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ISSUE  

Summarize the penalties for drug possession and sale crimes in New York. 

SUMMARY 

This report focuses on penalties for drug possession and sale crimes in New York.  

We break down these crimes into separate tables for possession, sale, and other 

related crimes.  For purposes of this report, we exclude certain crimes such as 

those for drug paraphernalia and drug prescribers. 

Penalties for drug crimes in New York range from a fine of up to $100 for 

possessing marijuana under certain circumstances to a maximum of life in prison 

for operating as a major trafficker.  The law requires each sentence for one of these 

offenders to include a period of post-release supervision.  For class B, C, D, and E 

felonies, except for selling controlled substances to a child, the law allows the court 

to impose an alternative sentence of up to one year in prison under certain 

circumstances.  The court must consider the crime’s nature and circumstances and 

the defendant’s history and character to determine that the sentence that would 

otherwise apply would be unduly harsh (NY Penal § 70.70).  These alternate 

sentences are noted in the table below. 

New York also enhances penalties for those with prior convictions.  We include 

these in a separate table at the end of the report.  A number of other sentencing 

rules apply to these offenders which we do not discuss in detail.  For example, 

someone sentenced for a class A-II felony can be sentenced to lifetime probation 

and those convicted of a class B felony, except for selling a controlled substance to 

a child, can be sentenced to parole supervision.

http://www.cga.ct.gov/olr
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DRUG POSSESSION CRIMES 

Table 1 describes the different drug possession crimes and their penalties in New 

York.  Penalties for these crimes range from a fine of up to $100 for certain types of 

marijuana possession to up to 20 years in prison for 1st degree possession of a 

controlled substance. 

Table 1:  Drug Possession Crimes in New York 

Crime Degree Conduct Penalty 

Possessing 
controlled 
substances  
(NY Penal §§ 
220.03 to 220.25) 

7th degree Possessing a controlled substance Class A misdemeanor 

 Up to 1 year in prison 

 Up to $1,000 

5th degree 
(New York 
does not 
have a 6th 
degree 
crime) 

Possessing: 

 a controlled substance with intent to sell 

 at least ½ oz preparations containing narcotics 
preparations  

 at least 50 mg phencyclidine (PCP) 

 at least ¼ oz concentrated cannabis preparation 

 at least 500 mg cocaine 

 at least 1,000 mg ketamine 

 ketamine with a prior conviction of ketamine 
possession 

 at least 28 g of gamma hydroxybutyric acid (GHB) 

Class D felony 

 1 to 2.5 years in 
prison 

 Alternate penalty of 
up to one year 

 Up to $5,000 
 

4th degree Possessing at least: 

 ⅛ oz preparations containing a narcotic drug 

 ½ oz preparations containing methamphetamine or 
its precursors 

 2 oz preparations containing narcotics preparations 

 1 g stimulants 

 1 mg lysergic acid diethylamide (LSD) 

 25 mg hallucinogen 

 1 g hallucinogenic substance 

 10 oz dangerous depressant 

 2 lbs of depressants 

 1 oz of concentrated cannabis preparation 

 250 mg PCP 

 360 mg methadone 

 50 mg PCP with intent to sell and prior conviction of 
a drug offense 

 4,000 mg ketamine 

 200 g GHB 

Class C felony 

 1 to 5.5 years in 
prison 

 Alternate penalty of 
up to one year 

 Up to $15,000 
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Table 1 (continued) 

 

Crime Degree Conduct Penalty 

 

3rd degree Possessing: 

 a narcotic with intent to sell 

 a stimulant, hallucinogen, hallucinogenic substance, 
or LSD with intent to sell and a prior drug conviction 

 at least 1 g stimulant with intent to sell 

 at least 1 mg LSD with intent to sell 

 at least 25 mg hallucinogen with intent to sell 

 at least 1 g hallucinogenic substance with intent to 
sell 

 at least ⅛ oz preparations containing 
methamphetamine or its precursors with intent to 
sell 

 at least 5 g stimulants 

 at least 5 mg LSD 

 at least 125 mg hallucinogens 

 at least 5 g hallucinogenic substance 

 at least ½ oz preparations containing a narcotic drug 

 at least 1,250 mg PCP 

Class B felony 

 1 to 9 years in prison 

 Alternate penalty of 
up to one year 

 Up to $30,000 

2nd degree Possessing at least: 

 4 oz preparations containing a narcotic drug 

 2 oz preparations containing methamphetamine or 
its precursors  

 10 g stimulants 

 25 mg LSD 

 625 mg of a hallucinogen 

 25 g hallucinogenic substance 

 2,880 mg methadone 

Class A-II felony 

 3 to 10 years in prison 

 Up to $50,000 

1st degree Possessing at least: 

 8 oz preparations containing a narcotic drug 

 5,760 oz of methadone 

Class A-I felony 

 8 to 20 years in prison 

 Up to $100,000 

Possessing 
precursors of 
controlled 
substances 
(NY Penal § 
220.60) 

- Possessing certain precursors of controlled substances 
with intent to make a controlled substance 

Class E felony 

 1 to 1.5 years in 
prison 

 Alternate penalty of 
up to one year 

 Up to $5,000 
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Table 1 (continued) 

 

Crime Degree Conduct Penalty 

Possessing 
methamphetamine 
manufacturing 
material  
(NY Penal §§ 
220.70 to 220.71) 

2nd degree Possessing a precursor, solvent, or chemical reagent 
with intent to use it or knowing another intends to use it 
to produce methamphetamine.  

