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ISSUE  

Provide an (1) overview of state health provider taxes and fees and (2) explanation 

of Connecticut’s hospital tax and its relationship to hospital funding.   

SUMMARY 

Health provider taxes and fees are a mechanism states have used since the 1980s 

to help finance their Medicaid programs.  States impose the taxes and fees on 

hospitals and various other health providers and, subject to federal Medicaid law 

requirements, use the revenue to draw down additional federal funds.  In FY 13, all 

the states except Alaska levied one or more provider taxes or fees. 

Connecticut’s hospital tax is one of its three provider taxes and fees (the other two 

are resident user fees imposed on nursing homes and certain intermediate care 

facilities).  The legislature enacted the tax in 2011 as part of the state’s FY 12-13 

biennial budget that increased state payments to hospitals (PA 11-6, §§ 145-149).   

In FY 12, hospitals paid $349.3 million in taxes and the state appropriated $399.5 

million to hospitals in supplemental and other payments.  This resulted in an 

additional $199.8 million in federal matching funds and a $50.4 million net gain to 

hospitals. Since then, the state has reduced the amount of supplemental payments 

it makes to hospitals each year.  For FY 16, Connecticut hospitals expect to pay 

$556.2 million in provider taxes (before tax credits) and expect to receive $164.3 

million in regular supplemental payments and small hospital pool supplemental 

payments. 

In November 2015, the Connecticut Hospital Association petitioned the Department 

of Social Services (DSS) and Department of Revenue Services (DRS), seeking a 

declaratory ruling that the hospital tax is invalid on several grounds. The agencies 

are expected to rule on the petition later this year.   

http://www.cga.ct.gov/olr
mailto:olr@cga.ct.gov
http://olreporter.blogspot.com/
https://twitter.com/CT_OLR
http://cga.ct.gov/2011/ACT/PA/2011PA-00006-R00SB-01239-PA.htm
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STATE HEALTH PROVIDER TAXES AND FEES  

Medicaid Funding  

States tax hospitals, nursing homes, and other health care providers to obtain 

federal Medicaid funds, which reimburse them for a portion of the health care costs 

of elderly and low-income people and people with disabilities. The reimbursement 

(i.e., federal medical assistance percentage or FMAP) depends on a state’s per 

capita income, and thus varies from state to state. In FY 16, the FMAP ranges from 

50% to 74.17% (Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, FMAP for Medicaid and 

Multiplier). 

States initially obtained federal reimbursement by spending state and local general 

funds.  Under federal law, at least 40% of the state funds must come from state 

taxes, fees, and other sources, and up to 60% from local ones. In FY 12, 62.9% 

($113.2 billion) of the total nonfederal share came from state sales, corporate, and 

personal income taxes, 15.5% ($27.9 billion) from local governments, 10.4% 

($18.8 billion) from health provider taxes and fees, and 4.6% ($8.3 billion) from 

tobacco settlement and other funds (Government Accountability Office, Medicaid 

Financing: States’ Increased Reliance on Funds from Health Care Providers and 

Local Governments Warrants Improved CMS Data Collection, July 2014).   

Increasing Medicaid Matching Funds   

States began to tax health care providers in the mid-1980s to increase their 

Medicaid matching funds (Figure 1) and use the additional revenue to “increase 

payments to the taxed 

providers as a means of 

incentivizing them for 

providing care to the 

Medicaid population,” the 

Council of State Governments 

stated.  Consequently, “most, 

but not all, providers will 

receive more in increased 

Medicaid payments than they 

paid in taxes, depending 

upon the amount of Medicaid 

services provided” (Capitol 

Research, “Provider Taxes: A 

Revenue Source for Health 

Care,” June 2010).   

http://kff.org/medicaid/state-indicator/federal-matching-rate-and-multiplier/
http://kff.org/medicaid/state-indicator/federal-matching-rate-and-multiplier/
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States also use the revenue to expand their Medicaid programs. Some, like 

Colorado, use it to extend Medicaid coverage to parents and children, according to 

the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation (“Quick Take: Medicaid Provider Taxes and 

Federal Deficit Reduction Efforts,” January 10, 2013).  

“States were borrowing funds from Medicaid providers in order to draw down 

federal funds and increase Medicaid payment rates to providers that had paid taxes 

or donated funds,” stated Congressional Research Service (CRS) health care 

financing analyst Alison Mitchell (Medicaid Provider Taxes, CRS, March 15, 2012).  

Unlike other taxes, “provider tax mechanisms were politically viable for the states.” 

