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Testimony	Before	the	Labor	&	Public	Employees	Committee	
February	16,	2016	

SB	39	AN	ACT	CONCERNING	THE	MINIMUM	FAIR	WAGE	AND	EMPLOYEES	WHO	CUSTOMARILY	AND	REGULARLY	
RECEIVE	GRATUITIES		

The	Connecticut	Restaurant	Association	represents	over	600	restaurants	and	affiliated	businesses	across	the	state.		
Our	members	range	from	quick	serve	to	casual	to	fine	dining	establishments.		The	Connecticut	hospitality	industry	
employs	an	estimated	145,000	people,	making	up	9%	of	our	states’	workforce.		Restaurants	are	a	driving	force	in	the	
state’s	economy	and	generate	tremendous	tax	revenue.				The	CRA	opposes	SB	39,	AAC	The	Minimum	Fair	Wage	and	
Employees	Who	Customarily	and	Regularly	Receive	Gratuities.	

Congress	has	for	decades	defined	“wages”	under	Section	2013(m)	of	the	Fair	Labor	Standards	Act	(FLSA)	to	include	
not	just	cash,	but	certain	other	credits	and	benefits	that	employees	receive	as	a	result	of	their	employment,	including	
tip	income.		Tip-earning	employees	can	be	among	the	industry’s	higher-earning	employees,	earning	a	median	of	$12	
to	$17	an	hour	in	tips,	according	to	recent	National	Restaurant	Association	research.		Employees	and	employers	pay	
taxes	on	those	tipped	wages.		That’s	why	section	203(m)	of	the	FSLA	lets	employers	apply	a	limited	portion	of	the	tip	
earnings	employees	receive	because	of	their	employment	towards	the	employer’s	obligation	to	pay	tipped	
employees	the	minimum	wage.		This	is	called	taking	a	“tip	credit.”		Employers	may	take	a	tip	credit	only	under	strict	
conditions.	

Connecticut	law	currently	permits	employers	to	pay	a	tipped	employee	a	minimum	cash	wage	of	at	least	$6.06	an	
hour	and	take	a	tip	credit	of	up	to	$3.54	an	hour	(i.e.,	the	difference	between	the	$9.60	minimum	wage	and	the	
$56.06	cash	wage.)		If	an	employee’s	tips	fall	below	the	maximum	possible	tip	credit-	the	employer	is	responsible	for	
making	up	the	difference	by	paying	any	additional	cash	wages	needed	to	bring	the	employee	up	to	the	required	
minimum	wage.		Thus,	a	tipped	employee	will	never	be	paid	below	the	minimum	wage.	

In	addition	to	being	poor	policy,	passing	a	bill	eliminating	the	tip	credit	in	Connecticut	could	actually	have	damaging	
financial	consequences	for	servers	and	bartenders,	the	precise	opposite	of	what	proponents	of	the	bill	claim	it	will	
accomplish.	

Restaurant	 patrons	 are	 not	 required	 to	 tip.	 	 Similarly,	 there	 is	 no	 requirement	 for	 a	 restaurant	 to	 allow	 tipping.		
Restaurants	are	free	to	adopt	no	tipping	policies	and	assess	a	service	charge	on	patrons	at	whatever	percentages	and	
on	whatever	terms	they	choose.			

A	service	charge	is	not	a	gratuity	or	tip	under	the	law,	because	it	is	not	voluntarily	contributed	directly	from	a	patron	
to	an	employee	for	service	rendered.		Rather,	it	is	a	mandatory	charge	assessed	by	the	restaurant.		As	such,	servers,	
bartenders	and	other	employees	do	not	have	any	entitlement	to	a	service	charge.		The	service	charge	belongs	to	the	
house,	and	the	house	can	keep	it	or	decide	to	distribute	all	or	part	of	it	to	employees	in	whatever	manner	it	chooses.			

