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ISSUE  

This report describes the state’s Family and Medical 

Leave Act (CGS §§ 31-51kk through 31-51qq) for 

private-sector employers. 

SUMMARY 

Connecticut’s Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) 

provides eligible employees at certain large employers 

with up to 16 weeks of unpaid leave from work for 

certain family- and health- related reasons, such as 

the birth of a child or to tend to a close relative’s 

serious health condition.  Among other things, the law 

specifies (1) what work requirements employees must 

meet to qualify for leave, (2) employee notice 

requirements, and (3) the circumstances under which 

an employer can require an employee to provide 

certification from a health care provider.  It also 

prohibits employers from taking certain retaliatory 

actions against employees who take the leave or 

cooperate with investigations into an employer’s FMLA 

violations.  Employees aggrieved by an employer’s 

FMLA violation can complain to the Labor Department. 

Other state laws, which are not discussed in this 

report, provide family and medical leave for state 

employees (CGS § 5-248a), certain municipal 

employees (CGS § 31-51-rr), and family violence 

victims (CGS § 31-51ss).  

FEDERAL VS. STATE FMLA 

The federal FMLA is largely 

similar to Connecticut’s.  

However, some key 

differences include: 

 Covered employers: the 

federal law covers all 

employers with at least 50 

employees (instead of 75, 

as under CT law).  It also 

covers all public-sector 

employers regardless of 

their number of 

employees. 

 Eligible employees: to be 

eligible under the federal 

law, employees must have 

worked for their employer 

for at least 1,250 work-

hours (instead of 1,000, as 

under CT law) over the 12 

months prior to the leave.  

 Length of leave: the 

federal FMLA allows eligible 

employees to take up to 

12 weeks of unpaid leave 

during a 12-month period 

(instead of 16 weeks of 

leave during a 24-month 

period, as under CT law).  

For additional information on 

the federal FMLA, see:  
http://www.dol.gov/whd/fmla/. 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/olr
mailto:olr@cga.ct.gov
http://olreporter.blogspot.com/
https://twitter.com/CT_OLR
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_557.htm#sec_31-51kk
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_067.htm#sec_5-248a
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_557.htm#sec_31-51rr
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_557.htm#sec_31-51rr
http://www.dol.gov/whd/fmla/
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THE FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE ACT 

Covered Employers and Eligible Employees 

Connecticut’s FMLA requires private-sector employers with at least 75 employees in 

the state to allow eligible employees to take up to 16 weeks of unpaid leave from 

work during a 24-month period.  Covered employers do not include the state, 

municipalities, local or regional boards of education, or private or parochial 

elementary or secondary schools.  (State employees receive family and medical 

leave under a separate state law. Most municipal employees receive the leave 

under the federal FMLA, although certain municipal employees may qualify for leave 

under a different state law.) 

To be eligible for the leave, a covered employer’s employee must have worked for 

the employer for at least (1) 12 months (which do not have to be consecutive) and 

(2) 1,000 work-hours during the 12 months prior to the leave.     

Leave Entitlement 

Eligible employees can take FMLA leave: 

1. for the birth or adoption of their child; 

2. to care for their spouse, child, parent, or parent-in-law, who has a serious 

health condition; 

3. for their own serious health condition; or  

4. to serve as an organ or bone marrow donor.   

A “serious health condition” is an illness, injury, impairment, or physical or mental 

condition that involves either inpatient care or continuing treatment by a health 

care provider.  

Employers can set the 24-month period during which an employee can take up to 

16-weeks of leave as (1) consecutive calendar years, (2) any fixed 24-month 

period, (3) a 24-month period measured forward from an employee’s first day of 

leave, or (4) a rolling 24-month period measured backward from an employee’s 

first day of leave.   

Unless the employee is taking leave for the birth or adoption of their child, he or 

she can take the leave intermittently or on a reduced leave schedule.  If the leave 

is foreseeable based on a planned medical treatment, the employer may require the 

employee to temporarily transfer to an alternative position with equivalent pay and 

benefits that better accommodates the employee’s recurring leave periods.   
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Injured Armed Forces Leave 

The law also allows eligible employees to take a one-time benefit of 26 workweeks 

of unpaid leave during a 12-month period if the employee has a spouse, child, 

parent, or next of kin who is a member of the armed forces undergoing medical 

treatment, recuperation, or therapy, or on the temporary disability retired list for a 

serious injury or illness incurred in the line of duty.   

