
 

 

Office of Legislative 

Research 

Research  

Report 
August 30, 2016 2016-R-0147 

 

Phone (860) 240-8400 
http://www.cga.ct.gov/olr 

olr@cga.ct.gov 

  

Connecticut General Assembly 

Office of Legislative Research 
Stephanie A. D'Ambrose, Director 

Room 5300 
Legislative Office Building 

Hartford, CT 06106-1591 

 

CONNECTICUT DUI LAW 

  

By: Paul Frisman, Principal Analyst 

 

 

  

 

ISSUE  

This report updates OLR Report 2014-R-0251 on 

driving under the influence (DUI) laws and related 

offenses. It does not address boating-related DUI laws. 

SUMMARY 

Connecticut's DUI law consists primarily of two 

statutes, CGS §§ 14-227a and -227b. The first 

prohibits a person from driving (1) while “under the 

influence” of alcohol or drugs or (2) with an “elevated” 

blood alcohol content (BAC). A person is under the 

influence if his or her ability to drive is affected to an 

appreciable degree. The maximum allowable BAC 

depends on the driver's age and the type of vehicle he 

or she is operating. 

Drivers over age 21 have an elevated BAC if it is found to be .08% or more. Drivers 

operating a commercial motor vehicle (e.g., a large truck) have an elevated BAC if 

it is .04% or more. Under CGS § 14-227g people younger than 21 have an elevated 

BAC if it is found to be .02% or more. The law specifies evidence admissibility 

criteria for alcohol and drug tests.  

Connecticut law provides for a Pretrial Alcohol Education Program under which 

certain eligible offenders charged with DUI may successfully complete an alcohol 

intervention or substance abuse treatment program, as appropriate, and have the 

DUI charges dismissed (CGS § 54-56g). 

DRIVING UNDER THE 

INFLUENCE 

Connecticut law prohibits a 

person from driving (1) 

while under the influence of 

alcohol or drugs or (2) with 

an elevated blood alcohol 

content (BAC). A person is 

under the influence if his or 

her ability to drive is 

affected to an appreciable 

degree. The maximum 

allowable BAC depends on 

the driver's age and the 

type of vehicle he or she is 

operating. 

 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/olr
mailto:olr@cga.ct.gov
http://olreporter.blogspot.com/
https://twitter.com/CT_OLR
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2012/rpt/2012-R-0279.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_248.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_248.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_248.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_960.htm
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All drivers convicted of DUI face fines and prison terms. In addition, penalties for 

first- and second-time offenders include a 45-day license suspension and ignition 

interlock restrictions. Third-time and subsequent offenders face license revocation 

and ignition interlock restrictions if a license is eventually reinstated (see Table 1, 

below). An ignition interlock device (IID) prevents a driver from operating a vehicle 

if his or her BAC is above a certain threshold.  

Under the second statute, CGS § 14-227b, motorists implicitly consent to be tested 

for drugs or alcohol when they drive. The law establishes administrative license 

suspension procedures for drivers who refuse to submit to a test or whose test 

results indicate an elevated BAC. (These provisions are called “implied consent” and 

“administrative per se,” respectively.)  The license suspension period for all per se 

violations is 45 days. Drivers must operate only ignition interlock equipped vehicles 

for specified periods after this suspension ends (see Table 5, below). 

The law also requires use of an IID for two years following the mandatory one-year 

license suspension following conviction for 2nd degree manslaughter with a motor 

vehicle (CGS § 53a-56b) or 2nd degree assault with a motor vehicle (CGS § 53a-

60d). These crimes apply to drivers who cause the death or serious injury of 

another person, respectively, while under the influence of alcohol or drugs. The 

court may also order an individual arrested for DUI, 2nd degree manslaughter with a 

motor vehicle, or 2nd degree assault with a motor vehicle to operate only motor 

vehicles equipped with IIDs as a condition of (1) release on bail, (2) probation, or 

(3) granting his or her application to take part in the Pretrial Alcohol Education 

Program (CGS § 14-227j (b)).  

Someone who holds a commercial driver's license (CDL) faces disqualification from 

driving a commercial motor vehicle for one year if he or she is found to have: (1) a 

BAC of .04% or more while driving a commercial vehicle, (2) a BAC of .08% or 

more while driving any other type of vehicle, (3) refused a BAC test when driving 

any motor vehicle, or (4) been convicted of DUI. CDL holders who commit two or 

more of certain offenses, including DUI, face a lifetime ban on driving commercial 

motor vehicles, but may get their license back if they meet certain conditions. 

Police must impound for 48 hours the motor vehicle of someone arrested for DUI 

who was driving while his or her license was suspended or revoked. The owner may 

reclaim the vehicle after paying towing and storage costs (CGS § 14-227h). 

PA 16-126 increases the criminal penalties for DUI (1) with a passenger under age 

18 or (2) when driving a school bus, student transportation vehicle (STV), or other 

motor vehicle specially designated for carrying children, regardless of whether a 

passenger under age 18 is present.  The act imposes longer mandatory minimum 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_248.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_248.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_248.htm
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2016&bill_num=126
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and maximum prison terms and mandatory probation for first offenses; subjects 

people charged with these crimes to the administrative per se procedure; and 

generally applies to people charged with these crimes the same restrictions and 

requirements that apply to people convicted of DUI. 

