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ISSUE  

This report compares state beverage container 

laws (i.e., bottle bills) based on the types of 

containers subject to the laws, required deposit 

amounts, and amount of any applicable handling 

fees. 

The report also summarizes legislation considered 

in Connecticut, since 2000, to change the amount 

of the state’s handling fee.  

SUMMARY 

As Attachment 1 shows, 10 states have bottle 

bills: California, Connecticut, Hawaii, Iowa, Maine, 

Massachusetts, Michigan, New York, Oregon, and 

Vermont.  

The types of beverage containers covered by a 

bottle bill varies by state, but may include 

containers for beer or other malt beverages, soft 

drinks, waters, or wine or liquor.  

The laws generally require a minimum refundable 

deposit on beverage containers to encourage 

recycling. The amounts vary depending on the 

state and type of beverage container involved, 

ranging from a low of 2 cents in Oregon for 

reusable containers to a high of 15 cents in Maine 

for wine or spirit containers. 

HOW CONNECTICUT’S 

BEVERAGE REDEMPTION 

LAW (BOTTLE BILL) 

OPERATES 

Connecticut’s bottle bill requires: 

  
1. a retailer to pay a 

beverage container 

distributor 5 cents for each 

container that the 

distributer delivers;  

2. a consumer to pay the 

retailer 5 cents for each 

beer or malt beverage, soft 

drink, or water container 

that he or she purchases;  

3. the retailer or a 

redemption center to pay 

the consumer 5 cents for 

each container the 

consumer returns;  

4. the distributor to 

reimburse the retailer or 

redemption center 5 cents 

for each container 

returned, plus a handling 

fee of either 1.5 or 2 cents 

depending on the type of 

container involved; and  

5. the distributor to pay the 

State of Connecticut the 5 

cents for each unclaimed 

deposit (CGS §§ 22a-243 

to 22a-246).  

 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/olr
mailto:olr@cga.ct.gov
http://olreporter.blogspot.com/
https://twitter.com/CT_OLR
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_446d.htm#sec_22a-243
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_446d.htm#sec_22a-243
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Most bottle bills also impose a handling fee, an amount paid to retailers or 

redemption centers for collecting, sorting, and packaging empty beverage 

containers to be taken back to the bottler or distributor. The fee is often paid by the 

bottler or distributor. (In California, the state pays the handling fee and it is used to 

subsidize recyclers in certain areas.) Two states, Michigan and Oregon, have no 

handling fee. Of the eight states with a handling fee, the per container fees range 

from a low of 1 cent in Iowa to a high of four cents in Hawaii, Maine, and Vermont 

for certain containers. There may be different handling fees within a state based on 

the type of container involved, the facility that receives the containers, or whether 

containers are commingled such as in Maine and Vermont. 

Connecticut’s handling fees are 1.5 cents for each beer or malt beverage container 

and 2 cents for all others (CGS § 22a-245). As Attachment 2 shows, since 2000 the 

legislature has considered seven bills to amend the handling fee amounts.  

The proposed changes often involved increasing one or both handling fees, 

although in 2008 the Environment Committee considered a proposal to eliminate 

the fee for beer and malt beverage containers and to reduce the fee for other 

containers. Most recently, the committee considered expanding the state’s bottle 

bill to include wine, sparkling wine, champagne, and liquor, coupled with a higher 

handling fee (5 cents) for these beverages’ containers.  

  

https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_446d.htm#sec_22a-243
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Attachment 1: State Bottle Bill Provisions on Beverage Containers Covered, Deposit Amounts, and Applicable Handling Fees 

State and Citation Beverage Containers Covered* Deposit Amount (per container)** Handling Fee Amount (per 

container)** 

California 

Cal. Pub. Res. Code §§ 14500 to 

14599 

 beer or other malt beverages, 

including wine or distilled spirit 

coolers 

 mineral water, soda water, or 

similar carbonated soft drinks 

 water, flavored water, and sports 

drinks 

 fruit juice drinks of less than 46 

ounces, carbonated fruit drinks, 

and vegetable juice of up to 16 

ounces 

 coffee and tea drinks 

 5 cents for containers of less than 

24 ounces 

 10 cents for containers of at least 

24 ounces 

1.046 cents 

Connecticut 

CGS §§ 22a-243 to 22a-246 

 beer or other malt beverages 

 mineral water, soda water, or 

similar carbonated soft drinks 

 water, including flavored or 

nutritionally enhanced water  

5 cents  1.5 cents for beer or malt 

beverage containers 

 2 cents for carbonated soft drink or 

water containers 

 

http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/.html/prc_table_of_contents.html
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/.html/prc_table_of_contents.html
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_446d.htm#sec_22a-243
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State and Citation Beverage Containers Covered* Deposit Amount (per container)** Handling Fee Amount (per 

container)** 

Hawaii 

Haw. Rev. Stat. §§ 342G-101 to 

342G-122 

 beer or other malt beverages 

 mixed wine or spirits 

 tea or coffee drinks 

 soda or juice 

 water 

5 cents 2 to 4 cents, depending on the 

location of the redemption center and 

the end use of the recycled containers 

Iowa 

Iowa Code §§ 455C.1 to 455C.17 

 alcoholic liquor, beer, and wine 

 mineral water, soda water, or 

similar carbonated soft drinks 

5 cents 1 cent 

Maine 

Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 38, §§ 3101 to 

3117 

 beer, ale, or other alcoholic malt 

beverages (explicitly includes wine 

coolers and hard cider) 

