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ACCESS TO OPIOID ANTAGONISTS
Third-Party Prescriptions

Opioid antagonists, such as Narcan, rapidly reverse the symptoms of an opioid drug
overdose. They are not addictive and do not cause a “high” or pose any serious
health effects when taken by a person not suffering from a drug overdose.
Historically, Connecticut prohibited the prescription of these medications to a
person other than the drug user in need of intervention (i.e., third-party
prescriptions). But in 2012, the legislature changed the law to allow licensed health
care practitioners authorized to prescribe opioid antagonists to prescribe, dispense,
or administer them to anyone (e.g., family members or other individuals) to treat
or prevent a drug overdose (PA 12-159, codified at CGS § 17a-714a).

Prescriptive Authority for Pharmacists

Connecticut law allows physicians, dentists, podiatrists, optometrists, physician
assistants (PAs), advanced practice registered nurses (APRNs), nurse-midwives,
and veterinarians to prescribe opioid antagonists within the scope of their practice.
Legislation passed in 2015 also allows pharmacists to prescribe these medications,
if they do the following:

1. complete a training and certification program approved by the Department of
Consumer Protection (DCP) commissioner,

2. act in good faith,
3. train the recipient of the opioid antagonist in how to administer it,

4. maintain a record of the dispensing and training under the law’s record
keeping requirements, and

5. refrain from delegating or directing another person to prescribe the
medication or provide the training to the recipient (PA 15-198, codified at
CGS § 20-633c¢).

CONTINUING MEDICAL EDUCATION

Connecticut law requires physicians, APRNs, PAs, and dentists to take complete
education (CE) in pain management and prescribing controlled substances as
follows:

1. for physicians, at least one contact hour (i.e., 50 minutes) of risk
management training or education that includes pain management and
prescribing controlled substances (a) during their first license renewal period
in which CE is required and (b) at least once every six years after that (CGS
§ 20-10b);
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2. for APRNSs, at least one contact hour every two years of substance abuse
training or education that includes pain management and prescribing
controlled substances (CGS § 20-94d); and

3. for PAs and dentists, at least one contact hour every two years of training or
education in pain management and prescribing controlled substances (CGS

8§ 19a-88 and 20-126c¢).

By law, both physicians and APRNs generally must complete 50 hours of continuing
education every two years, starting with their second license renewal. Dentists
generally must complete 25 hours of continuing education every two years, starting
with their second license renewal. PAs must have completed the mandatory CE
requirements needed to maintain national certification in order to renew their
licenses.

GOOD SAMARITAN LAWS
Prescribing or Administering Opioid Antagonists

Connecticut law allows licensed health care practitioners authorized to prescribe an
opioid antagonist to prescribe, dispense, or administer it to treat or prevent a drug
overdose without being (1) civilly or criminally liable for the action or for its
subsequent use or (2) deemed as violating their professional standard of care (CGS
§ 17a-714a). Legislation passed in 2016 extended this immunity to all licensed
health care professionals (PA 16-43).

The law also allows anyone, if acting with reasonable care, to administer an opioid
antagonist to a person he or she believes, in good faith, is experiencing an opioid-
related drug overdose. It generally gives civil and criminal immunity to such a
person regarding the administration of the opioid antagonist (CGS § 17a-714a).

Seeking Emergency Medical Care for a Drug Overdose

PA 11-210 provides civil and criminal immunity to individuals who seek or receive
emergency medical care for themselves or another person they reasonably believe
is experiencing a drug overdose (CGS § 21a-279).

LOCAL EMS PLANS

Legislation passed in 2016 requires each municipality, by October 1, 2016, to
amend its local EMS plan to ensure that the EMS responder (e.g., EMS personnel or
resident state trooper) likely to be the first person to arrive on the scene of a
medical emergency is equipped with an opioid antagonist and has received
Department of Public Health-approved training in administering it (PA 16-43).
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PRESCRIPTION DRUG MONITORING PROGRAM (PDMP)

PA 06-155 requires DCP to establish an electronic PDMP to collect prescription
information from pharmacies on schedules II through V controlled substances to
prevent improper or illegal drug use or improper prescribing. The program
subsequently expanded by requiring prescription information reporting by (1) out-
of-state pharmacies that ship or deliver prescription drugs into Connecticut and (2)
any other drug dispensing practitioner, such as physicians, dentists, veterinarians,
podiatrists, and researchers (PA 13-172).

Generally, dispensers must report prescription information within one business day
to DCP, such as the dispensing date, dispenser identification and prescription
numbers, and patient identifying information. If the program is not operational, the
pharmacy or dispenser must report by the next business day after regaining
program access.

By law, before prescribing more than a 72-hour supply of a controlled substance,
the prescribing practitioner or his or her authorized agent must review the patient’s
records in the PDMP. The practitioner or agent must also periodically review a
patient’s records in the program when the practitioner prescribes controlled
substances for continuous or prolonged treatment.

Certain substances and dispensers are exempt from the program’s reporting
requirements, such as (1) controlled substances dispensed to hospital inpatients
and (2) institutional pharmacies operated by licensed health care institutions when
dispensing or administering opioid agonists to a patient to treat a substance use
disorder (CGS § 21a-254).

2016 legislation made various changes to the program, such as (1) expanding who

can serve as a prescriber's authorized agent, (2) modifying reporting deadlines, and
(3) decreasing required prescriber reviews for prolonged treatment with schedule V
nonnarcotic drugs (PA 16-43).