In addition, people found to be “persistent operating while under the influence 

felony offenders” are subject to an increased criminal penalty.  

DRIVING WHILE UNDER THE INFLUENCE OF ALCOHOL OR DRUGS 

(CGS § 14-227A) 

Driving Under the Influence or with an Elevated BAC 

The law prohibits driving (1) while under the influence of alcohol or drugs or (2) 

with an “elevated blood alcohol content.” A person is “under the influence” if his or 

her ability to drive is affected by alcohol or drugs to an appreciable degree (Infeld 

v. Sullivan, 151 Conn. 506 (1964)). This may be prosecuted with or without any 

direct evidence of his or her BAC.  

A person has an elevated blood alcohol content if his or her BAC is at least .08% 

alcohol by weight. The law also makes it illegal for someone driving a commercial 

motor vehicle to have a BAC of .04% or more and for anyone under age 21 to drive 

with a BAC of .02% or more.  

The DUI law applies to drivers operating motor vehicles anywhere, including their 

own property, and to people operating snowmobiles and all-terrain vehicles (CGS § 

14-227a(a)). 

Before dismissing, declining to prosecute, or reducing a DUI charge, a prosecutor 

must state the reasons for doing so in court (CGS § 14-227a(f)). 

BAC Tests 

A police officer may measure a motorist's BAC by testing the driver's blood, breath, 

or urine. The law establishes a rebuttable presumption that a driver's BAC at the 

time it is tested is the same as the BAC at the time he or she was stopped. The law 

requires two tests at least 10 minutes apart. If the result of the second test is .10% 

or less, and higher than the first test, the prosecution must demonstrate that the 

test results and analysis accurately reflect the driver's BAC at the time of the 

alleged offense (CGS § 14-227a(b)). 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_248.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_248.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_248.htm
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Admissibility of Evidence for Uninjured Drivers 

The standard for determining whether evidence is admissible depends on whether 

the driver was injured. 

In order for the test results of an uninjured driver to be admissible: 

1. the driver must have (a) been given a reasonable chance to call a lawyer 
before taking the test and (b) consented to taking it; 

2. a copy of the test results must be mailed or personally delivered to the driver 

within 24 hours or at the end of the next business day after the results are 
known; 

3. the test must be administered by a police officer or at the officer's direction; 

4. the test must be administered using methods and equipment approved by 
the Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection (DESPP) and 

according to DESPP regulations; 

5. the test equipment must have been checked for accuracy according to DESPP 

regulations; 

6. a second test of the same type generally must be administered at least 10 
minutes after the first test is conducted (unless the second test is to detect 

the presence of drugs, in which case it can be of a different type and does 
not have to be administered within that time frame); and 

7. the test must have begun within two hours of operation (presumably the 
time of the alleged offense) (CGS § 14-227a(b)). 

The DESPP commissioner must determine the reliability of each method and type of 

device used to test blood, breath, and urine, and certify those suitable for use in 

Connecticut. He must adopt regulations governing the conduct of tests; the 

operation and use of test devices; the training and certification of test operators; 

and the drawing or obtaining of blood, breath, and urine samples (CGS § 14-

227a(d)).  

Evidence that a driver refused to submit to a test is admissible if the procedural 

requirements of CGS § 14-227b (described below) are followed. At trial, the court 

must instruct the jury as to what inferences it can and cannot draw from a refusal 

(CGS § 14-227a(e)). 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_248.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_248.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_248.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_248.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2011/pub/chap_248.htm
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Admissibility of Evidence for Samples Taken from Apparently Injured 

Drivers Requiring Medical Treatment 

A different set of admissibility standards applies to blood or urine samples taken 

from an injured driver in the course of his or her medical treatment. Results of a 

chemical analysis of the sample are competent evidence to establish probable cause 

for the person's arrest by warrant and are admissible in a subsequent prosecution 

if: 

1. the sample was taken for the diagnosis and treatment of the injury;  

2. of a blood sample, it was taken in accordance with DESPP regulations;  

3. a police officer satisfies a Superior Court judge that (a) he or she had reason 

to believe the motorist was driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs 
and (b) the blood or urine sample constitutes evidence of this offense; and  

4. the judge issues a search warrant authorizing the seizure of the test results. 
The warrant may also authorize the seizure of hospital medical records 
prepared in connection with the diagnosis or treatment of the injury (CGS § 

14-227a(k)).  

Penalties 

A person convicted of DUI is subject to the criminal penalties listed in Table 1. In 

assessing these penalties, the law considers a subsequent conviction one that 

occurs within 10 years of a prior conviction for the same offense (CGS § 14-227a 

(g)).  

In practice, however, the first conviction of a driver for DUI is usually for the 

driver's second violation because a first offender charged with DUI may apply to the 

court for admission to the Pretrial Alcohol Education Program (see below). The 

applicant must state under oath that he or she has not been in the program in the 

preceding 10 years. The court must dismiss the DUI charges if the driver 

satisfactorily completes the program. 