But they also “became a point of contention between the federal government and 

the states.” In 1991, Congress capped the amount of revenue states could draw 

from provider taxes to 25% of a state’s Medicaid share and prohibited them from 

guaranteeing providers that they would receive their tax and fee payments back.  

Congress also specified classes of providers states could tax, as shown in Table 1; 

prohibited them from imposing the tax on some class members and not others; and 

required states to tax all class members at the same rate. 

Table 1: Health Provider Classes States May Tax for Medicaid Reimbursement 

Inpatient hospital services 

Outpatient hospital services 

Nursing facility services 

Services of intermediate care for 

people with intellectual disability 

Physician services 

Home health care services 

Outpatient prescription drugs 

Services of Medicaid managed care 

organizations  

Ambulatory surgical centers  

Dental services 

Podiatric services 

Chiropractic services 

Optometric and optician services 

Psychological services 

Therapist services 

Nursing services 

Laboratory and x-ray services 

Source: Alison Mitchell, Medicaid Provider Taxes, CRS, March 15, 2012 

Congress allowed the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), which 

oversees the Medicaid program, to waive these rules if the: 

1. tax would generate proportionately more revenue from providers who serve 
relatively more Medicaid patients than those who do not and  

2. amount of revenue it generates does not directly correlate with the Medicaid 
payments.  

http://kff.org/medicaid/fact-sheet/medicaid-provider-taxes-and-federal-deficit-reduction-efforts-2/
http://kff.org/medicaid/fact-sheet/medicaid-provider-taxes-and-federal-deficit-reduction-efforts-2/
http://www.strategichealthcare.net/pdfs/45121463d.pdf
http://www.strategichealthcare.net/pdfs/45121463d.pdf
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States Levying Provider Taxes and Fees  

As Figure 2 shows, in FY 13, the District of Columbia and all the states except 

Alaska levied one or more provider taxes.  The District of Columbia and 13 states 

including Maine, New Jersey, New York, and Vermont levied four or more taxes; 18, 

including Connecticut and Rhode Island, levied three; 12, including Massachusetts 

and New Hampshire, levied two; and six levied one.  

Figure 2: Number of Provider Taxes by State, FY 13 

Source: Kaiser Foundation, Quick Take: Medicaid Provider Taxes and Federal Deficit, January 10, 2013 

As Table 2 shows, most states tax nursing homes (44), hospitals (39), and 

intermediate care facilities for people with intellectual disabilities (36).  Nine tax 

Medicaid managed care organizations.

http://kff.org/medicaid/fact-sheet/medicaid-provider-taxes-and-federal-deficit-reduction-efforts-2/
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Table 2: State Health Care Provider Taxes and Fees by Provider Type 

 
State 

Provider Types 

Hospitals ICF-IDs* Nursing Facilities 
Medicaid Managed Care  

Organizations 
Other 

Alabama X  X  X 

Alaska       

Arizona   X X  

Arkansas X X X   

California  X X X   

Colorado X  X   

Connecticut X X X   

Delaware   X   

District of Columbia  X X X X  

Florida X X X   

Georgia X X X   

Hawaii X  X   

Idaho X X X   

Illinois X X X   

Indiana X X X   

Iowa X X X   

Kansas X  X   

Kentucky X X X  X 

Louisiana  X X  X 

Maine X X X  X 

Maryland X X X X  

Massachusetts  X  X   

Michigan  X  X   

Minnesota  X X X X X 

Mississippi X X X  X 

Missouri X X X  X 

Montana X X X   

Nebraska   X X   

Nevada   X   

New Hampshire  X  X   

New Jersey  X X X X X 

New Mexico    X  

New York X X X  X 

North Carolina X X X   

North Dakota  X    

Ohio X X X   

Oklahoma X X X   

Oregon X  X   

Pennsylvania X X X  X 

Rhode Island  X  X X  

South Carolina  X X    

South Dakota  X    

Tennessee X X X X  

Texas  X  X  

Utah X X X   

Vermont X X X  X 

Virginia  X    

Washington  X X X   

West Virginia X X X  X 

Wisconsin X X X  X 

Wyoming   X   
Note: * Intermediate Care Facilities for Persons with Intellectual Disabilities 
Source: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation 

https://kaiserfamilyfoundation.files.wordpress.com/2013/02/table-1.pdf
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CONNECTICUT’S HOSPITAL TAX 

Connecticut’s hospital tax applies to most health care facilities and institutions 

licensed by the Department of Public Health as short-term general hospitals (CGS 

§§ 12-263a to 12-263e).  The legislature enacted the tax in 2011 as part of the 

state’s FY 12-13 biennial budget (PA 11-6, §§ 145-149).  The tax replaced the 

state’s defunct hospital gross earnings tax that was first instituted in 1994 and 

eliminated in 2000.   

