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Testimony of Attorney Nadine Nevins, Connecticut Legal
Services, in Support of SB 314 and Additional Amended
Language to Change Penalties for UC Overpayments from a
Felony to a Misdemeanor, March 3, 2016

My name is Nadine Nevins. [ am the managing attorney of the
Bridgeport office of Connecticut Legal Services, Inc. I am
submitting this testimony on behalf of the state’s legal services
programs. [ support the concepts of SB 314, An Act Concerning the
Temporary Family Assistance Program and Unemployment
Compensation Benefits, and would like to direct your attention to
the comments submitted by Attorney Joanne Gibau of New Haven
Legal Assistance Association in support of SB 314, for an analysis
of this bill.

Additionally, I am proposing that SB 314 be amended with
substitute language that changes CGS § 31-273 and makes
unemployment compensation overpayments of $1300 or less a
misdemeanor rather than a felony.

This change is consistent with the “Second Chance Society” laws
passed by you, the legislature, last year. That initiative was aimed
at “turning nonviolent offenders into productive members of our
society who can contribute to our economy, rather than dram it.”

For workers collecting unemployment compensation who finally
find a new job, it could be as long as a month before they actually
get their first paycheck. Many employers pay bi-weekly and some
withhold the first paycheck. During that time the worker is without
income. The unemployment compensation checks may seem like a
logical way to bridge that income gap until their first paycheck
comes through,

This proposal is not decriminalizing the overpayment nor saying
that the overpayment does not have to be paid back; it is just raising
the dollar amount at which an overpayment becomes a felony from




$500 to $1300. This change puts unemployment compensation overpayments in
line with other penalties for felonies in Connecticut. Generally, individuals in
Connecticut are not charged with a felony unless the value of the property exceeds
$2000.

The maximum weekly unemployment compensation benefit rate in Connecticut is
currently $598.00 per week. $500 can be the equivalent of less than one week’s
unemployment compensation check. Having a felony on one’s record for
receiving one week too many of unemployment compensation is a bit
disproportionate.

Last year the legislature reduced the penalty for possession of drugs from a felony
with a seven-year maximum sentence to a misdemeanor with a maximum of one
year in jail, no mandatory jail sentence because that was disproportionate.

I urge you to remedy the situation for those with unemployment compensation
overpayments so that they will not be stigmatized with having a felony conviction
for overpayments of $1300 or less - allowing them to remain employed workers
who can support their families and contribute to Connecticut’s economic growth.

Substitute Language for SB 314, Changing CGS § 31-273. Overpayments;
recovery and penalties. False or misleading declarations, statements or
representations. Additional violations and penalties. (copied below as well as
attached on separate page):

Section 3 (NEW) Any person who knowingly makes a false statement or
representation or fails to disclose a material fact in order to obtain, increase,
prevent or decrease any benefit, contribution or other payment under this chapter,
or under any similar law of another state or of the United States in regard to which
this state acted as agent pursuant to an agreement authorized by section 31-225,
whether to be made to or by himself or any other person, and who receives any
such benefit, pays any such contribution or alters any such payment to his
advantage by such fraudulent means (1) shall be guilty of a class A misdemeanor if
such benefit, contribution or payment amounts to [five hundred] one thousand
three hundred dollars or less or (2) shall be guilty of a class D felony if such
benefit, contribution or payment amounts to more than [five hundred] one
thousand three hundred dollars. Notwithstanding the provisions of section 54-193,
no person shall be prosecuted for a violation of the provisions of this subsection
committed on or after October 1, 1977, except within five years next after such
violation has been committed.




Changes to Penalties for
Unemployment

F AC T S about Compensation

Overpayments

CT’s unemployment compensation (UC) system is a lifeline for those
workers who are unemployed through no fault of their own. For low-
wage workers who are often living paycheck to paycheck and have no
savings or assets, UC is often their only resource for supporting their
family if they lose their job. This is despite the fact that on average, UC
recipients only receive 28.9% of what their average weekly wage would
be.

For workers who finally find a new job, it may be a couple of weeks
before they actually get a paycheck. During that period they are
without any income. The UC checks may seem like a logical way to
bridge that income gap until their first pay check comes through.

Unfortunately, those who continue their UC checks while waiting
to be paid can be charged with a felony for fraudulently accepting
an overpayment.

The clients we see are working in low wage jobs and can be charged
with a felony instead of a misdemeanor even though they are only
recciving as little as $500 in an overpayment. This proposal would
raise the threshold for being charged with a felony vs. a
misdemeanor from $500 to $1300.

This change puts UC overpayments in line with other penalties for
felonies in CT. Generally individuals in CT aren’t charged with a
felony unless the value of the property in question is over $2000.

Support for this proposal will mean that more individuals will
remain employed and be successful in supporting their families
without being penalized for making an uninformed decision and
labeled as a felon.

Legal Assistance Resource Center of CT, inc.
Sara Parker McKernan, 860-616-4473; cell: 203-232-2421




Substitute Language for SB 314, Changing CGS § 31-273. Overpayments;
recovery and penalties. False or misleading declarations, statements or
representations. Additional violations and penalties.

Section 3 (NEW) Any person who knowingly makes a false statement or representation or fails
to disclose a material fact in order to obtain, increase, prevent or decrease any benefit,
contribution or other payment under this chapter, or under any similar law of another state or of
the United States in regard to which this state acted as agent pursuant to an agreement authorized
by section 31-225, whether to be made to or by himself or any other person, and who receives
any such benefit, pays any such contribution or alters any such payment to his advantage by such
fraudulent means (1) shall be guilty of a class A misdemeanor if such benefit, contribution or
payment amounts to [five hundred] one thousand three hundred dollars or less or (2) shall be
guilty of a class D felony if such benefit, contribution or payment amounts to more than [five
hundred] one thousand three hundred dollars, Notwithstanding the provisions of section 54-193,
no person shall be prosecuted for a violation of the provisions of this subsection committed on or
after October 1, 1977, except within five years next after such violation has been committed.