Table 1: DUI Criminal Penalties (CGS § 14-227a (g)) 

Conviction Prison Sentence Fine License Suspension 

First Either (1) up to six months 

with a mandatory minimum 

of two days or (2) up to six 

months suspended with 

probation requiring 100 

hours of community service 

$500- $1,000 45 days, followed by one year 

driving only a vehicle 

equipped with an ignition 

interlock.  

http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_248.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_248.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_248.htm
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Conviction Prison Sentence Fine License Suspension 

 Second 

    

Up to two years, with a 

mandatory minimum of 120 

consecutive days and 

probation with 100 hours 

community service 

$1,000- $4,000 45 days, followed by three 

years of driving only a vehicle 

equipped with an ignition 

interlock, with operation for 

the first year limited to travel 

to or from work, school, an 

alcohol or drug abuse 

treatment program, ignition 

interlock service center, or 

probation appointment. 

Third and Subsequent Up to three years, with 

mandatory minimum of one 

year and probation with 100 

hours community service 

$2,000- $8,000 License revoked, but the 

offender is eligible for 

reinstatement after two years. 

If reinstated, he or she must 

drive only interlock-equipped 

vehicles for as long as the 

offender drives, except that 

the DMV commissioner may 

lift this requirement after 15 

years. 

 

The license suspension is stayed while a conviction is appealed. For motorists 

driving under a special operator's permit (described below) suspension periods are 

doubled (CGS § 14-227a (h). In addition to these penalties, the court can order a 

driver to participate in an alcohol education and treatment program (CGS § 14-

227a (j)).  

License suspension for conviction of a criminal DUI charge is in addition to any 

previously imposed administrative license suspension under the implied consent law 

(see below). The Connecticut Supreme Court has held that an administrative license 

suspension is not a bar to criminal prosecution (State v. Hickam, 235 Conn. 614 

(1995)). 

Also, any conviction that occurs in another state for an offense that the court 

determines has substantially the same essential elements as Connecticut's criminal 

drunk driving offenses, 2nd degree manslaughter with a motor vehicle, or 2nd degree 

assault with a motor vehicle, constitutes a prior conviction of the same offense for 

http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_248.htm#sec_14-227a
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_248.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_248.htm
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purposes of determining someone's prior criminal history (CGS § 14-227a(g)). By 

law, the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) may impose IID requirements as well 

as license suspensions for second or subsequent convictions (CGS § 14-111n (d)).  

Victim Panel. If the court sentences someone to probation, it may require as a 

condition that the offender take part in a victim impact panel program approved by 

the judicial branch's Court Support Services Division (CSSD). The panel must 

provide a non-confrontational forum for victims of alcohol- or drug-related offenses 

and offenders to share experiences on the impact of alcohol- or drug-related 

incidents on their lives. The nonprofit organization that conducts the panel may 

charge an offender ordered to participate a fee of up to $75 (CGS § 14-227a(l)). 

Assessment and Treatment. For second or subsequent DUI convictions, the law 

requires an offender to (1) submit to an alcohol or drug abuse assessment through 

CSSD and (2) undergo a treatment program if ordered to do so by the court (CGS § 

14-227a(g)). 

Home Confinement. The law allows the Department of Correction (DOC) 

commissioner to release an inmate sentenced for DUI, after admission and 

conducting a risk and needs assessment, to the inmate's home. The released 

offender cannot leave his or her home without authorization, remains in DOC 

custody, and is supervised by DOC employees. The DOC commissioner can revoke 

the release and return the person to prison for violating release conditions (CGS § 

18-100h (a)). 

Drivers Age 16 and 17 

The law imposes stricter rules on 16- and 17-year-old drivers cited for either 

driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs or with an elevated BAC (which for 

them is .02% or more). Under these conditions, the police officer, acting on behalf 

of the DMV commissioner, must seize the driver's license for 48 hours and have the 

vehicle removed. The license is considered suspended for 48 hours, starting when 

the arrest is made or the summons issued.  

To regain the license, the 16- or 17-year-old and, unless he or she is an 

emancipated minor, his or her parent or legal guardian, must, after the 48-hour 

period ends, appear in person at the police department, state police barracks, or 

other designated location and sign a written acknowledgement of its return. No 

restoration fee may be charged for return of the license. The police officer who 

seized the license must send a written report of the violation and the suspension to 

the DMV commissioner (CGS § 14-36i (b)).  

http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_248.htm
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_246.htm#sec_14-111n
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_248.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2011/pub/chap_248.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2012/sup/chap325.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_246.htm
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A driver under age 18 who is arrested for DUI is not eligible for youthful offender 

status (CGS § 54-76b).  

IGNITION INTERLOCKS 

Ignition interlock devices are installed in motor vehicles to prevent people from 

driving under the influence of alcohol. They require the driver to breathe into them 

to operate the vehicle. If the device detects a BAC above a certain threshold it 

prevents the vehicle from being started. IIDs also require the driver to submit 

periodic breath samples while he or she is driving. Offenders must pay DMV a $100 

fee before the device is installed; DMV uses this money to administer the interlock 

program. Offenders also must pay the costs of installing and maintaining the 

devices (CGS § 14-227a(i)). 

Interlock Requirements – Criminal Convictions 

The following interlock restrictions apply once the license suspension periods 

described above end. (However, the commissioner may extend, through regulations 

he adopts, periods of required interlock use beyond those the law requires (CGS § 

14-227a(i)(10)).  

