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SMALL CLAIMS COURT LIMITS 

  

By: James Orlando, Senior Legislative Attorney 

 

 

ISSUE  

Describe when Connecticut last increased the limit for small claims court actions 

and the limits in other states. This report updates OLR Report 2013-R-0070. 

SUMMARY 

Connecticut last increased its limit for small claims actions in 2005, when PA 05-42 

increased the limit from $3,500 to $5,000. A higher limit applies in cases involving 

housing security deposits (CGS § 51-15(d)). 

We compiled information on small claims courts in other states. These courts use 

different names in some states. Regardless of name, we looked at the court with 

the lowest jurisdictional limit in each state. We also focused on the general limit 

imposed on the court’s jurisdiction, although states may have exceptions with 

higher or lower limits for specific types of claims. 

Based on our survey, small claims court limits range from $2,500 in Kentucky and 

Rhode Island to $25,000 in Tennessee. Twenty-nine states have a limit higher than 

Connecticut’s. Connecticut and 13 other states have a $5,000 limit. Seven states 

have a limit lower than Connecticut’s. Table 1 displays the limits in each state, 

organized from highest to lowest. 
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Table 1:  General Small Claims Court Limits in Each State,  
From Highest to Lowest 

 

 
 

 
    
 
 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Sources: Westlaw; state statutes; state court websites. 
 
* Ohio’s limit increased from $3,000 to $6,000 as of September 28th, 2016 (H. 387). 
 
** Michigan's limit is scheduled to increase to $6,000 in 2018, $6,500 in 2021, and $7,000 in 2024  
(Mich. Comp. Laws § 600.8401). 
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State(s) Limit 

Tennessee  $25,000  

Delaware, Georgia, Minnesota, and North Dakota 15,000 

Pennsylvania and South Dakota 12,000 

Alaska, California, Illinois, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, 
North Carolina, Oregon, Texas, Utah, and Wisconsin  10,000  

Colorado, Oklahoma, and South Carolina 7,500 

Massachusetts and Montana  7,000  

Alabama, Indiana, Maine, Ohio*, and Wyoming  6,000  

Michigan**  5,500  

Arkansas, Connecticut, Florida, Hawaii, Idaho, Iowa, Louisiana, 
Maryland, Missouri, New York, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, and 
West Virginia  5,000  

Kansas  4,000  

Nebraska  3,600  

Arizona and Mississippi  3,500  

New Jersey  3,000  

Kentucky and Rhode Island  2,500  

https://www.legislature.ohio.gov/legislation/legislation-status?id=GA131-HB-387
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(li541agjlhprozifwalz41s0))/mileg.aspx?page=getobject&objectname=mcl-600-8401

