STATE OF CONNECTICUT

OFFICE OF EARLY CHILD HOOD _ Connecticut Office of

Early Childhood
Damel P. Malloy Myra Jones-Taylor, Ph.D.
Gaovernor Commissioner

Nancy Wyman
L.t Governor

Testimony of Myra Jones-Taylor, Ph.D., Commissioner
Office of Early Childhood
Before the Education Committee
Re: H.B. 5466 — An Act Concerning Criminal History Records Checks for Household
Members of a Family Child Care Home or Group Child Care Home
Wednesday, March 2, 2016

Good morning Senator Slossberg, Representative Fleischmann, and distinguished members of
the Education Committee. I am Myra Jones-Taylor, Commissioner of the Office of Eaily
Childhood,

[ am testifying today in support of H.B. 5466 — An Act Concerning Criminal History Records
Checks for Houschold Members of a Family Child Care Home or Group Child Care Home. This
bill would statutorily enforce a practice that has been in place for many years that all household
members who are 16 years of age or older in a licensed family child care home shall submit to
criminal background checks.

The child care licensing program in the Office of Early Childhood, previously in the Department
of Public Health, has for a long time required that all household members who are 16 years of
age or older residing in a licensed family child care home submit to criminal background checks.
Recently, the State Police conducted an informational audit of the OEC licensing background
check system. The audit’s preliminary findings document that there is no statutory citation
requiring background checks of household members age 16 and older in a licensed family child
care home. The State Police has notified the OEC about this issue and informed our agency that
that this requirement must be put into statute to grant the state the authority to process these
background checks.

The OEC feels strongly that household members age 16 and older in a licensed family child care
home submit to background checks to ensure the health and safety of young children in the care
of the family child care provider. This bill would put into statute a requirement that the OEC,
and previously DPH, has enforced as a long-standing best practice. The bill defines a houschold
member as any person who resides in the family child care home, such as the licensee’s spouse
or children, boarders and any other occupant.

Phone: (860) 713-6410 » Fux: (860) 713-7037
165 Capitol Avenue
Hartlord, Connecticut 06100
wwvw.cl govioes
Affirmative Action/Equal Opporiunity Emplover