First- and Second-Time DUI Offenders. First-time offenders must drive only 

vehicles equipped with IIDs for one year. Second-time offenders must drive only 

interlock-equipped vehicles for three years.  

During the first year of the three-year period, second-time offenders may only drive 

interlock-equipped vehicles to or from (1) work, (2) school, (3) an alcohol or drug 

abuse treatment program, (4) an ignition interlock service center, or (5) probation 

appointment. The commissioner must note this restriction on the driver's electronic 

records (license and driving history) as he does for other ignition interlock 

requirements.  

First- and second-time offenders must verify to the commissioner, in a manner he 

determines, that they have had the interlock devices installed (CGS § 14-227a(i)). 

Third-Time and Subsequent DUI Offenders. The law requires DMV to 

revoke the license of third-time and subsequent offenders, although it allows the 

offender to request that DMV restore the license after two years. The commissioner 

may restore the license if (1) doing so does not endanger public safety, (2) the 

individual has met certain requirements (including completing an alcohol and drug 

education program, see below), and (3) the offender will drive only vehicles  

http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_960a.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_248.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_248.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_248.htm
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equipped with IIDs for as long as he or she continues to drive. But the law also 

allows an offender to ask the commissioner to lift the interlock requirement after 15 

years, and allows the commissioner to do so after a hearing and for good cause 

(CGS § 14-111(i)).  

Sentence Re-imposition 

The law requires the commissioner to reinstate the original license suspension on 

someone who fails to use an IID as required until the person demonstrates to the 

commissioner’s satisfaction that he or she intends to install and maintain the IID for 

the required period. The commissioner must adopt regulations specifying (1) which 

actions constitute a failure to comply with the requirements, (2) which of these 

actions will result in DMV increasing the length of time the individual must drive 

only interlock-equipped vehicles, and (3) the length of these extensions (CGS §§ 

14-111(j) and 14-227a(i)(3)). 

Ignition Interlock Requirements for Other Crimes 

The law requires anyone convicted of 2nd degree manslaughter with a motor vehicle 

or 2nd degree assault with a motor vehicle to operate ignition interlock-equipped 

motor vehicles for two years following a mandatory one-year license suspension 

(CGS §§ 53a-56b and -60d). A court also may order anyone arrested for these 

crimes to only operate motor vehicles equipped with ignition interlock devices as a 

condition of (1) release on bail, (2) probation, or (3) granting his or her application 

to participate in the Pretrial Alcohol Education Program (CGS § 14-227j(b)).  

Penalties for Evading Ignition Interlock Restrictions 

People under a court or DMV order for ignition interlock use face criminal penalties 

for evading those restrictions. Anyone who asks another person to breathe into an 

interlock to start a vehicle or tampers with, bypasses, or alters an interlock 

commits a class C misdemeanor, which is punishable by up to three months in 

prison, a fine of up to $500, or both (CGS § 14-227k(c)).  

People who illegally drive a vehicle (1) not equipped with a functioning interlock or 

(2) that a court has prohibited them from driving, face stiffer penalties, as 

described in Table 2, below. 

  

https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_246.htm#sec_14-111
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_246.htm#sec_14-111
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_248.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_248.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_248.htm
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Table 2: Criminal Penalties for Illegally Driving a Vehicle without an Interlock 

Offense Penalty 

First  $500 to $1,000 fine 

Up to one year in prison, 30 days mandatory minimum* 

Second  $500 to $1,000 fine 

Up to two years in prison, 120 day mandatory minimum* 

Third or 

subsequent  

$500 to $1,000 fine 

Up to three years in prison, 1 year mandatory minimum* 

                *The court is not required to impose the mandatory minimum sentence if it states mitigating circumstances in writing.  

By law, DMV must also suspend for one year the license or nonresident operating 

privilege of anyone convicted of any of the above offenses (CGS § 14-227k(d)). 

A driver is ineligible to operate a motor vehicle with an ignition interlock if his or 

her license was suspended for any reason other than conviction of (1) DUI, (2) 2nd 

degree manslaughter with a motor vehicle, or (3) 2nd degree assault with a motor 

vehicle (CGS § 14-227a(i)). 

DUI WITH A PASSENGER UNDER AGE 18 (CHILD PASSENGER) OR 
WHEN DRIVING A SCHOOL BUS OR SIMILAR VEHICLE (PA 16-126) 

PA 16-126, effective October 1, 2016, establishes specific crimes for (1) DUI with a 

child passenger in any motor vehicle (including a snowmobile or all-terrain vehicle) 

and (2) DUI when driving a school bus, STV, or other motor vehicle specially 

designated for carrying children, with or without a child passenger. As under DUI 

law: 

1. these crimes apply if someone is driving while under the influence of alcohol 

or drugs or with an elevated BAC and 

2. the threshold for an elevated BAC is .08% for most drivers over age 21, 

.04% for drivers over age 21 if operating a commercial vehicle, and .02% for 

drivers younger than 21. 

Because a CDL is required to drive a school bus, the BAC threshold for such drivers 

over age 21 is .04%. Because an STV is not necessarily classified as a commercial 

vehicle, the BAC threshold for STV drivers over age 21 is generally .08%. 