PRESCRIPTION DRUG RETURN PROGRAM

Legislation passed in 2014 requires DCP to consult with the Connecticut
Pharmacists Association and Connecticut Police Chiefs Association and implement a
program to collect and dispose of unwanted prescription drugs. The program (1)
provides a secure, locked box accessible to the public 24 hours a day to drop off
unwanted medication anonymously at local police stations and (2) transports the
medication to a biomedical waste treatment facility for incineration. According to
DCP’s website, 72 police departments currently participate in the program (PA 14-
217 codified at CGS § 21a-12f).

October 28, 2016 Page 4 of 6 2016-R-0143


http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2006&bill_num=155
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2013&bill_num=172
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_420b.htm#sec_21a-254
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2016&bill_num=43
http://www.ct.gov/dcp/cwp/view.asp?a=1620&q=501922
https://owa.cga.ct.gov/owa/redir.aspx?C=8IhcrinrRwMxw-kBMyDFWR0YEp0YYjlCHxjfIw0tmtp6XVFFo_3TCA..&URL=https%3a%2f%2fwww.cga.ct.gov%2fasp%2fcgabillstatus%2fcgabillstatus.asp%3fselBillType%3dPublic%2bAct%26which_year%3d2014%26bill_num%3d217
https://owa.cga.ct.gov/owa/redir.aspx?C=8IhcrinrRwMxw-kBMyDFWR0YEp0YYjlCHxjfIw0tmtp6XVFFo_3TCA..&URL=https%3a%2f%2fwww.cga.ct.gov%2fasp%2fcgabillstatus%2fcgabillstatus.asp%3fselBillType%3dPublic%2bAct%26which_year%3d2014%26bill_num%3d217
https://owa.cga.ct.gov/owa/redir.aspx?C=xS0xLF-n9L9zxu6fHTVQCNdcjn69mVwBkND1nIh1rrJ6XVFFo_3TCA..&URL=https%3a%2f%2fwww.cga.ct.gov%2fcurrent%2fpub%2fchap_416.htm%23sec_21a-12f

PRIOR AUTHORIZATION FOR OPIOID ANTAGONISTS

In 2016, the legislature enacted a law that prohibits certain health insurance
policies from requiring prior authorization coverage of opioid antagonists. The new
law takes effect January 1, 2017 and applies to individual and group health
insurance policies delivered, issued, renewed, amended, or continued in
Connecticut that cover (1) basic hospital expenses; (2) basic medical-surgical
expenses; (3) major medical expenses; (4) hospital or medical services, including
those provided under an HMO plan; or (5) single ancillary services (e.g.,
prescription drugs) (PA 16-43).

(Because of the federal Employee Retirement Income Security Act, state insurance
benefit mandates do not apply to self-insured benefit plans.)

SEVEN-DAY LIMIT ON OPIOID DRUG PRESCRIPTIONS

In 2016, the legislature passed a law that prohibits a prescribing practitioner
authorized to prescribe an opioid drug from issuing a prescription for more than a
seven-day supply to (1) a minor or (2) an adult for first-time outpatient use (PA
16-43).

When prescribing an opioid drug to a minor for less than seven days, the law
requires the practitioner to discuss with the (1) minor and (2) minor’s custodial
parent, guardian, or legal custodian, if present when the prescription is issued:

1. the associated risks of addiction and overdose;

2. the dangers of taking opioid drugs with alcohol, benzodiazepines, and other
central nervous system depressants; and

3. the reason why the prescription is necessary.

Exceptions

The law allows the practitioner to prescribe more than a seven-day supply of an
opioid drug to a minor or an adult for first time outpatient use if, in his or her
professional judgment, the drug is required to treat the person's acute medical
condition, chronic pain, cancer-associated pain, or for palliative care. The
practitioner must document the patient's condition in his or her medical record and
indicate that an alternative to the opioid drug was not appropriate to treat the
patient's condition.

The law, which took effect July 1, 2016, does not apply to medications to treat
opioid drug dependence or abuse, including opioid antagonists and agonists.
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WORKING GROUP ON OPIOID DRUG PRESCRIPTIONS

Legislation passed in 2016 requires the Public Health Committee chairpersons, by
October 1, 2016, to convene a working group to address the issuance of opioid
drug prescriptions by prescribing practitioners. (The working group has not yet
convened as of this report’s publication date.) The group is required to study
whether it is a best practice for prescribing practitioners to limit prescriptions to
minors to no more than a three-day supply to treat an acute medical condition. It
must report the study results to the Public Health Committee by February 1, 2017
(PA 16-43).

MISCELLANEOUS 2016 LEGISLATIVE CHANGES

PA 16-43 makes various changes to help prevent and treat opioid drug abuse,
including the following:

1. requiring the Alcohol and Drug Policy Council’s (ADPC) statewide plan for
substance abuse treatment and prevention to contain measureable goals,
including reducing the number of opioid-induced deaths in the state;

2. allowing non-council members to serve on ADPC subcommittees and working
groups, including licensed alcohol and drug counselors and pharmacists,
among others;

3. expanding the settings in which certain certified, unlicensed individuals may
practice auricular acupuncture to treat alcohol and drug abuse (they must do
so under a physician’s supervision);

4. specifying activities included in an alcohol and drug counselor’s scope of
practice, such as (a) developing an opioid use consultation report for review
by a person’s primary care provider and (b) conducting substance use
disorder screenings to document a person’s use of pain medications,
prescription drugs, illegal drugs, and alcohol; and

5. adding to the list of reasons the DCP commissioner may take disciplinary
action against a controlled substance registrant (a) failing to implement
administrative safeguards to protect electronic health information required by
HIPAA and (b) breaching these safeguards by a prescribing practitioner’s
authorized agent.

A complete summary of the legislation is available on OLR’s website.

ND:cmg

October 28, 2016 Page 6 of 6 2016-R-0143


http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2016&bill_num=43
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2016&bill_num=43
https://www.cga.ct.gov/olr/