 wine and spirits over 50mL 

 all nonalcoholic carbonated or 

noncarbonated beverages, 

including soda or water, but not 

milks, dairy-derived products, or 

certain Maine-produced drinks 

 15 cents for wine or spirit 

containers  

 5 cents for all others  

 4 cents for brand-sorted returned 

containers 

 3.5 cents for returned containers 

that are part of a commingling 

agreement 

 

http://www.capitol.hawaii.gov/hrscurrent/Vol06_Ch0321-0344/HRS0342G/
http://www.capitol.hawaii.gov/hrscurrent/Vol06_Ch0321-0344/HRS0342G/
https://coolice.legis.iowa.gov/Cool-ICE/default.asp?category=billinfo&service=IowaCode&ga=83&input=455C
http://legislature.maine.gov/legis/statutes/38/title38ch33.pdf
http://legislature.maine.gov/legis/statutes/38/title38ch33.pdf
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State and Citation Beverage Containers Covered* Deposit Amount (per container)** Handling Fee Amount (per 

container)** 

Massachusetts 

Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 94, §§ 321 to 

327; 300 Mass. Code Regs. 4.00 

 beer or other malt beverages 

 mineral water, soda water, or 

similar carbonated soft drinks 

5 cents  1 cent for reusable containers 

returned to a bottler 

 2.25 cents for containers returned 

to a distributor 

 3.25 cents for containers returned 

to a redemption center 

Michigan 

Mich. Comp. Laws §§ 445.571 to 

445.576 

 beer, ale, or other alcoholic malt 

beverages 

 mixed wine or spirit drinks 

 nonalcoholic carbonated drinks 

such as soft drinks or soda or 

mineral water 

10 cents None 

New York 

N.Y. ENV Law §§ 27-1001 to 27-1019 

 beer or other malt beverages  

 wine products 

 carbonated soft drinks 

 water, including flavored or 

nutritionally enhanced water 

5 cents 3.5 cents 

https://malegislature.gov/Laws/GeneralLaws/PartI/TitleXV/Chapter94/Section321
https://malegislature.gov/Laws/GeneralLaws/PartI/TitleXV/Chapter94/Section321
http://www.mass.gov/eea/docs/dep/service/regulations/301cmr04.pdf
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(oc44tmacbdh23wnlrtrk1uab))/mileg.aspx?page=getObject&objectName=mcl-Initiated-Law-1-of-1976
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(oc44tmacbdh23wnlrtrk1uab))/mileg.aspx?page=getObject&objectName=mcl-Initiated-Law-1-of-1976
http://public.leginfo.state.ny.us/lawssrch.cgi?NVLWO:
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State and Citation Beverage Containers Covered* Deposit Amount (per container)** Handling Fee Amount (per 

container)** 

Oregon 

Or. Rev. Stat. §§ 459A.700 to 

459A.740 

 beer or other malt beverages 

 mineral water, soda water, or 

similar carbonated soft drinks 

 water, including flavored water 

 will cover all beverages except 

wine, liquor, milk, and formula by 

2018) 

 2 cents for certified reusable 

containers 

 5 cents for all others (may increase 

to 10 cents if certain collection 

targets are not met) 

None 

Vermont 

Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 10, §§ 1521 to 1529 

 beer or other malt beverages 

 mixed wine drinks 

 mineral water, soda water, or 

carbonated soft drinks 

 liquor 

 15 cents for liquor of at least 50mL 

 5 cents for other containers 

 4 cents for brand-sorted returned 

containers 

 3.5 cents for returned containers 

that are part of a commingling 

agreement 

*Some laws exclude certain types of containers or manufacturers from its requirements. Connecticut, for example, exempts (1) noncarbonated beverage containers of at least 
three liters in size; (2) beverage containers made from high density polyethylene (i.e., with an HDPE designation or #2 recycling symbol; (3) beverage containers sold on interstate 
passenger carriers (e.g., planes or trains); and (4) manufacturers that annually bottle and sell up to 250,000 noncarbonated beverage containers that are 20 ounces or less in 

size. 

**The laws often require the deposit amount or handling fee to be at least a certain amount per beverage container. The amounts listed in the table are the amounts that currently 
apply for each container.

https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors459A.html
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors459A.html
http://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/fullchapter/10/053
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Attachment 2: Connecticut Legislation to Amend the Bottle Bill’s Handling Fee, 2000 to Present 

Year Bill Number Description of Handling Fee Changes 

2001 HB 6956 
 increase, from 1.5 to 2 cents, the fee for beer or malt beverage containers, thus setting the 

fee for all containers at 2 cents 

2005 SB 871  increase the fee to 3 cents for all beverage containers 

2007 SB 1289 

 raised and substitute bill increased the fee for all beverage containers to 3 cents 

 subsequent amendment increased the fee to 3 cents for containers other than beer or malt 

beverage containers which retained the 1.5 cent fee 

2008 SB 357 

 raised bill eliminated the fee for beer or malt beverages containers and set it at 1.5 cents for 

all other containers 

 substitute bill increased, from 2 cents to 3 cents, the fee for containers other than beer or 

malt beverage containers 

2009 SB 661  increase fee to 3 cents for all beverage containers 

2009 SB 662  increase fee to 3 cents for all beverage containers 

2016 SB 384 
 set at 5 cents a fee for wine, sparkling wine, champagne, and liquor containers (bill would 

have expanded the law to include these beverage containers) 

 

KM:cmg 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2001&bill_num=6956
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2005&bill_num=871
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2007&bill_num=1289
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2008&bill_num=357
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2009&bill_num=661
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2009&bill_num=662
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2016&bill_num=384

