My name is Robert Wichowski. | am present as a member of the Connecticut Mortgage Bankers
Association to testify against Sections 3 and 4 of SB 170, An Act Concerning the Foreclosure
Mediation Program. | am a partner in the law firm of Bendett & McHugh, P.C. For thirty years
we have represented mortgage servicers and lenders in Connecticut with regard to mortgage
default related matters, including foreclosure actions. Our clients include most of the major
mortgage servicers in the country. Our firm is recognized nationally for its expertise in mortgage
foreclosure representation and our attorneys are frequent speakers at national events on
mortgage foreclosure issues.

The issues we have concerning Sections 3 and 4 of SB 170 are set forth below.

Loss Mitigation Affidavit Requirement (Section 4) (set forth below)

Sec. 4. (NEW) (Effective July 1, 2016) Any loss mitigation affidavit required under the general
statutes, court rule or other applicable law shall be filed not more than thirty days, but not less
than ten days, before any motion for judgment of foreclosure is heard.

The legislation proposes a new requirement that Loss Mitigation Affidavit (LMA) be filed
not more than thirty days but not less than ten days before the motion for judgment is
heard. Pursuant to an existing Judicial Standing Order, the LMA is currently required to
be filed with the court when the complaint is filed. There are three issues with this
provision.

First, the affidavit is not required by the general statutes, but by a Judicial Standing
Order. If the timing of the filing of the affidavit is going to be changed, it would appear
that a modification of the Judicial Standing Order would be the method to accomplish
this. This would allow the standing Bench-Bar Committee for Foreclosures to analyze
and discuss the proposal if the judiciary thought this change was beneficial.

Second, and most importantly, the timeframe of the filing of the affidavit is not workable.
it will be extremely difficult to time the filing of the affidavit to occur between 10 and 30
days before the judgment hearing. There are a number of documents necessary to
obtain judgment, including without limitation, the original note, mortgage and
assignments; an affidavit of debt; affidavit(s) of nonmilitary service; and an appraisal not
older than 120 days and a corresponding oath of the appraiser. In addition, all defaults
must be in order. Pursuant to the Rules of Practice, the filing of an appearance by a
non-appearing party prior to the enfry of judgment automatically opens a default for
failure to appear (so late filed appearances require judgment hearings to be
rescheduled). '

Also, judgment motions often get postponed by our clients, or by the courts, due to a
variety of reasons, including loss mitigation efforts. For these reasons, it would be.
extremely difficuit to schedule the timing of the filing of the LMA within a 20 day window
that close fo the judgment hearing. This requirement would lead to multiple LMAs being
required to be executed by our clients, would create a greater backlog of judgments
pending with the courts, and even longer timelines than aiready exist. This would also
tead to a clogged foreclosure docket pending with the courts, and in our opinion, a much




greater number of dormancy dismissals. In our opinion, this would also increase the
number of vacant and/or abandoned properties in Connecticut, and as a result would
exasperate the current blight issues facing our communities.

Under the current system, the LMA is filed with the complaint. It is then that any eligible
defendant in a foreclosure action is subject to the provisions and protections of the
Court-annexed foreclosure mediation program, which, with the assistance of the well-
trained foreclosure mediation staff and under the supervision of the judges of the
Superior Court, provides defendants in foreclosure cases with ample assurances that
loss mitigation options are heing fully explored.

With the current comprehensive mediation statute, and federal Consumer Financial
Protection Bureau (CFPB) regulations that prohibit dual tracking {obtaining judgment
when a full loss mitigation packet is under review), it seems that borrowers are weli
protected in Connecticut, -and the harm that will be caused by the change in the timing
requirements far outweighs any benefits that will be achieved. '

Foreclosure By Market Sale Revision (Section 3)

This revision to the Foreclosure By Market Sale (FBMS) affidavit filing requirements
have the same time frame issues that are set forth above with regard to the LMA
proposal. The concerns would be identical to the LMA concerns, but the Bill as
presently written requires the filing of the FBMS affidavit prior to "any motion for
judgment of foreclosure by market sale being heard”. Since, to our knowledge, there
have not been any foreclosure by market sale judgments heard by a Connecticut court,
one may think this shouid not be an issue. However, we think there was an error in the
drafting of this Section and it was intended to apply, like the LMA, to foreclosure
judgments (not by market sale), since the FBMS affidavit contains information as to why
a foreclosure by market sale is not being pursued. If this drafting error is corrected, the
timing issues set forth with regard to the LMA would be identical for the FBMS affidavit
and our comments set forth above detailing the problems with requiring the filing of the
affidavit not more than thirty but not less than ten days before the judgment hearing are
identical.

Conclusion

In our view the aforementioned proposals would have a devastating impact on the court
docket and Connecticut foreclosure timelines.




