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NURSING HOME OWNERSHIP CHANGES 
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ISSUE  

Describe the state’s process for approving nursing home ownership changes, 

including how applicants are evaluated and any conditions the state may place on a 

new nursing home owner. 

SUMMARY 

Because of an indefinite moratorium on additional nursing home beds in the state, 

an individual or entity seeking to operate a nursing home in Connecticut could likely 

do so only by purchasing an existing home.  To do this, the potential nursing home 

owner must receive prior approval from the Department of Public Health (DPH) and 

meet the department’s licensure requirements.  To receive DPH approval, the 

potential nursing home owner must: 

1. submit a written letter of intent to DPH at least 90 days before the transfer in 
ownership;  

2. submit a completed application for licensure; 

3. if an out-of-state corporation, submit a certificate of good standing from the 
secretary of the state in which the corporation is based; 

4. submit to a state and federal background check of all its officers and 
directors;  

5. meet in-person with DPH and the Department of Social Services (DSS) to 

discuss the licensure process and the application information submitted; 

6. sign pre-license physical plant and clinical consent orders to assure 

compliance with the public health code;  

7. in most cases, hire a nurse consultant to monitor the home’s performance 

after the ownership transfer; and  

8. pass a facility inspection.  
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Once the new owner’s application is approved, the applicant completes the 

purchase and must send DPH a copy of the closing documents.  

State law requires an individual or entity purchasing an existing nursing home to 

obtain a certificate of need (CON) from DSS when a transfer of ownership occurs 

before the facility’s initial licensure.  The current moratorium on new nursing home 

beds appears to render this statute moot. Additionally, nursing homes are exempt 

from DPH’s CON requirements for health care facilities. Consequently, an individual 

or entity assuming ownership of an already licensed nursing home would not need 

to obtain a CON from either department (CGS §§ 17b-354 and 19a-638). 

If the person has not previously operated a nursing home in Connecticut, DPH can 

institute an “evaluation period” of up to five years from the time of initial licensure 

in order to assess the standard of care the home provides.  During this evaluation 

period, the entity cannot acquire any additional nursing homes (CGS § 19a-493a). 

DPH LICENSURE REQUIREMENTS 

By law, DPH must give its prior approval if a nursing home changes ownership (CGS 

§ 19a-493 (2)).  An individual or entity seeking to purchase an existing nursing 

home must submit a letter of intent to DPH at least 90 days before the ownership 

transfer.  In addition, the individual or entity must apply for a nursing home 

license, submit to a criminal background check of its officers and directors, provide 

any additional information DPH requests, meet in-person with DPH and DSS, sign 

pre-license physical plant and clinical consent orders, and meet periodically with 

DPH after the ownership transfer.  The nursing home must also pass a DPH 

inspection.  

DPH Application for Licensure 

A nursing home must be licensed by DPH in order to operate in the state.  A 

nursing home license may include two types of beds: chronic and convalescent care 

nursing home (CCNH) beds, which require skilled nursing care, and rest homes with 

nursing supervision (RHNS) beds, which require intermediate care (most nursing 

homes have only CCNH beds).  An entity or other person seeking a nursing home 

license must provide DPH with the following information: 

1. the owner’s name and business address and the names of the owner’s 
officers, directors, trustees, partners, people who have a 10% or greater 

ownership interest, and related information;  

2. a description of the relevant business experience of the home’s administrator 
and evidence that the administrator has a state license required by law; 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_319y.htm#sec_17b-364
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_368z.htm#sec_19a-638
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_368v.htm#sec_19a-493a
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_368v.htm#sec_19a-493
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3. affidavits signed by the owner, administrator, assistant administrator, 
medical director, nursing director, and other specified individuals disclosing 

any matter in which the person has been convicted of or has pleaded nolo 
contendere to a felony charge, or has been held liable or enjoined in a civil 

action, if the felony or civil action involved fraud, embezzlement, fraudulent 
conversion, or misappropriation of property; 

4. affidavits disclosing whether the owner or others listed above have, within 

the past five years, had any state or federal license or permit suspended or 
revoked as a result of an action brought by the government related to heath 

care business activity, including actions affecting the operation of a nursing, 
retirement, or residential care home or other related facilities; 

5. a statement as to whether the owner is affiliated with a religious, charitable, 

or other nonprofit organization; 

6. the location and description of the owner’s other existing or proposed health 

care facilities; 

7. a statement of the anticipated source and application of the funds used to 
purchase or construct the home, including an estimate of financing and legal 

expenses and land, marketing, and other similar costs which the owner 
expects to incur; and 

8. a description of any mortgage loan or any other financing intended to be 
used to finance the nursing home. 

DPH may also require applicants to submit additional information, including the 

owner’s audited and certified financial statements (CGS § 19a-491a).  

According to DPH, it also reviews the federal “Nursing Home Compare” website to 

check how any facilities the applicant owns or operates are rated. (This website is a 

national, online nursing home report card providing information on every Medicare 

and Medicaid certified nursing home in each state.) 

