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ANIMAL CONTROL OFFICERS 

  

By: Janet Kaminski Leduc, Senior Legislative Attorney 

 

 

ISSUES  

What are the education requirements for an 

animal control officer (ACO) in Connecticut? What 

duties does the law impose on ACOs? 

SUMMARY 

In Connecticut, no one may begin serving as a 

state, regional, or municipal ACO unless he or she 

(1) completes at least 80 hours of initial ACO 

training and receives a certificate of completion 

from the agriculture commissioner or (2) provides 

the commissioner an affidavit agreeing to 

complete the training within one year of starting 

as an ACO. 

The initial training requirement applies only to 

ACOs who begin serving in that role on or after 

July 1, 2012. People serving as ACOs before that 

date are not required to complete the initial ACO 

training. But by law, all ACOs (regardless of start 

date) must annually complete at least six hours of 

continuing education training (CGS § 22-328). 

Among other things allowed by law, ACOs may act to prevent acts of cruelty 

against animals, take into custody neglected or cruelly treated animals, and arrest 

people for violating any law relating to domestic animals (CGS §§ 22-329, 22-329a, 

& 22-330). Table 1 describes the ACO duties prescribed by law. 

ANIMAL CONTROL 

OFFICERS (ACOS) 

REQUIRED 

By law, the agriculture 

commissioner must appoint a 

chief state ACO, an assistant 

chief state ACO, up to 12 state 

ACOs, and as many regional 

ACOs and assistants as 

necessary to enforce relevant 

laws and regulations (CGS § 

22-328). 

Each municipality with more 

than 25,000 people must have 

a full-time municipal ACO. A 

municipality with fewer people 

must have a municipal ACO, 

but the ACO does not need to 

be full-time (CGS § 22-331). 

Two or more contiguous towns 

each with fewer than 25,000 

people may agree to be 

served by a regional ACO 
(CGS § 22-331a). 
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ACO TRAINING 

The law requires the agriculture commissioner to prescribe the ACO training 

standards and curriculum, which must include information about: 

1. animal identification; 

2. state laws governing animal control, protection, and cruelty; 

3. animal health and disease recognition, control, and prevention; 

4. the humane care and treatment of animals; 

5. animal care and control standards in an animal shelter; 

6. animal transportation standards and procedures; 

7. principles and procedures for capturing and handling stray domestic animals 

and wildlife, including how to deter an animal from biting; 

8. first aid for injured animals; 

9. documenting animal cruelty evidence and courtroom procedures; 

10.  animal shelter operations and administration; 

11.  animal spaying, neutering, microchipping, and adoption; 

12.  communications and public relations; 

13.  search warrants and affidavits; 

14.  ACO civil liability; 

15.  crisis intervention and officer safety; and 

16.  other topics related to animal control and animal shelter personnel (CGS § 

22-328(d)). 

Upon completing the training, a person must give the commissioner evidence of 

completing the program and the commissioner must issue the person a certificate 

of completion (CGS § 22-328(e)). 

In practice, the Department of Agriculture annually holds an ACO Training Academy 

that consists of 96 hours of instruction. 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_435.htm#sec_22-328
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_435.htm#sec_22-328
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_435.htm#sec_22-328
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ACO DUTIES 

Table 1 summarizes the responsibilities and authority granted to ACOs by state law. 

Table 1: ACO Duties 

Citation 
(CGS §) 

Summary 

22-329 ACOs may act to prevent cruelty against animals. 

22-329a ACOs may take physical custody of neglected or cruelly treated animals. 

22-329b ACOs must report suspected harmed, neglected, or cruelly treated animals to the agriculture 
commissioner within 48 hours. 

22-330 ACOs may arrest people for violating any law relating to dogs or other domestic animals. 

22-332 ACOs are responsible for enforcing chapter 435 of the general statutes (the laws on companion 
animals, kennels, and pet shops) and diligently investigating violations. 

ACOs may impound roaming dogs or any injured or mistreated dogs or other domestic animals. If an 
animal is not claimed, an ACO may have a veterinarian spay or neuter the animal and the ACO may sell 
an unclaimed animal as a pet. An ACO must have animals that remain unclaimed put down humanely. 

22-332a ACOs may not sell or give an unclaimed, impounded dog to an animal dealer. 

22-332d An ACO for a municipality that has adopted an ordinance about feral cats may impound cats causing an 
unsanitary, dangerous, or unreasonably offensive condition. If a cat is not claimed by its owner, the 
ACO may have a veterinarian spay or neuter the cat and the ACO may sell an unclaimed cat as a pet. 
An ACO must have a cat that remains unclaimed put down humanely.  

22-342(b) The chief state ACO or any state ACO may inspect dog kennel facilities. 

22-344c ACOs may inspect dog breeding facilities. 

22-349 Municipal and regional ACOs must annually make a diligent search for unlicensed dogs. 

22-358 ACOs may kill dogs pursuing or worrying domestic animals, poultry or deer. 

ACOs must investigate complaints of biting animals and have biting animals quarantined, restrained, or 
disposed of as necessary. 

22-359 ACOs may quarantine any animal suspected of being rabid.  ACOs may immediately kill any wild animal 
that appears rabid. 
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