For	instance,	a	restaurant	may	decide	to	distribute	the	service	charge	proportionally	to	all	employees	on	a	given	shift.		
Alternatively,	a	restaurant	may	decide	to	distribute	the	service	charge	to	only	back	of	the	house	employees.	 	Or,	a	
restaurant	may	simply	decide	 to	keep	the	service	charge	and	use	 it	 to	offset	 the	substantial	 increase	 to	 its	payroll	
costs	resulting	from	elimination	of	the	tip	credit.				



Restaurants	 faced	with	potentially	crippling	 increases	 to	 their	overhead	resulting	 from	elimination	of	 the	tip	credit	
will	likely	make	the	transition	to	service	charges.		The	net	result	of	this	switch	is	that	servers	and	bartenders	will	likely	
suffer	a	substantial	decrease	in	earnings	–	a	classic	unintended	consequence.	 							

Connecticut’s	current	minimum	($9.60)	and	tipped	($6.06)	wages	are	amongst	the	highest	in	the	country.		These	
wages	are	scheduled	to	increase	again	on	1/1/17	to	$10.10	and	$6.38	respectively.		

TIPPED	EMPLOYEES’	WAGES:	MYTHS	&	FACTS	

Myth	#1:	Tipped	Employees	are	Paid	a	“Subminimum	Wage”	of	$6.06	an	Hour.	

FACT:	There	is	no	subminimum	wage.		The	minimum	wage	for	tipped	employees	is	the	exact	same	as	the	minimum	
wage	for	every	other	employee	in	Connecticut:	$9.60.		The	employer	must	ensure	that	the	tipped	employee	earns	at	
least	$9.60	an	hour,	between	the	employee’s	tip	earnings	and	the	employer-paid	cash	wage.		It	is	not	legal	for	any	
employee	to	earn	only	$6.06	per	hour.	

Myth	#2:	Customers	are	Subsidizing	Restaurant	Employees’	Wages.		

Fact:	Restaurant	employers	invest	in	their	businesses	to	provide	the	conditions	that	enable	employees	to	earn	tips.		
The	tip	credit	system	was	created	and	its	safeguards	put	in	place	decades	ago	because	lawmakers	recognized	that	
tipped	employees	receive	tips	due	to	the	jobs	their	employers	provide	for	them.		Tipped	employees	receive	
additional	wages	in	the	form	of	tips	given	to	them	by	their	employers’	guests.		This	money	is	NOT	given	to	other	
employees.		That’s	why	the	law	treats	tipped	and	non-tipped	employees	differently	for	wage	purposes.	

Myth	#3:	Tipped	Employees	Earn	Poverty-Level	Wages.	

Fact:	Most	tipped	employees	are	far	from	minimum-wage	earners.		Server	positions	in	restaurants	provide	
opportunity,	flexibility	and,	often,	very	competitive	pay.		Recent	National	Restaurant	Association	research	shows	that	
on	a	national	level,	restaurant	servers	earn	a	median	hourly	wage	of	between	$16	and	$22,	counting	both	tips	and	
employer-paid	cash	wages.		Looking	at	tip	income	alone,	entry-level	servers	earn	a	median	of	$12	an	hour	in	tips,	
with	more	experienced	servers	earning	a	median	of	$17	an	hour	in	tips,	according	to	the	research.		NOTE:	These	
figures	represent	overall	averages;	the	hourly	earnings	of	servers	vary	significantly	based	on	the	type	of	
establishment	and	the	average	per-person	check	size.	

Myth	#4:	Employers	Abuse	Wage-And-Hour	Rules	When	They	Pay	Tipped	Employees	

Fact:	Employers	risk	costly	wage-and-hour	lawsuits,	significant	back-pay	requirements	and	stiff	penalties	if	they	
take	a	tip	credit	without	meeting	all	the	legal	requirements	for	doing	so.		There	will	always	be	a	few	who	violate	any	
law	imposed	on	citizens	or	companies.		However,	most	restaurant	employers	are	not	willing	to	break	the	law	or	
jeopardize	their	businesses	by	failing	to	take	the	required	steps	for	claiming	a	tip	credit.		The	vast	majority	of	
restaurant	operators	follow	the	rules,	designed	as	safeguards	for	tipped	employees.	

	

	

	

	

 