Tax Rate and Base 

The tax is based on a hospital’s net patient revenue (defined as the amount of 

accrued payments a hospital earned for providing inpatient and outpatient 

services). The law allows the tax rate to be set up to the maximum allowed by 

federal law (6% as of October 1, 2011).  

The rate is currently set at 6% of all net patient revenues. Prior to July 1, 2015, the 

tax rates were 5.5% of inpatient revenues and 3.83% of outpatient revenues. DSS 

sets the rate.  By law, the DSS commissioner must determine the base year on 

which the tax will be assessed. Effective July 1, 2015, the base year for determining 

the tax was updated from 2009 to 2013 net patient revenues.  

Hospitals Subject to the Tax 

The tax applies to all short-term general hospitals except the Connecticut Children’s 

Medical Center and John Dempsey Hospital. In addition to these two statutory 

exemptions, the law allows the DSS commissioner, in consultation with the Office of 

Policy and Management secretary and in accordance with federal law, to exempt 

hospitals from the outpatient revenue portion of the tax due to financial hardship. 

Currently, two hospitals are exempt from this portion of the tax – Milford Hospital 

and Windham Community Memorial Hospital. 

Administration 

Hospitals must file their hospital tax returns and pay the tax quarterly to DRS.  Late 

filers are subject to a penalty of 10% of the tax due or $50, whichever is greater, 

plus interest of 1% per month. 

Hospitals can reduce their tax liability by applying tax credits, up to a specified 

limit. (Urban and Industrial Sites Reinvestment tax credits are currently the only 

tax credits that may be used against the hospital tax.)  The reduction was limited to 

50.01% of hospital tax liability for the 2015 income year.  It increased to 55% for 

the 2016 income year and increases by 5% each year until it reaches 70% in 2019. 

http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_211a.htm
http://cga.ct.gov/2011/ACT/PA/2011PA-00006-R00SB-01239-PA.htm


 

February 29, 2016 Page 7 of 10 2016-R-0027 
  

Revenue 

Table 3 shows the amount of hospital tax revenue the state collected from FYs 12 

through 15.    

Table 3: Hospital Tax Revenue, FYs 12-15 

FY Revenue 

12 $349,277,587 

13 347,294,200 

14 321,208,807 

15 300,060,728 

Source: DRS annual reports 

Challenge to the Tax 

On November 30, 2015, the Connecticut Hospital Association and several of its 

members submitted petitions to DSS and DRS seeking a declaratory ruling that the 

hospital tax is invalid. The petitions asked for a ruling as to whether (1) the 

legislature unconstitutionally delegated to DSS the setting of the tax rate and base 

year, (2) the tax violates the equal protection clause of the federal constitution, and 

(3) DSS’s implementation and administration of the tax is invalid under specified 

laws. 

On January 29, 2016, DSS and DRS issued a letter to the petitioners, setting a 

proposed schedule of proceedings and requesting the petitioners to consent to an 

extension for a ruling until November 30, 2016. The letter states that if the 

petitioners do not consent to the extension, the agencies will issue their ruling by 

May 28, 2016.      

CONNECTICUT’S PROVIDER FEES 

In addition to the hospital tax, Connecticut imposes provider fees on nursing homes 

and intermediate care facilities for people with intellectual disabilities (ICF-IDs).  

The legislature established the nursing home fee in 2005 as part of the FY 06-07 

budget act that also increased the Medicaid rates the state pays to nursing homes, 

ICF-IDs, and various other health care providers, contingent on the fee’s 

implementation and the availability of federal Medicaid matching funds (PA 05-

251).  It established the ICF-ID fee in 2011 as part of the budget act that also 

established the hospital tax (PA 11-6).   

http://cga.ct.gov/2005/ACT/PA/2005PA-00251-R00HB-06940-PA.htm
http://cga.ct.gov/2005/ACT/PA/2005PA-00251-R00HB-06940-PA.htm
http://cga.ct.gov/2011/ACT/PA/2011PA-00006-R00SB-01239-PA.htm
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The fees are resident user fees, calculated based on a rate DSS sets annually or 

biennially up to the maximum allowed by federal law.  Nursing homes and 

intermediate care facilities remit the fees quarterly to DRS (CGS §§ 17b-320 to 

17b-324 and 17b-340a to 17b-340b).   

