
My testimony for Raised H.B. NO. 5171 Session Year 2016  

House Republican Leader Themis Klarides has put forth a bill to the higher education committee 

to create a graduated fee schedule for private occupational schools. I ask that you please 

consider supporting this bill.  

Private occupational schools are currently required to pay $40,000 to the state in a licensing fee.  

Example:  Branford Hall $16,000.00 tuition for nine months of daily classes, $40,000.00 fee. I am 

aware that this is intended to cover the cost of any claims for refunds, however, the fee is not 

appropriate for all organizations. There is a difference between an actual “School” and an 

organization that may offer a smaller diploma or training taking less time and costing less in 

terms of tuition and or consulting fees.  

The purpose of the bill is to help smaller programs that charge only $99.00 -$2500 for 

participants pay an amount that is more reflective of the cost of the educational experience they 

provide.   

My name is Dave Parise I am founder of Results Plus Inc. Since 1986 I have been servicing the 

general community in regards to proper exercise and healthy eating. I am writing for support in 

regards to the Dept. of Higher education laws and guidelines for schools.  

Several years ago a local facility asked if I would train one of their staff members. They had some 

liability issues with injuries and were interested in having me provide training to some of their 

staff.  I did this as a “consultant” and charged them an hourly wage for my time. This lead into 

more referrals, and local facilities were sending an employee per month. A number of the 

students expressed their thanks on social media platforms. They would post videos and special 

thank you notes. Several months later, I was getting emails from trainers, all of whom employed, 

inquiring about continuing education credits.  The emails were from Greece, Canada, Australia, 

Texas, CT, and New York. These trainers traveled from their residence and stayed in a local hotel 

near my center.  I wanted to keep a high standard so I registered with the National Academy of 

Sports Medicine. I was approved and licensed #540 as a National Education Provider. I was able 

to award continuing education credits, and a diploma of completion. (To validate their 1.4 Cec’s) 

They requested that I form a company, and granted permission to use the NASM name as an 

education provider under their umbrella. I formed a company called Fit-Pros Academy. However 

the industry did not really understand the word “Academy”. (They thought it was a school) The 

buzz in the industry was “Personal Training School” I use the name “school” in my domain name 

so search engines will find me and spread the word regarding my consulting business. This was 

based on SEO Search engine optimization and key words that search engines look for. The reality 

is that I am not a school, I am a consultant and a one man show. I only teach safety standards, 

and laws that pertain to standard of care. Without the name “school” in my domain I would not 

get referrals. That is the industry no-one needs consulting once certified.   

 Fit-Pros does not have a set schedule for participants  



  The employee / subject makes their own hours. We both agree on a specific time, and 

that can change. 

 The fee is based on what the employee can afford ranges from 500.00 to 2500.00  

 No financial aid 

 No scholarships 

 No Syllabus 

 No text book for employee 

 No class room 

 Never worked with more than 1-person at a time 

 I administer NO test, no scores 

 Every referral is already certified, and working, no job placement. 

This is not my primary business, but rather a consultative training program, and or mentorship 

that is arranged on an as needed basis.  

The Department of Higher Education had a few complaints from trainers in my area that I was 

running a school. Understanding that my longevity (30) years in the industry can intimidate other 

trainers in this area.  On one particular face-to face meeting with the D.H.E. I was told to pay 

40,000.00 so I could run my school. This was overwhelming, I don’t have a school, and a fee that 

I could not afford based upon the cost and fees for the program.  It is not a “profitable business” 

but rather something I am passionate about. Explaining safety standards, correct training 

methods is important to me and therefore I charge only based upon my time and expenses to 

provide the individual with what they need, or their employer requests.  I teach how to avoid 

negligence and stay within the Guidelines of the health and fitness facility standards. Often times 

I will provide filming and hire an outside source with the fee paid by the participant. (Lost 

revenue) This is a great way the participant can remember the message for the day.  

*****There are so many offering and teaching skills. There are over 200 classes on the internet 

that do what I do. There are 50+ in CT alone from cooking to learning social media marketing.  

This fact leads me to ask if the DHE will close everyone down who cannot pay the 40,000 fee. 

Great for the economy?   If a kitchen store offers a “cooking class” for six weeks and charges a 

small fee, $99.00 but only does this a few months a year will you shut them down, and will they 

pay $40,000.00?  Not all skills / mentorship/ educational programs fit the same mold. 

We need to define “School” it’s not always about learning a skill.  Therefore, I am hopeful that 

you will re-examine the fees and the definitions you use in identifying a “School”.  The State 

could benefit greatly from gathering more information and having a graduated fee schedule that 

makes sense based upon what the business really is. The state should agree on no fee for the 

non-schools and or smaller consultants like myself.  

Thank you for your time and consideration.  I look forward to further discussions with you on this 

matter. 

Dave Parise CPT 


