
Dear Committee, 

I respectfully urge the committee to vote NO on bill #5578. 

Please wait until November and place this on a vote state-wide. If you really believe that this 
is what its proponents will have you believe, then all state residents should vote on it. 
Anything less is railroading. 

1. Federal Regulations are ALREADY in place. Current strict Federal regulations address the 
sale of both ivory and rhinoceros horn. President Obama’s Executive Order/February 
2014 effectively banned the sales of all ivory and rhinoceros horn less than 100 years old. All 
sales made using the antique exemption must be accompanied by third-party documentation 
as specified by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, Directors Order #210, which already creates a 
burdensome and costly deterrent to the sale of ANY antique object containing ivory or 
rhinoceros horn. It is redundant and will add additional cost if Connecticut proceeds. 
 
2. Property Rights are a right of all Americans. This is unconstitutional. Bill #5578 creates a 
criminal process around the selling or possession of any object comprising more than 20% ivory 
even if it is more than 100 years old. Antiques such as ivory statues, fans, ivory tankards, and 
portrait miniatures will be illegal. This is unthinkable, unimaginable in this country, and this bill 
should be considered a threat to our rights. 

3. Overreaching Power: Bill #5578 gives the Department of Energy & Environmental Protection 
overreaching and unlimited powers. It can seize, destroy and prosecute, determine its own 
criteria for issuing permits, pay informants up to “five hundred dollars...to any person who 
provides information that led to the imposition of such administrative penalty.” The inclusion of 
a 20% or less ivory content requirement in any genuine antique piece containing ivory is 
completely arbitrary and subjective. The hearing process for those accused of a violation 
includes an extensive  and certainly expensive appeal process, which “need not be conducted 
in accordance with the rules of evidence.” These restraints and provisions are 
incomprehensible and step on the rights of the residents of the state. 

4. Punishment Does Not Fit The Crime. The first offense shall be punishable by “not less” than 
a “$3,000 fine and “imprisoned for not more than six months, or both.” An administrative 
penalty of not more than twenty thousand dollars may be imposed for a violation of any 
provision or this section, or any rule, regulation or order adopted”????? This is harsh 
punishment for any individual who attempts to sell an antique. An antique that in no way 
affects the animals in question. This amounts to extortion. 

5. Antique Dealers & Collectors. With hundreds of dealers, auctioneers and appraisers within 
its borders, thousands of people, supporting many other local businesses, and home to 
hundreds of collectors of antiquities, Connecticut will be penalizing and punishing much of its 
citizenry. I will leave this state and take my business with me if this abusive and new state effort 
to make money passes. 



6. A FEEL GOOD approach that has no effect on elephant deaths. This legislation may fill the 
coffers of some activist groups but it cannot be proven nor does it make any sense at all that 
this will save even one elephant. If activists want to make a difference, they need to go to the 
source and work with those governments to stop the poaching and killing. That is a solution. 
This is not. 

7. Destruction of Our Historical Objects and Culture. Antiques are to be preserved, conserved, 
and protected. Where does this end? Will Bills in Washington D.C. descend upon the 
Smithsonian and destroy all ivory? How is that different from what is attempting to be inacted 
in Connecticut? This is not heard on the news or media perhaps to discourage dissent. If it is 
such a strong solution to a perceived threat and problem, why are these proponents not 
storming the media with information? I am ashamed to be a resident here with such misguided 
and uninformed actions being attempted. 

AGAIN I URGE YOU:  Wait until November and place this on a vote state-wide. If 
you really believe that this is what its proponents will have you believe, then all 
state residents should vote on it. Anything less is railroading. 

Sincerely, 

Sherry Hansley 

Voluntown, CT 06384 
 


