
DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES 
Notice of Intent to Amend Regulations  

 
In accordance with the provisions of subsection (a) of section 4-168 of the Connecticut 
General Statutes, as amended, notice is hereby given that the Commissioner of Social 
Services, under the authority of section 17b-3 of the Connecticut General Statutes, 
proposes to amend sections 17b-179b-1 and 17b-179-2 of the Regulations of Connecticut 
State Agencies, to add section 17-179b-3a, and to repeal section 17-179b-3 of the 
Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies. 
 
Statement of Purpose:  (A) The problems, issues or circumstances that the regulation 
proposes to address:  The proposed regulation offers an incentive in the form of state 
arrearage adjustment, which is contingent on the non-custodial parent (obligor) paying 
current support to the custodial parent. Through this incentive, DSS anticipates an 
increase in obligors paying current support, potentially reducing the number of families 
on state funded programs.  
 
(B) The main provision of the regulation amends sections 17b-179b-1 and 17b-179-2 of 
the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies, adds section 17-179b-3a and repeals 
section 17-179b-3 of the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies. 
 
(C)  The legal effects of the regulation, including all the ways the regulation would change 
existing regulation or other laws:  Under current regulations, a non-custodial parent must 
meet several restrictive requirements in order to be granted a 15% reduction in his/her 
arrearage amount. The absentee parent must be 100% compliant in the current child 
support order for 10 of 12 months in order to receive a 15% adjustment after a year. For 
each year of compliance, the arrearage is again reduced by 10%. 
 

Under these proposed regulations: 1) a non-custodial parent would be eligible 
regardless of payment history; 2) he/she must pay 50% or more of current child support 
order to receive a monthly adjustment; and 3) he/she must maintain payment of 50% in 
current support payments in order to continue the monthly adjustment. By doing this, an 
arrearage adjustment of 50% of current support payments would apply. 
 
A copy of the complete text of this regulation is available, at no cost, upon request from 
the Office of Legal Counsel, Regulations and Administrative Hearings, Department of 
Social Services, 55 Farmington Avenue, Hartford, Connecticut 06106; email: 
daniel.butler@ct.gov.   
 
All written comments, questions, and concerns regarding this regulation may be 
submitted within 30 days of the publication of this notice on the Secretary of State’s 
website to the Department of Social Services, Office of Legal Counsel, Regulations & 
Administrative Hearings, 55 Farmington Avenue, Hartford, Connecticut, 06106.  
Attention: Brenda Parrella, Director.  A hearing will be scheduled on the proposed 
regulation if requested by fifteen persons, by a governmental subdivision of an agency or 

mailto:daniel.butler@ct.gov


by an association having not less than fifteen members, if notice of the request is received 
by the Department within fourteen days after the date of publication of this notice. 
 
When submitting correspondence, please refer to Regulation Control Number 13-05/DB.  
  


