Office of Legislative

Research
Research iG] lelys

February 3, 2016

2016-R-0022

CONNECTICUT TEENAGE SEXTING LAW

By: Marybeth Sullivan, Associate Legislative Analyst

Shannon King, Legislative Research Intern

RELEVANT DEFINITIONS
Child Pornography

By law, “child pornography" is
any visual depiction of
sexually explicit conduct
involving a person younger
than age 16. It may include a
photograph, film, videotape,
or picture, whether made or
produced by electronic, digital,
mechanical, or other method
(CGS § 53a-193(13)).

Electronic Communication
Device

An "electronic communication
device" is any electronic
device that can transmit a
visual depiction, including a
computer, computer network,
computer system, or cellular
phone (CGS § 53a-196h(b)).

ISSUE

Does Connecticut have a law about teenagers who
send sexually explicit images via an electronic device
(i.e., "sext")? Are there any legal repercussions for
teenagers who are caught "sexting"?

SUMMARY

Connecticut has a law that makes sexting between
certain teenagers a crime. This law addresses sexting
between senders of child pornography, ages 13 to 15
years old, and recipients, ages 13 to 17 years old
(CGS § 53a-196h).

The sexting law does not address situations in which
the (1) image transmitted from the sender to the
recipient is subsequently sent by the recipient to a
larger audience or (2) sender or recipient's age is
outside of the ranges provided above. Depending on
the circumstances, these situations may fall under the
adult child pornography laws, which are felony crimes.

TEENAGE SEXTING LAW

Connecticut law punishes both the teenage sender of a "sext" for electronically
transmitting child pornography and the receiver for possessing it.

A teenager breaks this law if he or she is (1) age 13 to 15 and knowingly and
voluntarily sends an image of him or herself that is considered child pornography
using an electronic communication device or (2) age 13 to 17 and knowingly

possesses this image.
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LEGAL REPERCUSSIONS FOR VIOLATING CGS § 53A-196H

Violation of the teenage sexting law is a class A misdemeanor, ordinarily punishable
by up to one year in prison, a fine of up to $2,000, or both. Teenage violators,
however, are generally prosecuted through the juvenile justice system, thus
receiving punishments appropriate for juvenile delinquents. This may include,
among other things, a warning, fine, probation, or commitment to Department of
Children and Families custody for up to 18 months with a possible extension.
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