HOSPITAL FUNDING 

When Connecticut began taxing hospitals in FY 12, it also provided them with 

supplemental payments, which, in the first year, exceeded the amount of the tax in 

the aggregate (see Connecticut State Budget FY 12 & FY 13 Biennium, p. 60). Since 

then, the amount of supplemental payments has declined.  In 2015, the legislature 

created a small hospital pool distribution to provide additional payments to six 

hospitals.  Below, we describe these payments and the federal requirements the 

state must meet in making them. 

Hospital Taxes and Payments for Connecticut Hospitals 

For FY 16, Connecticut hospitals expect to pay $556,242,279 in provider taxes and 

expect to receive (1) $150,210,909 in regular supplemental payments and (2) 

$14,100,002 in small hospital pool supplemental payments. Table 4 shows the 

distribution of provider taxes and payments and their net impact by hospital. 

Table 4: Expected FY 16 Hospital Provider Taxes and Supplemental Payments 
 

Hospital 

FY 16 
Estimated 

Provider Tax 
to be paid by 

Hospitals 

Supplemental 
Payments to 

Hospitals 

Small 
Hospital 

Pool 
Distribution 

FY 16 
Estimated 
Combined 
Payments 

to Hospitals 

FY 16 Net 
Impact to 
Hospitals 

BACKUS   ($16,498,739) $3,971,852  $0  $3,971,852  ($12,526,886) 

BRIDGEPORT   (25,801,946) 15,098,085  0  15,098,085  (10,703,861) 

BRISTOL   (7,577,413) 2,276,805  2,917,675  5,194,480  (2,382,932) 

CT CHILDRENS  0  0  0  0  0  

DANBURY / NEW MILFORD  (35,075,330) 6,201,889  0  6,201,889  (28,873,441) 

DAY KIMBALL   (6,236,120) 1,630,421  2,777,203  4,407,624  (1,828,496) 

DEMPSEY   0  0  0  0  0  

GREENWICH  (19,470,014) 850,626  0  850,626  (18,619,388) 

GRIFFIN   (7,585,885) 1,404,745  3,315,317  4,720,063  (2,865,822) 

HARTFORD   (56,389,526) 16,948,293  0  16,948,293  (39,441,233) 

HOSP. CENTRAL CT  (21,662,085) 8,006,928  0  8,006,928  (13,655,157) 

HUNGERFORD   (7,050,959) 1,710,151  2,051,467  3,761,618  (3,289,341) 

JOHNSON  (3,458,624) 654,000  2,301,469  2,955,469  (503,155) 

LAWRENCE & MEM  (18,206,811) 5,418,841  0  5,418,841  (12,787,970) 

MANCHESTER  (10,372,141) 3,898,349  0  3,898,349  (6,473,792) 

http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_319x.htm
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_319x.htm
http://cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_319y.htm#sec_17b-340a
https://www.cga.ct.gov/ofa/Documents/year/BB/2012BB-20110916_FY%2012%20and%20FY%2013%20-%20Connecticut%20Budget%20-%20Part%20II.pdf
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Hospital 

FY 16 Estimated 
Provider Tax to 

be paid by 
Hospitals 

Supplemental 
Payments to 

Hospitals 

Small 
Hospital 

Pool 
Distribution 

FY 16 
Estimated 
Combined 

Payments to 
Hospitals 

FY 16 Net 
Impact to 
Hospitals 

MIDDLESEX   (21,101,283) 3,228,841  0  3,228,841  (17,872,442) 

MIDSTATE   (13,492,924) 4,690,702  0  4,690,702  (8,802,223) 

MILFORD   (2,059,239) 396,174  736,870  1,133,044  (926,196) 

NORWALK   (20,159,380) 5,260,188  0  5,260,188  (14,899,192) 

ROCKVILLE  (4,203,327) 730,861  0  730,861  (3,472,466) 

ST FRANCIS  (39,500,666) 16,948,293  0  16,948,293  (22,552,372) 

ST MARYS   (12,698,985) 7,348,197  0  7,348,197  (5,350,788) 

ST VINCENTS  (24,312,732) 11,531,832  0  11,531,832  (12,780,900) 

SHARON   (3,158,481) 277,801  0  277,801  (2,880,680) 

STAMFORD   (28,685,948) 6,445,404  0  6,445,404  (22,240,544) 

WATERBURY   (12,424,863) 6,940,660  0  6,940,660  (5,484,203) 

WINDHAM  (2,174,287) 1,392,679  0  1,392,679  (781,608) 

YALE / ST RAPHAEL  (136,884,572) 16,948,293  0  16,948,293  (119,936,279) 

            

TOTAL  ($556,242,279) $150,210,909  $14,100,002  $164,310,911  ($391,931,367) 

Source: Office of Fiscal Analysis 

Federal Law on Supplemental Payments 

Federal Medicaid law requires states to reimburse health care providers at a rate 

that ensures efficiency and economy (42 U.S.C. § 1396a(30)(A)). While states have 

some discretion in how they construct their payments, the Upper Payment Limit 

(UPL), as specified in federal regulations, limits payments to hospitals and certain 

other institutional providers by prohibiting federal matching funds for payments in 

excess of a total based on what Medicare would pay for comparable services. 

