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Testimony in Support of

SB 324, AAC a Temporary Hold for Certain Family Viclence Arrestees
SB 363, AAC Revisions to Various Statutes Concerning the Criminal Justice System

Judiciary Committee
March 7, 2016

Good morning Senator Coleman, Representative Tong and members of the
committee. CT Coalition Against Domestic Violence (CCADV) is the state’s leading
voice for victims of domestic violence and our 18 member organizations that serve
them. Our members provide essential services to over 40,000 victims of domestic
violence each year. Services provided inciude 24-hour crisis response, emergency
shelter, safety planning, counseling, support groups and court advocacy.

We urge your support of SB 324 and SB 363, sections 5 and 8-9.
SB 324

Domestic violence is a pattern of control and coercion by one intimate partner over
the other. Therefore, the period following the arrest of an abusive individual on
charges related to domestic violence can be particularly volatile as the abuser
experiences a time when he or she is not at all in control. Yet under current state
law, an individual who has been arrested for family violence may post bail
immediately. This results in some family violence arrestees only being held for an
hour or two after an arrest — the amount of time it takes to be transported to the local
police department, processed, and post the required percentage of the bond set by
the police. Such a brief period of time is inadequate for victims to formulate a safety
plan, gather important belongings, pick up children, or find a safe place to stay.

Domestic viclence is a unigue offense where perpetrators may immediately return to
the scene of the crime — their home — following an arrest. While law enforcement
may set conditions of release that prohibit them from returning to their home or
going near the victim, that's not always enough to keep these offenders away. And
because they have lost control, they may take extreme actions to regain control of
the victim.

This bill proposes that certain family violence arrestees be temporarily held for 8
hours or until their arraignment, whichever is sooner. The tempaorary hold would be
based on the presence of evidence-based risk factors that indicate an increased
likelinood of fatal viclence. The risk factors include:

1)The use or threatened use of a deadiy weapon by the arrested person or a
pattern of prior conduct involving the use or threatened use of violence with a
firearm against ihe victim

2)Threats to seriously injure or kill the victim or a minor child by the arrested
person

3)Serious physical injuries inflicted upan the victim or a minor child by the
arrested person

The lethality risk factors included in this bill that would trigger the proposed 8 houf
hold are based on years of research by Dr. Jacquelyn C. Campbell at Johns
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Hopking University and they represent a critical tool for the criminal justice system to help prevent serious
intimate partner violence or homicide. At least 6 other states allow for temporary hold of certain family
violence offenders (Alabama, Indiana, Massachuseils, Mississippi, Nevada, Tennessee).

The implementation of an 8-hour holding period enhances a victim’s safety in the aftermath of family
violence. 1t provides family violence victims with the critical time to make safety decisions for themselves
and their children, as well as the necessary fime to act on those decisions. Please see Appendix A for a
sample safety pian for a victim who needs to flee their home because of severe physical violence or
threats of severe physical violence, Could you accomplish all of those tasks in just a few hours?

Recommended change:

We do recommend removing the third risk factor listed regarding threats of suicide (Lines 48-489). In
speaking with our partners in law enforcement they indicated that most police departments have protocols
for transporting any individual within their custody who threatens to harm themselves to a hospital for
evaluation and treatment. It is not cur intent to impede this existing protocol.

This bill, with the above change, passed unanimously out of this committee last year, as well as the
Senate (it was not called for a vote in the House}. We urge your support again this year.

SB 363 (sections 5 and 8-9)

Section 5 of the hill allows the court to issue a standing criminal protective order in certain cases,
including those involving family violence, that are dismissed or nolled. This will be a welcome change for
many viclims whose abusers have all restrictions removed related to contact with them upon dismissal or
nolle, including those involving completed diversionary programs. While we are supportive of batterer
intervention programs that prioritize offender responsibility and educate them on heaithy relationships,
those programs are not always successful. By not giving the court the ability, when deemed appropriate,
to continue restricting contact with victims following completion of one of these programs, the judicial
system is leaving many victims in a very vulnerable situation. This is a commonsense change and we
urge the committee's support.

Sections 8 and 9 of the bill add viclims of sexual assauit in a spousal or cohabhitating relationship to
statutes concerning the privacy of such victims. It is crucial that these victims of family violence be
afforded the same privacy rights as other.victims, We urge the committee’s support of this addition,

Thank you for your consideration. Please do not hesitate to contact me with questions or for additional
information.

Liza Andrews
Director of Public Policy & Communications
landrews@ctcadv.org

Page |2




APPENDIX A

Take a ook at a typical safety plan for a domestic viclence victim who needs to flee her or his home
because of an imminent risk of serious physical danger. Would you be able to complete all of these steps
within just a few hours before your abuser is bailed out of jail? Please keep in mind that many victims
going through these steps have just experienced a significant trauma and need to do ali of this at a
particularly volatile and frightening time.

Pack a bag with everything that you will need to live for at least a week - clothes, personal items,
medications, etc.

Gather all of your personal identification documents ~ birth certificate, passport, social security
card, work permits, green cards, driver's license and registration, health insurance card and
related paperwork, etc.

Gather personal finance documents — checkbook, ATM cards, information on-bank accounts or
other assets, mortgage or lease agreement if you are listed

In the process of getting a divorce? Be sure to gather all of the related paperwork and don't forget
the number for your attorney.

Have an existing restraining or protective order? Be sure to gather that paperwork.

Have kids? Be sure to gather their clothes, personal items, medications, birth certificate, social
securily card, passport, vaccination records, health insurance card, medical records, school
records, etc. Make sure to take the names and phone numbers of their pediatricians and
schoolfteachers. Don't forget their favarite toys, blankets, etc. They are going to be very scared
so anything you can bring to comfort them will help. Also, if it’s the middle of a weekday, go to
school and get them because your abuser knows where they are and that may be the first place
he or she goes upon making bail.

Have pets? Gather them up including their food, medical records and name/phone number of the
veterinarian. If you are going to a domestic violence shelter, they can’t go with you, but the sheiter
will assist with attempting to secure a temporary foster home,

In all likefihood you will not have time to gather up additional sentimental or valuable items, but try
since those will be the first things that your abuser will look to destroy.

Call a trusted family member or friend to let them know where you are going.
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