifies that a licensed APRN 

maintaining current certification from the American Association of Nurse 

Anesthetists who is prescribing and administering medical therapeutics during 

surgery may do so only if the physician who is medically directing the prescriptive 

activity is physically present in the setting where the surgery is taking place (CGS § 

20-87a(b)). 

There are a few other statutes that distinguish between APRNs practicing in 

collaboration with a physician and those practicing without such collaboration. By 

law, DPH must collect certain information to create individual public profiles for 

certain health care providers, including APRNs. The profile information for an APRN 

must include whether he or she is practicing independently or in collaboration with 

a physician under a collaborative agreement (CGS § 20-13j). 

Starting by July 1, 2017, the law requires manufacturers of covered drugs, devices, 

biologicals, and medical supplies to annually report information on payments or 

other transfers of value they make to APRNs who are not practicing in collaboration 

with a physician (CGS § 21a-70f). These manufacturers will be required to report 

the same information required by federal law (the Physician Payments Sunshine 

Act) for payments or transfers of value to physicians, such as the (1) recipient’s 

name and business address and (2) amount, date, and nature of the payment or 

transfer.  
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