Class A misdemeanor 

 Up to 1 year in prison 

 Up to $1,000 

1st degree Subsequent conviction of the 2nd degree crime within 5 
years of a previous conviction of the crime. 

Class E felony 

 1 to 1.5 years in 
prison 

 Alternate penalty of 
up to one year 

 Up to $5,000 

Possessing 
methamphetamine 
precursors (NY 
Penal § 220.72) 

- With intent to use or knowing that another intends to use 
it to manufacture methamphetamine, possessing a: 

 precursor and 

 solvent or chemical reagent 
 

Class E felony 

 1 to 1.5 years in 
prison 

 Alternate penalty of 
up to one year 

 Up to $5,000 

Possessing 
marijuana (NY 
Penal § 221.05) 

- Presumably, this punishes conduct not covered by the 
criminal penalties described below 

 Up to $100 

 If prior drug conviction 
in prior 3 years:  up to 
$200 

 If two prior drug 
convictions in prior 3 
years:  up to 15 days 
in prison, up to $250 
fine, or both 

Possessing 
marijuana (NY 
Penal §§ 221.10 
to 221.30) 

5th degree Possessing marijuana 
• In a public place, and the marijuana is burning or open 
to public view or 
• preparations weighing more than 25g  

Class B misdemeanor 

 Up to 3 months in 
prison 

 Up to $500 

 

4th degree Possessing more than 2 oz of marijuana preparations Class A misdemeanor  

 Up to 1 year in prison 

 Up to $1,000 

 

3rd degree Possessing more than 8 oz of marijuana preparations Class E felony 

 1 to 1.5 years in 
prison 

 Alternate penalty of 
up to one year 

 Up to $5,000 
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Table 1 (continued) 

 

Crime Degree Conduct Penalty 

 

2nd degree Possessing more than 16 oz of marijuana preparations Class D felony 

 1 to 2.5 years in 
prison 

 Alternate penalty of 
up to one year 

 Up to $5,000 

 

1st degree Possessing more than 10 lbs of marijuana preparations Class C felony 

 1 to 5.5 years in 
prison 

 Alternate penalty of 
up to one year 

 Up to $15,000 

 

DRUG SALE CRIMES 

Table 2 describes the different drug sale crimes and their penalties in New York.  

Penalties range from up to three months in prison for 5th degree selling marijuana 

to up to 20 years in prison for 1st degree selling controlled substances. 

Table 2:  Drug Sale Crimes in New York 

Crime Degree Conduct Penalty 

Selling controlled 
substances 
(NY Penal §§ 
220.31 to 220.44) 

5th degree Selling a controlled substance Class D felony 

 1 to 2.5 years in 
prison 

 Alternate penalty of 
up to one year 

 Up to $5,000 

 

4th degree Selling: 

 a narcotic preparation 

 at least 10 oz dangerous depressant or at least 2 lbs 
depressants 

 concentrated cannabis 

 at least 50 mg PCP 

 methadone 

 PCP with a prior drug conviction 

 at least 4,000 mg ketamine 

Class C felony 

 1 to 5.5 years in 
prison 

 Alternate penalty of 
up to one year 

 Up to $15,000  
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Table 2 (continued) 

 

Crime Degree Conduct Penalty 

 

  a controlled substance on (1) school grounds, (2) a 
school bus, or (3) a child day care or an education 
facility up to kindergarten or grounds or public areas 
within 1,000 feet of them  

 at least 28 g GHB preparation 

 

 

3rd degree Selling: 

 a narcotic drug 

 a stimulant, hallucinogen, hallucinogenic substance, 
or LSD with a prior drug conviction 

 at least 1 g stimulant 

 at least 25 mg hallucinogen 

 at least 1 g hallucinogenic substance 

 at least ⅛ oz preparations containing 
methamphetamine or its precursors 

 at least 250 mg PCP 

 a narcotic preparation to someone under age 21 

Class B felony 

 1 to 9 years in prison 

 Alternate penalty of 
up to one year 

 Up to $30,000  

 

2nd degree Selling at least: 