Use of Paid Leave 

Employers can require employees to use their accrued paid vacation, personal or 

sick time while they are out on FMLA leave, if the employer offers such benefits.  If 

the employer does not require it, employees can choose whether to use their 

accrued paid time off.  An employer may provide paid FMLA leave, but is not 

required to provide paid leave in any situation in which it would not normally 

provide the benefit.   

Employee Notice 

Employees taking leave must notify their employer at least 30 days in advance or, 

if the leave must begin sooner than 30 days, as soon as practicable.  If the 

employee is taking leave for a health condition that is foreseeable based on a 

planned medical treatment, the employee must also try to schedule the leave to 

avoid disrupting work operations, subject to the treating health care provider’s 

approval.   

Certifications 

Employers may require employees requesting leave related to serious health 

conditions to provide a certification from a health care provider.  Depending on the 

circumstances behind the leave, the employer can require the certification to 

include facts such as (1) when the serious health condition started; (2) the 

condition’s probable duration; (3) expected treatment dates; (4) whether the leave 

is necessary for the employee to care for their spouse, child, or parent; and (5) 

whether the employee is able to perform their position’s functions.   

Employers who doubt a certification’s validity can require, at their own expense, an 

employee to obtain second and third opinions from additional health care providers.  

They can also require employees to obtain subsequent recertifications on a 

reasonable basis, which cannot be more than once per 30-day period.  The 

employer must pay for the recertifications if they are not covered by the 

employee’s health insurance.   
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Confidentiality 

With certain exceptions, employers must keep records and documents related to 

their employees’ medical histories and medical certifications as confidential medical 

records under the state’s Personnel Files Act.  The law allows exceptions for: 

1. supervisors and managers to know about an employee’s necessary work 
restrictions or accommodations;  

2. first aid and safety personnel to know, when appropriate, if an employee’s 

physical or medical condition might require emergency treatment; and  

3. government officials, upon request, investigating an employer’s compliance 

with certain laws.   

Legal Protections 

The law protects the employment rights and benefits of an employee who takes 

FMLA leave. Employees who return from leave must be restored to the position 

they held when they went on leave.  If their original position is not available, they 

must be restored to an equivalent position with equal pay, benefits, and other 

terms and conditions of employment.  If they return but are medically unable to 

perform their original job, they must be transferred to work suitable to their 

condition, if it is available.  Employees who take the leave cannot lose any 

employment benefits they accrued prior to taking the leave; however they are not 

entitled to accrue seniority or other benefits while they are out on leave.   

The law also prohibits employers from: 

1. interfering with, restraining, or denying employees from exercising their 

FMLA rights; 

2. discharging or discriminating against someone who exercised their FMLA 

rights, filed a claim alleging an FMLA violation, or provided information or 
testimony in an FMLA investigation or proceeding; 

3. denying an employee the right to use up to two weeks of accrued paid sick 

leave, if provided by the employer, for a child’s birth or adoption or to attend 
to a child’s, spouse’s, or parent’s serious health condition; and 

4. discharging, threatening to discharge, demoting, suspending, or 
discriminating against an employee for using or trying to use up to two 
weeks of accrued paid sick leave, if provided by the employer, for a child’s 

birth or adoption or to attend to a child’s, spouse’s, or parent’s serious health 
condition. 
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Enforcement 

Employees who are aggrieved by a violation can file a complaint with the labor 

commissioner.  Upon receiving the complaint, the commissioner must hold a 

hearing and send each party a written copy of her decision.  The commissioner can 

award the employee all appropriate relief, including ordering rehiring or 

reinstatement to the employee’s previous job, back wages, and reestablishment of 

benefits for which the employee would have been eligible if the violation had not 

occurred.  Any party aggrieved by the commissioner’s decision can appeal to the 

Superior Court.  

LH:cmg 


