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Good Morning Senator Fonfara, Representative Berger, Senator Frantz, Representative Davis, and all other distinguished members of the Finance, 

Revenue, and Bonding Committee. Thank you for the opportunity to testify in support of HB 5122, An Act Concerning Personal Income Tax 

Deductions for Contributions to Family and Medical Leave Benefit Accounts. 

 

Just as businesses in every state, Connecticut employers must comply with the federal Family and Medical Leave Act, which allows eligible employees 

to take unpaid leave, with the right to reinstatement, for certain reasons. In addition, Connecticut laws give employees the right to take extended leaves 

of absence for family and health reasons. Connecticut employees, who are eligible, may take up to 16 weeks for serious health conditions, bonding with 

a new child or preparation for a family member’s military service.  

 

Certainly the concerns with this benefit being unpaid is an ongoing controversial issue with this program. We have all heard the arguments on both sides 

of this issue. Can many of our citizens really take advantage of this benefit and give up a paycheck to take care of family? How will expanding this 

benefit impact businesses? How will we protect especially our small businesses?  What will the total cost of administering this program be? Who will 

pay for these costs or how will we pay for them?   

 

HB 5122 offers a solution to many of these concerns. It provides for a simple employee payroll savings plan that is optional and will pay for itself. 

Modeled after the Connecticut Flexible Spending Plan (MedFlex) and the Dependent Care Spending Plan (DCAP), this program establishes a pretax 

payroll deduction under personal income tax for contributions to a family and medical leave benefit account.  

 

It allows for a Trust to be established in order to pay for qualified family and medical expenses, pursuant to the federal Family & Medical Leave Act of 

1993. It allows the State Treasurer to serve as Administrator of the Trust. All costs related to the administration of this program will be covered from 

gains and earnings of the Trust. Considering Connecticut’s new financial reality – HB 5122 offers a viable legislative option to help provide for paid 

FMLA without burdening our taxpayers and smallest businesses with new tax mandates and bringing additional costs to the state budget. I have attached 

a brief comparison of HB 5122 and SB221 both dealing with FMLA. 

 

Thank you for the opportunity to testify in support of HB 5122. I strongly urge the committee to pass the bill for debate and a vote by the full assembly. 

Thank you again and I will answer any questions. 

 

Sincerely, 

 

 

Noreen Kokoruda 

State Representative 

101
st
 District 

Madison and Durham 

http://www.repkokoruda.com/


 

 

 

 

Table 1.  Federal and State Family and Medical Leave Laws 

Law Leave Allowed Covered Employers Eligible Employees 

Federal FMLA 
Public Law 103-3 

(1993) 

(29 U.S.C. 2601 et 

seq.) 

12 weeks of unpaid 

leave in a 12-month 

period 

All public and private 

sector employers with 

at least 50 employees 

Eligible employees 

must have worked for 

the covered employer 

for at least 12 months 

with 1,250 hours of 

work time during the 

12-month period 

immediately 

preceding the leave   

CT State Employee 

FMLA 
PA 87-291 

(CGS § 5-248a) 

24 weeks of unpaid 

leave in a two year 

period 

CT state government State employees in the 

(1) classified service 

in permanent 

positions or (2) 

unclassified service 

who have served for 

at least six months 

CT State FMLA 
PA 89-382 

PA 96-140 

(CGS § 31-51kk et 

seq.) 

16 weeks of unpaid 

leave in a 24-month 

period   

Private sector 

employers with at 

least 75 employees in 

CT 

Eligible employees 

must have worked for 

the covered employer 

for at least 12 months 

with 1,000 hours of 

work time during the 

12-month period 

immediately 

preceding the leave 

CT Family Violence 

Leave 
PA 10-144 

(CGS § 31-51ss) 

12 days of unpaid 

leave per calendar 

year for victims of 

family violence to 

seek medical care, 

obtain victims’ 

services, relocate, or 

participate in a court 

proceeding 

All public and private 

sector employers with 

at least three 

employees 

All employees (no 

service or work time 

requirements) 

CT School 

Paraprofessional 

FMLA 
PA 12-43 

(CGS § 31-51rr) 

12 weeks of unpaid 

leave in a 12-month 

period (same as 

federal FMLA) 

Political subdivisions 

(i.e., municipal school 

boards and districts)  

School 

paraprofessionals (i.e., 

teachers’ aides) who 

have worked been 

employed by the 

employer for at least 

12 months and 

worked for at least 

950 hours over the 12-

month period prior to 



 

 

the leave.  

 

*OPTIONAL PARTICIPATION* *MANDATORY PARTICIPATION* 

HB 5122 – FMLA Accounts SB 221 – PAID FMLA Accounts 

FAST FACTS FAST FACTS 

Voluntarily funded by participants Mandatory participation with a forced 

contribution by participants 

Benefit limited only by what participants  

contributed 

Benefit limited to $1,000 per week, 

regardless of the amount of taxes deducted 

Participants have the ability to take as 

many weeks paid leave as contributions 

cover, up to 26 weeks 

Participants have the ability to take up to 12 

weeks paid leave 

No income threshold Income threshold of $9,300 

DETAILS DETAILS 

Creates FMLA accounts that can be used to 

pay qualified family & medical leave 

expenses 

Creates a Family & Medical Leave 

Compensation Trust Fund and FMLC 

Program 

Contributions to the account are made by 

participants 

Program requires employers to offer up to 

12 weeks per year of paid leave 

Contributions are tax deductible Program is funded by contributions on 

participant’s paycheck 

No income requirement Participant must have earned at least 

$9,300 over 12 months to qualify 

Contributions can be withdrawn to pay for 

eligible expenses without limit or penalty 

Trust administrator begins collecting 

contributions as of 3/1/17 and must start 

paying out by 1/1/18 

No minimum requirement to be sustainable Contributions must be at least $4 million 

per month to be sustainable 

FMLA accounts are administered by the 

state treasurer through the CT Family and 

Medical Benefit Trust 

Benefit is 100% of the participant’s average 

weekly earnings up to $1,000 per week 

State treasurer submits annual reports on 

the trust operations to the governor, 

General Assembly and account holders 

Labor commissioner submits annual reports 

to the General Assembly 

Trust property and earnings are tax-exempt Participant can take partial days of leave 

Participant’s account balances are 

disregarded for purposes of qualifying for 

government benefit programs, including 

tuition grants 

N/A 



 

 

No limitations on who is eligible to 

establish an account 

Self-employed may enroll, but has a 

requirement of at least 3 years 

N/A Establishes a public education campaign 

about the program 

N/A Establishes a new complaint, hearing, and 

appeals process if compensation is denied 

N/A Requires employers to post notice (poster) 

of the benefit 

N/A Expands FMLA coverage to include 

siblings, grandparents, grandchildren, 

parents, spouses and parents-in-law 

N/A Makes conforming changes to FMLA for 

state employees 

Adheres to federal and state guidelines, this 

program applies to employers of 50 or 

more employees 

Does not adhere to federal or state 

guidelines, this program applies to all 

employers with 2 or more employees 

Allows a variety of contribution sources to 

fund the account, including grants, gifts and 

donations 

Relies solely on deductions from 

participant’s paycheck 

 