Criminal Penalties for DUI with a Child Passenger 

Similar to DUI law, PA 16-126 establishes graduated penalties for the crime of DUI 

with a child passenger, including prison and probation terms; fines; and license 

suspension and ignition interlock requirements.   

http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_248.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_248.htm
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2016&bill_num=126
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2016&bill_num=126
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2016&bill_num=126
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The act increases the penalties for this crime compared to DUI law by: 

1. requiring a mandatory minimum prison term for first convictions and 

increasing the mandatory minimum prison terms for second or subsequent 

convictions, 

2. increasing maximum prison terms for all convictions, 

3. requiring probation for first convictions and adding to the required 

components of probation for all convictions, and 

4. increasing maximum fines for first convictions.  

Table 3 shows the criminal penalties for the crime of DUI with a child passenger. As 

under DUI law, a subsequent conviction is one that occurs within 10 years of a prior 

conviction. 

Table 3: Criminal Penalties, DUI with a Child Passenger 

Penalty 
Type 

DUI with a Child Passenger  

First Conviction 

Prison 
Sentence 

Up to one year with a mandatory minimum of 30 days 

Probation required, including (1) 100 hours of community service; (2) submitting to an assessment of 
the degree of the person's alcohol or drug abuse, conducted by the Court Support Services Division 
(CSSD); (3) undergoing a treatment program, including chemical screening, if ordered by the court; 
(4) submitting to a Department of Children and Families (DCF) interview and evaluation to assess 
any ongoing risk the person poses to the child passenger; and (5) cooperating with any 
programming, treatment, directives, or plan that DCF may require 

Fine $500- $2,000 

License 
Suspension 

Same as the DUI law (see Table 1) 

Second Conviction 

Prison 
Sentence 

Up to three years, with a mandatory minimum of 180 consecutive days  

Probation required, with the same conditions as for a first conviction (see above) 

Fine $1,000- $4,000 

License 
Suspension 

Same as the DUI law (see Table 1), except during first year of travel with ignition interlock device, 
the act also allows travel to DCF-ordered treatment programs and appointments with DCF 
caseworkers  

Third Conviction 

Prison 
Sentence 

Up to five years, with mandatory minimum of two years 

Probation required, with same conditions as for a first or second conviction (see above) 

Fine $2,000- $8,000 

License 
Suspension 

Same as  DUI law (see Table 1) 



 

August 30, 2016 Page 12 of 20 2016-R-0147 
 

Under PA 16-126, convictions for any such crimes, or the act’s new crimes, are 

counted as prior convictions for purposes of DUI or DUI with a child passenger.  

It also specifies that a conviction for the separate existing crime of DUI by a driver 

under age 21 is counted as a prior conviction for purposes of the new crime of DUI 

with a child passenger.  

Criminal Penalties for DUI While Driving a School Bus, STV, or 

Similar Vehicle  

PA 16-126 also creates a separate crime for DUI while driving a school bus, STV, or 

other “motor vehicle specially designated for carrying children.” It defines the last 

term as any motor vehicle, other than a registered school bus or STV, designated 

or used to transport children to or from any program or activity organized primarily 

for minors, regardless of whether the passengers are charged a fee, but not 

including a passenger vehicle normally used for personal, family, or household 

purposes operated by someone without a public passenger endorsement. 

Unlike DUI law, this crime does not have graduated penalties for multiple 

convictions. As compared to DUI law, it:  

1. requires a mandatory minimum prison term and probation for first 

convictions, 

2. increases the maximum prison terms for all convictions, and 

3. eliminates minimum fines while increasing maximum fines. 

For all convictions for this crime, the act requires the same period of license 

suspension and ignition interlock usage as for second convictions under DUI law.  

Under the act, the mandatory minimum prison term is longer (120 days) if the 

offense occurs with a child passenger in the bus or similar vehicle than if there is 

not (30 days).  

Table 4 describes in detail the criminal penalties for this crime.  

http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2016&bill_num=126
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2016&bill_num=126
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Table 4: Criminal Penalties, DUI While Driving a School Bus, STV, or Similar Vehicle 

Penalty 
Type 

Penalty  

Prison 
Sentence 

One to 10 years, with a mandatory minimum of (1) 30 consecutive days or (2) 120 consecutive days 
if a child was a passenger during the offense 

Probation required, including (1) 100 hours of community service; (2) submitting to an assessment of 
the degree of the person's alcohol or drug abuse, conducted by CSSD; and (3) undergoing a 
treatment program, including chemical screening, if ordered by the court  

Fine Up to $10,000 

License 
Suspension 

45 days, followed by three years of driving only a vehicle equipped with an ignition interlock device, 
with operation for the first year limited to travel to or from work, school, an alcohol or drug abuse 
treatment program, ignition interlock service center, or probation appointment 

 

PERSISTENT DUI OFFENDERS (CGS § 53a-40f) 

A person is considered a “persistent operating while under the influence felony 

offender” if he or she (1) is convicted of 2nd degree manslaughter with a motor 

vehicle or 2nd degree assault with a motor vehicle and (2) within the previous 10 

years has been convicted of either of these offenses, DUI, or substantially similar 

offenses in other states. 

