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ISSUE  

This report describes the main provisions of the paid family leave programs in 

California, New Jersey, and Rhode Island. 

SUMMARY 

Three states, California, New Jersey, and Rhode Island, have paid family leave 

programs that provide employees with limited wage replacement benefits when 

they miss work to provide care for their family members.  Among other things, all 

three programs: 

1. are administered through a state-run disability insurance program that pre-
dated the state’s paid family leave program; 

2. are funded entirely by employees through payroll deductions; and 

3. provide benefits to employees who are on leave to care for a (a) newborn 
baby, newly adopted child, or newly placed foster child or (b) seriously ill 

family member.   

Because all three paid family leave programs are administered through their state’s 

disability insurance program, employees in each state can also receive benefits if 

they must take leave for their own health conditions, including pregnancies, 

although they typically must be continuously and totally unable to perform their 

customary work in order to qualify.  Because these disability benefits are 

administered (and sometimes financed) separately, their provisions are not 

included in this report.  

The paid family leave programs generally require eligible employees to have a 

certain amount of earnings from which deductions to fund the benefits have been 

withheld over the base period or year preceding their leave.  Rhode Island’s 

requirement for $11,520 in earnings is the highest threshold, while California’s 
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$300 requirement is the lowest.  Maximum lengths of paid leave vary between six 

weeks in California and New Jersey and four weeks in Rhode Island.  Each state 

uses a different formula for determining an eligible employee’s weekly benefits and 

sets maximum benefit amounts.  Currently, California’s program offers the most 

generous maximum benefits with a $1,129 limit.  Weekly benefits are capped at 

$795 in Rhode Island and $615 in New Jersey.   

In California, employees contribute 0.9% of up to $106,742 of their wages to fund 

both the disability insurance and the paid family leave programs.  Employees in 

Rhode Island similarly contribute 1.2% from their first $64,200 in earnings to fund 

their state’s disability insurance and paid family leave programs.  In New Jersey, 

employees contribute 0.08% of their first $32,600 to fund the paid family leave 

program.  The state’s disability insurance program is funded through a separate 

assessment on both employees and employers.   

PAID FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE IN CALIFORNIA, NEW JERSEY, 
AND RHODE ISLAND 

Table 1 shows the main provisions of the paid family and medical leave programs in 

California, New Jersey, and Rhode Island. Because provisions regarding financial 

requirements, maximum benefit amounts, and taxable earnings may be subject to 

annual adjustments, the amounts shown are for claims filed as of February 1, 2016. 

Table 1: Paid Family and Medical Leave in California, New Jersey, and Rhode Island 

 California Disability 
Insurance Program 

(Cal. Unemp. Ins. Code §§ 
2601-3306) 

New Jersey Family Leave 
Insurance 

(N.J. Stat. Ann. §§ 43:21-37 
et. seq.) 

Rhode Island Temporary 
Caregiver Insurance 

(R.I. Gen. Laws § 28-41-34 
et. seq.) 

Employee eligibility 
requirements 

At least $300 of earnings 
from which deductions for 
the state’s disability 
insurance program were 
withheld during the base 
period 

 
 

Either at least (1) $168 in 
weekly covered earnings for 
20 calendar weeks or (2) 
$8,400 in earnings during the 
52 calendar weeks preceding 
the leave 

Workers must earn wages in 
Rhode Island and pay into 
the Temporary Caregiver 
Fund, and: 
(1) earn at least $11,520 in 
their base period or 
(2) (a) earn at least $1,920 in 
one of their base period 
quarters, (b) have total base 
period taxable wages that are 
at least 1.5 times greater than 
their highest quarter of 
earnings, and (c) have base 
period taxable wages of at 
least $3,840 

http://www.edd.ca.gov/disability/
http://www.edd.ca.gov/disability/
http://lwd.dol.state.nj.us/labor/fli/fliindex.html
http://lwd.dol.state.nj.us/labor/fli/fliindex.html
http://www.dlt.ri.gov/tdi/
http://www.dlt.ri.gov/tdi/
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Table 1 (continued) 

 

 California Disability 
Insurance Program 

(Cal. Unemp. Ins. Code §§ 
2601-3306) 

New Jersey Family Leave 
Insurance 

(N.J. Stat. Ann. §§ 43:21-37 
et. seq.) 

Rhode Island Temporary 
Caregiver Insurance 

(R.I. Gen. Laws § 28-41-34 
et. seq.) 