Additional Requirements for Out-of-State Corporations 

According to DPH, if an out-of-state corporation applies for a nursing home license, 

it must supply the department with the following information in addition to the 

licensure requirements above: 

1. the contact information of each stakeholder with a 10% or greater ownership 

interest in the corporation, 

2. a certificate of good standing from the secretary of state of the state of 
incorporation, and  

https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_368v.htm#sec_19a-491a
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3. a certificate of authority from the Connecticut Secretary of the State to 
conduct business in Connecticut.   

State and National Background Checks 

As part of the licensure application process, all of the applicant’s officers and 

directors must complete state and national criminal background checks, including 

fingerprints (CGS § 19a-491b). 

Meeting with DPH and DSS 

According to DPH, the applicant and his or her executive managers must meet in-

person with DPH and DSS to discuss the licensure application. During the meeting, 

the departments explain the licensure process and any potential concerns or issues 

with the information the applicant submitted.  

The applicant also meets with DSS separately to discuss the Medicaid rate setting 

process. By law, the DSS commissioner may reset the per diem rate it pays nursing 

homes for their Medicaid-covered residents if the home changes ownership. 

However, according to the department it has not done so over the past few years 

due to the state’s oversupply of nursing home beds (CGS § 17b-340).  

Nursing Home Inspection 

After the completed licensure application is received, DPH conducts a scheduled 

inspection and investigation to ensure that the facility meets state and federal 

requirements.  DPH renews a nursing home license every two years if the home 

passes an unscheduled inspection and submits required information (CGS §§ 19a-

493(b)(1) and 19a-498).  

Consent Orders 

By law, DPH may require applicants seeking to purchase an existing nursing home 

to sign a consent order providing reasonable assurances they will comply with the 

public health code (CGS § 19a-491(a)). In practice, DPH requires applicants to sign 

pre-license physical plant and clinical consent orders. The physical plant consent 

order requires the applicant to ensure the home complies with current public health 

and state building code requirements. It may also include corrective actions the 

applicant must make, depending on the home’s history and the results of DPH’s 

inspection.  

The clinical consent order requires applicants to ensure compliance with statutory 

and regulatory clinical services and staffing requirements. Additionally, DPH also 

requires the home’s new owner to pay for a nurse consultant to monitor the home’s  

https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_368v.htm#sec_19a-491b
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_319y.htm#sec_17b-340
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_368v.htm#sec_19a-493b
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_368v.htm#sec_19a-493b
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_368v.htm#sec_19a-498
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_368v.htm#sec_19a-491a
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clinical performance during the ownership transition. Generally, the nurse 

consultant works between eight and 40 hours per week for three to six months 

after the ownership change occurs.  

According to DPH, it may also require an applicant to sign a pre-license 

management company consent order if the applicant has a history of citations or 

significant findings of deficiencies in other facilities that it has owned or operated. 

The department has only required this of two applicants to date.  

Approval Order 

Once the above steps have been successfully completed, DPH issues the applicant 

an approval order and the entity completes the purchase of the nursing home.  The 

applicant must send DPH a copy of the closing documents from the nursing home’s 

sale.  

Post-Transfer Meetings with DPH 

According to DPH, its clinical consent order requires new nursing home owners and 

their executive managers to meet with DPH within six weeks after the nursing home 

changes ownership and every six to eight weeks thereafter until the department is 

satisfied with the home’s performance.  

CERTIFICATE OF NEED 

CON is a regulatory tool used to limit expansion of unnecessary technology and 

health care facility capacity.  A CON is a formal statement by a state regulatory 

agency that a health care facility, medical equipment purchase, or new medical 

service is needed.  DPH’s Office of Health Care Access (OHCA) is responsible for 

most CON reviews in the state.  But for nursing homes, DSS is the agency 

responsible for CON review. (Responsibility for nursing home-related CONs was 

transferred from OHCA to DSS in 1993.) 

A moratorium on new nursing home beds was originally instituted in 1991 and was 

made permanent by the legislature in 2015 (PA 15-5, June Special Session).   

Transfer of Ownership 

When a nursing home’s ownership is transferred, state law requires a CON from 

DSS only when the transfer occurs before the facility’s initial licensure (CGS § 17b-

352). Because of the moratorium on new nursing home beds, an individual or entity 

can only assume ownership of existing beds.  Therefore, DSS is not currently 

issuing CONs to these entities.  

http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=1998&bill_num=150
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_319y.htm#sec_17b-352
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_319y.htm#sec_17b-352
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This rule differs from the CON requirements for certain health care facilities under 

OHCA.  In 1998, the legislature amended the law to require a CON review for the 

transfer of ownership or control of a health care facility’s license at any time, not 

just before granting the initial license (PA 98-150).  The health care institutions, 

such as nursing homes, under DSS’s jurisdiction are exempt from this requirement 

(CGS § 19a-638). 
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