The court may impose the prison sentence for the next higher degree of felony for a 

persistent DUI offender. Thus, it increases, from 10 years to 20 years, the 

maximum possible prison term for a persistent offender convicted of 2nd degree 

manslaughter with a motor vehicle and from five years to 10 years the maximum 

possible sentence for a persistent offender convicted of 2nd degree assault with a 

motor vehicle. 

OUT-OF-STATE OFFENSES 

By federal and state law, states must record convictions for certain offenses, 

including DUI, committed by nonresidents and report these convictions to the 

offender's home state for imposition of penalties. This means that DUI and other 

alcohol-related criminal offenses that occur out-of-state, the essential elements of 

which the court determines are substantially the same as Connecticut offenses, 

constitute a prior offense for determining the imposition of penalties for second or 

subsequent offenses in Connecticut. DMV also generally imposes the license 

suspension and IID requirements Connecticut law requires for a second or 

subsequent offense on someone convicted of DUI in another state who was 

convicted of DUI here or in another state within the previous 10 years (CGS § 14-

111n). 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_246.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_246.htm
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IMPLIED CONSENT TO TEST AND ADMINISTRATIVE PER SE LICENSE 

SUSPENSION (CGS § 14-227b) 

Implied Consent 

Anyone who drives implicitly consents to the testing of his or her blood, breath, or 

urine. If the driver is a minor, his or her parents or guardians are considered to 

have given their consent.  

On arresting someone for DUI and before administering the test, the police officer 

must: 

1. inform the driver of his or her constitutional rights; 

2. give the driver a chance to call a lawyer;  

3. inform the driver that his or her license will be suspended if he or she refuses 
to take the test, or if the test results indicate an elevated BAC; and 

4. inform the driver that evidence of a refusal may be used against him or her 
in a criminal prosecution. 

Administrative Per Se 

This law requires an administrative license suspension process for drivers who 

refuse to submit to the test or whose test results indicate an elevated BAC (at least 

.08% for non-commercial vehicle drivers, .04% for commercial vehicle drivers, or 

.02% for drivers under age 21). In such cases, the police officer, acting on behalf of 

the DMV commissioner, must revoke the driver's license for 24 hours and submit a 

report to the DMV. The report must include any test results and the grounds the 

officer had for making the arrest. In the case of a test refusal, a third party who 

witnessed the refusal must sign the report (CGS § 14-227b(c)).  

A different procedure applies when someone gives a blood or urine sample at a 

police officer's request because these require a laboratory analysis. In this case, the 

officer cannot immediately take possession of the person's license or follow the 

other procedural requirements of the per se law. Instead, immediately upon 

receiving test results showing an elevated BAC, the officer must notify the DMV 

commissioner and submit the required written report (CGS § 14-227b (d)).  

The process followed once the commissioner receives the police report depends on 

the driver's circumstances. As long as the driver either has not (1) previously been 

suspended for a DUI conviction within the 10 years preceding the current arrest or 

(2) been involved in a fatal accident, the commissioner may suspend his or her  

http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_248.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_248.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_248.htm
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license or nonresident operating privilege starting on a date not more than 30 days 

after the person receives notice of his or her arrest. In the case of someone with a 

prior DUI license suspension or who has been involved in a fatal accident, the 

commissioner may suspend his or her license or operating privilege on any date 

specified in the suspension notice. This can be immediate (CGS § 14-227b (e)).  

In either case, the driver is entitled to a DMV hearing. In the first case (neither fatal 

accident involvement or prior DUI suspension), this must occur before the 

suspension goes into effect, provided the person contacts DMV no later than seven 

days after DMV mails the suspension notice. In the latter case (fatal accident 

involvement or prior DUI suspension), the hearing can occur after the suspension, 

but not more than 30 days after the person contacts DMV to schedule a hearing. He 

or she must request the hearing no later than seven days after DMV mails the 

suspension notice. 

In either case, the issues at the hearing are limited to whether: (1) the police 

officer had probable cause to make the arrest, (2) the driver was arrested, (3) he 

or she was driving, and (4) he or she refused the test or had an elevated BAC. (In 

the case of test results obtained from a blood sample taken from an apparently 

injured driver, the hearing must additionally determine whether the sample was 

obtained according to the statutory conditions for admissibility and competence as 

evidence, as described above.) If the answer to any of the four questions is no, 

DMV must return the license to the driver. If the answer to all of the questions is 

yes, DMV must suspend the driver's license for 45 days, followed by mandatory IID 

use for the periods specified in Table 5.  

To get his or her licensed restored, the driver must install and maintain an IID on 

each motor vehicle he or she owns or operates, and cannot operate a vehicle 

without an IID for the periods specified in Table 5. By law, a driver must drive IID-

equipped vehicles for the longer of the time periods prescribed by the relevant 

administrative per se (Table 5) or criminal DUI statutes (Table 1) (CGS § 14-227b 

(i) (1)).  

