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Good afternoon Senator Gomes, Representative Tercyak and members of the 
committee. I am a graduate student interning at CT Coalition Against Domestic 
Violence (CCADV), which is the state’s leading voice for victims of domestic 
violence and those agencies that serve them. Our members provide essential 
services to over 40,000 victims of domestic violence each year. Services provided 
include 24-hour crisis response, emergency shelter, safety planning, counseling, 
support groups and court advocacy. 
 

We urge your support of SB 221. 
 

CCADV is a member of the CT Campaign for Paid Family Leave, a group of diverse 
advocates who represent the needs of working families that have come together to 
explore how Connecticut can provide relief when an employee needs to take time to 
deal with illness or to care for a newborn. We support this effort to establish a paid 
family and medical leave system in the state.   
 

Despite research showing that the benefits of a paid family leave system include a 
stronger work force, positive changes in wages, and lower use of public assistance, 
the U.S. is one of few developed countries without such a system. Although the 
FMLA requires that companies with more than 50 employees provide unpaid leave 
to eligible employees, most (78%) of the workers who are eligible for this type of 
leave don’t use it because they can’t afford to lose pay. Of course, employers can 
currently choose to provide paid leave at a cost to themselves; only 16% of 
employers in Connecticut do so. 
 

The system that’s being suggested would be fully funded by employees with no 
employer contribution. According to The Institute for Women’s Policy Research, the 
cost to Connecticut employees would be very low at just about one half of one 
percent of someone’s income. 
 

Connecticut does have explicit leave from employment for victims of family violence 
(CGS § 31-51ss). Under that statute, victims can take paid leave if it is offered by 
their employer and they have time accrued; if employers do not offer paid leave, 
they are required to allow victims 12 days of unpaid leave. However, this time may 
not be sufficient for an employee to address his or her own serious health condition 
resulting from domestic violence, or to care for a qualifying family member with a 
serious health condition that resulted from domestic violence. Allowing people to 
care for a family member who has experienced this can be a critical piece of 
stabilization for the victim. Having access to a form of paid leave would be beneficial 
to many victims of domestic violence across the state.  
 

Connecticut is a leader on family-friendly workplace policies, which in turn attract 
quality workers to the state. This investment in worker’s health and well-being has 
been proven to increase worker productivity and commitment. We urge your support 
of this measure and the protections that it will provide to working Connecticut families. 
 

Liza Andrews 
Director of Public Policy & Communications, 
landrews@ctcadv.org  
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