Covered employers  All private-sector employers 
 
Public sector employers of 
employees who pay into the 
program 

All private sector employers 
who are subject to the state’s 
unemployment compensation 
law 

All private-sector employers 
who are subject to the state’s 
unemployment compensation 
law (R.I. Gen. Laws § 28-39-
2) 
 
Optional for public sector 
employers (R.I. Gen. Laws § 
28-39-3.1) 
 

Allowed uses for paid 
family leave 

Care for a worker’s newborn, 
newly adopted, or newly 
placed child 
 
Care for a family member 
with a serious health 
condition 

 

Bond with a worker’s 
newborn, newly adopted, or 
newly placed child 
 
Care for a family member 
with a serious health 
condition 
 

Bond with a worker’s 
newborn, newly adopted, or 
newly placed child 
  
Care for a family member  
with a serious health 
condition 

Definition of “family 
member” 

The worker’s child, spouse, 
parent, parent-in-law, 
grandparent, grandchild, or 
sibling 

The worker’s spouse, 
domestic partner, civil union 
partner, parent, or child 

The worker’s child, parent, 
spouse, domestic partner, 
parent-in-law, or grandparent 

Definition of “serious 
health condition” 

An illness, injury, impairment, 
or physical or mental 
condition that involves 
inpatient care in a hospital, 
hospice, or residential 
medical care facility.  It 
includes any period of 
incapacity or any subsequent 
or continuing treatment 
connected with the inpatient 
care.  It does not include 
cosmetic treatments, 
common colds, influenza, 
earaches, upset stomachs, 
minor ulcers, or non-migraine 
headaches. 

An illness, injury, impairment, 
or physical or mental 
condition that requires 
inpatient care in a hospital, 
hospice, or residential 
medical care facility or 
continuing medical treatment 
or supervision by a health 
care provider (NJ Admin. 
Code § 43:21-27(s)) 

Any illness, injury, 
impairment, or physical or 
mental condition that involves 
inpatient care in a hospital, 
hospice, residential health 
care facility, or continued 
treatment or supervision by a 
licensed health care provider 
(R.I. Gen. Laws § 28-41-34) 

Maximum length of paid 
leave 

Six weeks for family care 
 
 

Six weeks for family care 
(may be reduced by up to 14 
days if employer requires use 
of paid time off) 

Four weeks for family care 

http://www.edd.ca.gov/disability/
http://www.edd.ca.gov/disability/
http://lwd.dol.state.nj.us/labor/fli/fliindex.html
http://lwd.dol.state.nj.us/labor/fli/fliindex.html
http://www.dlt.ri.gov/tdi/
http://www.dlt.ri.gov/tdi/
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE28/28-39/28-39-2.HTM
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE28/28-39/28-39-2.HTM
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE28/28-39/28-39-3.1.HTM
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE28/28-39/28-39-3.1.HTM
http://lwd.dol.state.nj.us/labor/forms_pdfs/tdi/Law.pdf
http://lwd.dol.state.nj.us/labor/forms_pdfs/tdi/Law.pdf
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE28/28-41/28-41-34.HTM
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Table 1 (continued) 

 

 California Disability 
Insurance Program 

(Cal. Unemp. Ins. Code §§ 
2601-3306) 

New Jersey Family Leave 
Insurance 

(N.J. Stat. Ann. §§ 43:21-37 
et. seq.) 

Rhode Island Temporary 
Caregiver Insurance 

(R.I. Gen. Laws § 28-41-34 
et. seq.) 

2016 weekly benefit 
amounts 

Generally, 55% of weekly 
salary 
 
 
 
Maximum benefit: $1,129 

Two-thirds of worker’s 
average weekly wage 
 
 
 
Maximum benefit: $615 

4.62% of the worker’s wages 
in the highest earning quarter 
of their base period 
 
 
Maximum benefit: $795 
 

2016 benefit funding 0.9% employee payroll 
contribution on up to 
$106,742 of an employee’s 
wages for disability insurance 
and paid family leave 
coverage  

0.08% employee payroll 
contribution from the first 
$32,600 of an employee’s 
annual covered wages 
(disability insurance is funded 
through a separate 
assessment on employers 
and employees) 

1.2% employee payroll 
contribution from the first 
$64,200 of an employee’s 
annual earnings for 
temporary disability insurance 
and temporary caregiver 
insurance 

 

HYPERLINKS 

State of California Employment Development Department, Disability Insurance and 

Paid Family Leave Benefits, http://www.edd.ca.gov/disability/, last visited February 

3, 2016.  

State of New Jersey, Department of Labor and Workforce Development, Family 

Leave Insurance, http://lwd.dol.state.nj.us/labor/fli/fliindex.html, last visited 

February 3, 2016. 

Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training, Temporary Disability 

Insurance/Temporary Caregiver Insurance, http://www.dlt.ri.gov/tdi/, last visited 

February 3, 2016. 

State of California Employment Development Department, State Disability 

Insurance Contribution Rates, 

http://www.edd.ca.gov/disability/sdi_contribution_rates.htm, last visited February 

3, 2016. 
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