The test refusal penalties also apply to someone who takes the initial test but 

refuses to take a second chemical test. These provisions do not apply to someone 

whose condition makes such tests medically inadvisable.   

http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_248.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_246.htm
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Table 5: Required Periods of IID Use after Administrative Per Se License Suspension 

Per Se Violation 

IID Requirement (After 45-Day License 
Suspension) 

First 
Suspension 

Second 
Suspension 

Third or 
Subsequent 
Suspension 

Age 21 or older: BAC 
of (1) 08% or more or 
(2) 04% or more if 
operating a 
commercial vehicle 

6 months 1 year 2 years 

Under Age 21: BAC of 
.02% or more 

1 year 2 years 3 years 

Test refusal, 
regardless of age 

1 year 2 years 3 years 

 

PRETRIAL ALCOHOL EDUCATION PROGRAM (CGS § 54-56g) 

Someone charged with DUI or, if under 21, operating a vehicle with a BAC of .02% 

or more, may apply to the court for admission to the Pretrial Alcohol Education 

Program. A driver charged with DUI is ineligible for the program if, when the 

incident occurred, he or she (1) was driving a commercial motor vehicle or (2) held 

a CDL or CDL instruction permit (CGS § 54-56g(h)). Unless good cause is shown, a 

driver also is ineligible if he or she was involved in a crash that caused serious 

physical injury (CGS § 54-56g (a)). 

An applicant must pay a $100 application fee and a $100 nonrefundable evaluation 

fee, as well as program fees, which vary. The applicant also must make certain 

affirmations under oath before the court, including that he or she has not had the 

program previously invoked on his or her behalf within the preceding 10 years. The 

court must seal the file when the offender applies for the program.   

The court can grant the application after considering the recommendations of the 

prosecutor in charge of the case. If the court grants the application, it must refer 

the motorist to (1) CSSD for assessment and confirmation of his or her eligibility 

and (2) the Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services (DMHAS) for 

evaluation. Upon confirmation of eligibility, the person is referred to DMHAS for 

placement in either an appropriate alcohol intervention program for one year, or a 

state-licensed substance abuse treatment program. 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_960.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_960.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_960.htm
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The court may require, as a condition of granting the application, that the offender 

take part in a CSSD-approved victim impact panel program. The program provider 

must offer to waive the program's $75 fee if it determines it would pose an 

economic hardship. 

The court must dismiss the charges if the defendant satisfactorily completes the 

assigned program and he or she requests dismissal.  

The offender's license suspension remains in effect while he or she participates in 

the program, although he or she can wait to begin the program until the suspension 

ends.  

Program Reinstatement   

The law allows reinstatement to the program in certain cases.  

If a program provider informs the court that a defendant did not successfully 

complete the assigned program or is no longer amenable to treatment, the provider 

must, to the extent practicable, recommend whether the individual would best be 

served by (1) a 10-session intervention program, (2) a 15-session intervention 

program, or (3) placement in a state-licensed substance abuse treatment program. 

The court may order reinstatement in such a program if the defendant requests it 

and CSSD verifies he or she is eligible (CGS § 54-56g(d) & (e)).  

However, the court must order the court file unsealed, enter a plea of not guilty for 

the defendant, and immediately schedule the case for trial, if (1) CSSD informs the 

court that the defendant is ineligible for the program and the court makes such a 

finding or (2) the program provider certifies to the court that the defendant did not 

successfully complete the assigned program or is no longer amenable to treatment, 

and the defendant does not request, or the court denies, reinstatement (CGS § 54-

56g(b)) . 

INELIGIBILITY FOR CERTAIN COURT PROGRAMS 

Among the laws the legislature adopted in 2016 were two public acts affecting 

eligibility of certain people charged with DUI and other crimes for court programs 

that could lead to dismissal of the charges.   

Dismissal of Certain Charges for People under Age 21  

PA 16-182 allows a defendant or prosecutor to ask the court to allow eligible 

defendants under age 21 charged with certain crimes or motor vehicle violations to 

take part in a program that can result in dismissal of the charges. The act explicitly 

prohibits people charged with DUI from participating. 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_960.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_960.htm
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2016&bill_num=182
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Suspension of Prosecution for Drug and Alcohol Dependent Persons 

The law allows a court to suspend prosecution of, and instead order treatment for, 

certain people charged with a crime and found to be alcohol or drug dependent. 

Successful completion of the treatment may result in dismissal of the charges (CGS 

§ 17a-697).  

PA 16-55 prohibits a court from suspending prosecution and ordering treatment for 

people who are alcohol or drug dependent if they were driving a commercial motor 

vehicle or held a CDL or commercial driver’s instruction permit when the driver was 

charged with (1) DUI, (2) DUI under age 21, (3) 2nd degree assault with motor 

vehicle or (4) 2nd degree manslaughter with a motor vehicle.  

RELATED PROVISIONS  

Operating While License Suspended For DUI (CGS § 14-215(c)) 

Anyone who operates a motor vehicle while his or her license is suspended or 

revoked for (1) DUI, (2) 2nd degree manslaughter with a motor vehicle, (3) 2nd 

degree assault with a motor vehicle, or (4) refusing to submit to a BAC test or 

whose test shows an elevated BAC, is subject to a fine of between $500 and $1,000 

and imprisonment for up to one year. The offense carries a 30-day mandatory 

prison sentence unless the court specifies mitigating circumstances. 