Because the regulations allow federal matching payments up to the UPL, some 

states make supplemental payments to hospitals based on the difference between 

the state’s regular Medicaid payments for hospital services and the UPL. In other 

words, states are able to make supplemental payments to hospitals because their 

regular Medicaid payments, in aggregate, are less than the UPL.  

States have some discretion over how they distribute supplemental payments to 

individual facilities. They may use supplemental payments, and receive matching 

federal funds, to offset provider taxes or compensate for budget-driven cuts to base 

payment rates. When combined with a provider tax, the supplemental payments 

must be redistributive in order to receive federal matching funds (i.e., a hospital 

cannot generally receive in payments what it paid in provider taxes) (42 C.F.R. 

433.74). According to the Medicaid and CHIP Payment and Access Commission 

https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/USCODE-2013-title42/pdf/USCODE-2013-title42-chap7-subchapXIX-sec1396a.pdf
https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/CFR-2011-title42-vol4/pdf/CFR-2011-title42-vol4-sec433-68.pdf
https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/CFR-2011-title42-vol4/pdf/CFR-2011-title42-vol4-sec433-68.pdf
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(MACPAC), in 2014, this type of supplemental payment accounted for more than 

20% of total Medicaid fee-for-service hospital payments nationally and over 50% in 

some states. 

The amount of the federal match for supplemental payments is a blended rate, 

generally between the state’s regular FMAP and an enhanced FMAP for certain 

payments under the federal Affordable Care Act. Connecticut’s regular FMAP is 50% 

and the enhanced FMAP under the Affordable Care Act can be up to 100%, but will 

decline to 90% by 2020. Connecticut’s blended rate for supplemental payments in 

FY 16 is approximately 66% (e.g., if a hospital receives $1,000,000 in supplemental 

payments, the federal government pays roughly $660,000 (66%), while the cost to 

the state is $340,000 (34%)). 

Connecticut’s State Plan Amendments for Supplemental Payments 

Generally, states must specify how they intend to distribute supplemental payments 

through amendments to their state Medicaid plans. The state plan amendments 

(SPAs) must be submitted to the federal CMS for approval. Though states can 

distribute payments before SPAs are approved, if CMS does not approve a SPA, the 

state must make corrective payments.  

To implement its supplemental payments to hospitals for the latter half of FY 16, 

DSS submitted a SPA establishing the distribution of payments. According to the 

SPA, most short-term general hospitals are eligible for payments. Each hospital’s 

share of the supplemental pool is that hospital’s proportional share of the total 

Medicaid inpatient revenues of all eligible hospitals in the aggregate. Medicaid 

inpatient revenues are payments for Medicaid inpatient hospital services provided in 

federal FY 13 to each hospital up to $50 million per year per hospital (no hospital is 

expected to receive the maximum). 

PA 15-5, June Special Session, § 382 allows the DSS commissioner, within available 

appropriations, to establish another inpatient pool for certain hospitals (i.e., the 

small hospital pool). Under the SPA submitted by DSS, hospitals eligible for these 

payments are short-term general acute care hospitals that (1) have no more than 

180 licensed beds and (2) are not merged or affiliated with any other hospital. Each 

eligible hospital’s share of this small hospital pool is the hospital’s proportional 

share of total Medicaid inpatient revenues of all eligible hospitals in aggregate for 

federal FY 14. According to the SPA, DSS will reevaluate eligibility for payments 

quarterly. Hospitals become ineligible if they merge or affiliate with other hospitals 

or if they increase their licensed beds over 180. If a hospital becomes ineligible, its 

allocated funds lapse and are not distributed to any other hospitals.  

RP:cmg 

http://www.ct.gov/dss/lib/dss/pdfs/ratesetting/mhs/spa16013.pdf
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/CGAbillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=1502&which_year=2015
http://www.ct.gov/dss/lib/dss/pdfs/spa15-042.pdf

