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STATE LAWS LIMITING PRESCRIPTION DRUG
COST SHARING

By: Janet Kaminski Leduc, Senior Legislative Attorney

ISSUE

Do any states limit the amount an insured person must pay toward prescription
drugs that are covered by a health insurance policy?

SUMMARY

At least six states limit an insured person’s prescription drug cost sharing (e.g.,
copayments and coinsurance): California, Delaware, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland,
and Vermont. (This information is based on a WestLaw search of state statutes and
information from the National Conference of State Legislatures.)

Four of these states (California, Delaware, Louisiana, and Maryland) limit the
amount an insured person must pay for a 30-day supply of a prescription drug. In
California, the cap applies to all prescription drugs, while in the other three, the cap
applies only to specialty-tier drugs, which typically are the highest-cost drugs.

Maine and Vermont impose an annual cap on the out-of-pocket expenses an
insured person must pay for prescription drugs.

Table 1 details the six states’ prescription drug cost-sharing limits.
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Table 1: State Laws Limiting Prescription Drug Cost Sharing

State and Applicability Cost-Sharing Limit
Citation
California Applies to non-grandfathered health [ Copayment, coinsurance, or any other form of cost
insurance policies and health care sharing (excluding deductible) for an outpatient
Cal. Ins. Code | service plan contracts offered, prescription drug cannot exceed $250 for a supply of up to
§§ 10123.193 | amended, or renewed on or after 30 days ($500 for a bronze level plan under the federal
& 1342.71 January 1, 2017 Affordable Care Act)
For high deductible health plans, a person must meet the
annual deductible before the prescription drug limit
applies
For a non-grandfathered individual or small group policy
or contract, the annual deductible for outpatient
prescription drugs cannot exceed twice the above limits
Delaware Applies to insurance policies that Copayment or coinsurance for a specialty-tier drug cannot
cover prescription drugs and use a exceed $150 per month for a supply of up to 30 days
Del. Code Ann. | specialty drug tier

tit. 18, §§ 3364
& 3580

Louisiana Applies to health benefit plans that Copayment or coinsurance for a specialty-tier drug cannot
cover prescription drugs and use a exceed $150 per month for a supply of up to 30 days
La. Rev. Stat. | specialty drug tier
Ann. § Limit applies after deductible is reached and until the out-
22:1060.5 of-pocket maximum is reached
Maine Applies to an insurance policy that The policy must contain a separate out-of-pocket
covers prescription drugs but does maximum for prescription drugs subject to coinsurance,
Me. Rev. Stat. | not include prescription drugs subject | under which a person’s out-of-pocket expenses for such
Ann. tit. 24-A, § | to a coinsurance under the policy’s drugs cannot exceed $3,500 annually
4317-A total out-of-pocket maximum
Maryland Applies to insurance policies, health [ Copayment or coinsurance for a specialty-tier drug cannot
service plans, and HMO contracts exceed $150 for a supply of up to 30 days (increases
Md. Code Ann., | that cover prescription drugs every July 1, indexed to inflation)
Ins. §§15-842
& 15-847 Copayment or coinsurance for a prescription drug cannot
exceed the retail price of the drug
Vermont Applies to health insurance policies | A person’s annual out-of-pocket expenditures for
and health benefit plans offered by a | prescription drugs cannot exceed the federal limits for
Vit. Stat. Ann., | health insurer or pharmacy benefit high deductible health plans (IRC § 223(c)(2)(A)(i))
tit. 8, § 4089i manager (currently $1,300 for self-only coverage and $2,600 for
family coverage)
For high deductible health plans, a person must meet the
annual deductible before the prescription drug limit
applies
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