A driver who operates a motor vehicle while his or her license is suspended or 

revoked for a second violation of the above is subject to a fine of between $500 and 

$1,000 and imprisonment for up to two years, 120 days of which cannot be 

suspended unless the court specifies mitigating circumstances. A motorist who 

drives a motor vehicle while his or her license is suspended or revoked for a third or 

subsequent violation of the above is subject to a fine of between $500 and $1,000 

and imprisonment for up to three years, one year of which cannot be suspended 

unless the court specifies mitigating circumstances. 

The judge must specify the mitigating circumstances, or lack of them, in writing. 

Testing After Accidents involving Death or Serious Injury (CGS § 14-

227c) 

The chief medical examiner and other specified officials must include in any 

investigation of a fatal motor vehicle accident a blood sample from any driver or 

pedestrian who dies in the accident. These samples must be examined for the 

presence and concentration of alcohol and drugs by the chief medical examiner or 

the DESPP Division of Scientific Services. A blood or breath sample must be 

obtained from any surviving driver whose vehicle is involved in an accident  

http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_319j.htm#sec_17a-697
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2016&bill_num=55
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_248.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_248.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_248.htm
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resulting in the death of or serious physical injury to another person if (1) a police 

officer has probable cause to believe that the driver operated the vehicle while 

under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or both, or (2) the driver has been charged in 

connection with the accident and the officer has a reasonable suspicion that the 

driver was under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or both. Since the law requires the 

sample to be tested for drugs as well as alcohol, and breath samples cannot provide 

reliable evidence of the presence of drugs, the law, in effect, appears to require 

blood samples from surviving operators.  

The testing of any such samples must be performed at the direction of a police 

officer according to methods and using equipment approved by DESPP. The person 

performing the test must be certified or recertified for this purpose by DESPP or 

recertified by someone certified as an instructor by DESPP. 

Test equipment must be checked immediately before and after the test by someone 

who is DESPP-certified. If a blood test is performed, the sample must be taken by a 

physician, a qualified laboratory technician, a registered nurse, a physician 

assistant, or a phlebotomist.  

Special Operator Permits (CGS § 14-37a) 

By law, anyone who has had a driver's license suspended, except in certain 

instances, may apply for a special operator permit that allows him or her to drive 

for certain work, education, or medical purposes. The DMV commissioner may 

condition issuance of a special operator permit on the driver operating only a 

vehicle equipped with an ignition interlock device (CGS § 14-227j (e)).  

CDL Holders (CGS § 14-44k) 

If someone holding a CDL (required to drive buses, large trucks, and trucks 

carrying hazardous materials) is convicted of DUI while driving a commercial or 

other vehicle, or found to have either refused to submit to a BAC test or taken and 

failed the test, he or she is disqualified from driving a commercial motor vehicle for 

one year. If an offense involves driving a vehicle transporting hazardous materials 

requiring placards under federal law, the disqualification is for three years (CGS § 

14-44k(b), (c) & (d)). 

The disqualification applies for (1) any BAC test refusal, regardless of the type of 

motor vehicle he or she was driving; (2) a BAC result of .04% or more while driving 

a commercial motor vehicle or .08% or more while driving any other motor vehicle; 

or (3) a conviction of operating any vehicle while under the influence of alcohol, 

drugs, or both. 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_246.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_248.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_246.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_246.htm
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The disqualification periods apply to convictions in another state if the 

commissioner believes the offenses in those states are similar to those under 

Connecticut's DUI or administrative per se and implied consent law.  

CDL holders who commit two or more of certain offenses, including DUI, are 

disqualified for life from driving a commercial motor vehicle. But most CDL holders 

disqualified for life may apply for reinstatement after 10 years.  To be considered 

for reinstatement, such an individual must, among other things, voluntarily enroll 

in, and successfully complete, (1) a substance abuse treatment program 

established and operated by DMHAS, (2) a program operated through a licensed 

substance abuse treatment facility, or (3) an equivalent program offered in another 

state (CGS § 14-44k(h)).    

Second Degree Manslaughter with a Motor Vehicle (CGS § 53a-56b) 

A person commits the crime of 2nd degree manslaughter with a motor vehicle when, 

while operating a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol or any drug, he or 

she causes the death of another person as a consequence of the effect of the 

alcohol or drugs. The penalty is a prison term of up to 10 years, a fine of up to 

$10,000, or both. The operator's driver's license is suspended for one year and he 

or she can only operate vehicles equipped with an ignition interlock device for two 

years after completing the suspension period. 

Second Degree Assault with a Motor Vehicle (CGS § 53a-60d)  

A person commits the crime of 2nd degree assault with a motor vehicle, when, while 

operating a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs, he or she causes 

serious physical injury to another person as a consequence of the effect of alcohol 

or drugs. The penalty is a prison term of up to five years, a fine of up to $5,000, or 

both. The operator's driver's license is suspended for one year and he or she can 

only operate vehicles equipped with an ignition interlock device for two years after 

completing the suspension period. 

By law, a “serious physical injury” is one that creates a substantial risk of death, or 

causes serious (1) disfigurement, (2) impairment of health, or (3) loss or 

impairment of the function of any bodily organ (CGS § 53a-3(4)).  

PF:cmg 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_246.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2011/pub/chap_952.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_952.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_950.htm

