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STORE OBLIGATIONS TO TAKE BACK BEVERAGE 

CONTAINERS 

 

 By: Kristen Miller, Senior Legislative Attorney 

 

 

ISSUE  

What are a store’s obligations to take back 

beverage containers under Connecticut’s beverage 

container redemption law (“bottle bill”)? 

SUMMARY 

Connecticut’s bottle bill generally requires stores to 

take back the empty containers of the kind, size, 

and brand of beverage that they sell (CGS § 22a-

245(b)). But it sets conditions under which a store 

does not have to accept an empty beverage 

container. 

Stores that use reverse vending machines to take 

back beverage containers must, under state 

regulations, ensure that the machines are available 

for consumers during the stores’ normal business 

hours. (“Reverse vending machines” are automated 

machines that accept empty containers and 

dispense cash or credit slips.) If the machines are 

not working or unavailable for other reasons, the 

stores must have an alternate method to take back 

the containers (Conn. Agencies Regs. §§ 22a-245-2 

and 22a-245-4). 

A violation of the law is punishable by a fine of $50 

to $100 for a first offense, $100 to $200 for a 

second offense, and $250 to $500 for subsequent 

offenses (CGS § 22a-246). 

 

CONNECTICUT BOTTLE BILL 

SYSTEM 

 

A store’s obligation to take back 

beverage containers is specified 

in a law establishing a process 

for collecting and managing 

them (i.e., the bottle bill). The 

law generally requires: 

 

1. a retailer to pay a beverage 

container distributor 5 cents for 

each beer or malt beverage, 

soft drink, or water container 

that the distributer delivers;  

2. a consumer to pay the 

retailer 5 cents for each 

container that he or she 
purchases;  

3. the retailer or a redemption 

center to pay the consumer 5 

cents for each container the 
consumer returns;  

4. the distributor to reimburse 

the retailer or redemption 

center 5 cents for each 

container returned, plus a 

handling fee of either 1.5 or 2 

cents depending on the type of 
container involved; and  

5. the distributor to pay the 

State of Connecticut the 5 cents 

for each unclaimed deposit 

(CGS §§ 22a-243 to 22a-246).  
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TAKE BACK EXCEPTIONS 

A store is not required to take back a beverage container (1) with material inside 

that is not the container’s normal contents (e.g., cigarette butts) or (2) that is 

missing a label with the state’s name or abbreviation and an indication that the 

container has a refund value. 

It may also avoid taking back containers on premises by (1) sponsoring, on its own 

or with others, a redemption center located within one mile of the store that takes 

back containers of the kind, size, and brand the store sells or (2) being located 

within one mile of an independent redemption center that takes back containers of 

the kind, size, and brand it sells. 

If a store stops selling a kind, size, or brand of beverage, it must (1) continue to 

take back the empty beverage containers for at least 60 days after the last sale of 

the discontinued kind, size, or brand and (2) provide customers with at least 60 

days’ notice of the last day that it will take these containers back (CGS § 22a-

245(b)). 
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