 ½ oz preparation containing a narcotic drug 

 ½  oz preparations containing methamphetamine or 
its precursors 

 5 g stimulants 

 5 mg LSD 

 25 mg hallucinogen 

 5 g hallucinogenic substance 

 360 mg methadone 

Class A-II felony 

 3 to 10 years in 
prison 

 Up to $50,000  

 

1st degree Selling at least: 

 2 oz preparation containing a narcotic drug 

 2,880 mg methadone 

Class A-I felony 

 8 to 20 years in 
prison 

 Up to $100,000  

Selling near 
schools (NY Penal 
§ 220.44) 

- Selling on (1) grounds of a child day care or an 
education facility up to kindergarten or public areas 
within 1,000 feet of them, knowing the sale takes place 
there; (2) school grounds; or (3) a school bus: 

 a narcotic preparation 

 at least 10 oz dangerous depressant or at least 2 lbs 
depressant 

Class B felony  

 2 to 9 years in prison 

 Alternate penalty of 
up to one year 

 Up to $30,000  
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Table 2 (continued) 

 

Crime Degree Conduct Penalty 

   concentrated cannabis 

 at least 50 mg PCP 

 methadone 

 PCP with a prior drug conviction 

 a narcotic drug 

 a stimulant, hallucinogen, hallucinogenic substance, 
or LSD with a prior drug conviction 

 at least 1 g stimulant 

 at least 1 mg LSD 

 at least 25 mg hallucinogen 

 at least 1 g hallucinogenic substance 

 at least ⅛ oz preparations containing 
methamphetamine or its precursors 

 at least 250 mg PCP 
 
Selling on school grounds or a school bus at least 4,000 
mg ketamine 

 

Selling controlled 
substances to 
minors (NY Penal 
§ 220.48) 

- Committing 4th or 3rd degree criminal sale of a 
controlled substance and the: 

 seller is over 21 and 

 buyer is under 17 

Class B felony 

 2 to 9 years in prison 

 Up to $30,000 fine 

Selling marijuana 
(NY Penal §§ 
221.35 to 221.55) 

5th degree Selling: 

 2 g or less marijuana preparations or 

 one marijuana cigarette 

Class B misdemeanor 

 Up to 3 months in 
prison 

 Up to $500 

 

4th degree Selling marijuana other than the amounts specified 
under the 5th degree crime  

Class A misdemeanor  

 Up to 1 year in prison 

 Up to $1,000 

 

3rd degree Selling more than 25 g marijuana preparations Class E felony 

 1 to 1.5 years in 
prison 

 Alternate penalty of 
up to one year 

 Up to $5,000 



 

December 22, 2015 Page 8 of 10 2015-R-0304 
 

 
Table 2 (continued) 

 

Crime Degree Conduct Penalty 

 

2nd degree Selling: 
• more than 4 oz marijuana preparations or 
• marijuana to someone under age 18  

Class D felony 

 1 to 2.5 years in 
prison 

 Alternate penalty of 
up to one year 

 Up to $5,000  

 

1st degree Selling more than 16 oz marijuana preparations Class C felony 

 1 to 5.5 years in 
prison 

 Alternate penalty of 
up to one year 

 Up to $15,000  

 

OTHER DRUG CRIMES 

In Table 3, we describe several other drug-related crimes and their penalties. 

Table 3:  Other Drug-Related Crimes 

Crime Degree Conduct Penalty 

Using a child to 
commit controlled 
substance crimes 
(NY Penal § 
220.28) 

- Person at least age 18 committing a felony controlled 
substance sale or attempted sale crime knowingly using 
a child under age 16 to make the sale or attempt 

Class E felony 

 1 to 1.5 years in 
prison 

 Alternate penalty of 
up to one year 

 Up to $5,000  

Manufacturing 
methamphetamine 
(NY Penal §§ 
220.73 to 220.75) 

3rd degree Possessing certain combinations of laboratory 
equipment and methamphetamine precursors, chemical 
reagents, or solvents in the same location with intent to 
use or knowing another intends to use them to 
manufacture methamphetamine 

Class D felony 

 1 to 2.5 years in 
prison 

 Alternate penalty of 
up to one year 

 Up to $5,000  
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Table 3 (continued) 

 

Crime Degree Conduct Penalty 

 

2nd degree Committing 3rd degree manufacturing 
methamphetamine: 

 in the presence of someone under age 16 while the 
offender is at least 5 years older or 

 with a prior conviction in the past 5 years of certain 
methamphetamine crimes 

Class C felony 

 1 to 5.5 years in 
prison 

 Alternate penalty of 
up to one year 

 Up to $15,000 

 

1st degree Committing 2nd degree manufacturing 
methamphetamine with a prior conviction of any degree 
of manufacturing methamphetamine crime 

Class B felony 

 1 to 9 years in prison  

 Alternate penalty of 
up to one year 

 Up to $30,000 

Operating as a 
major trafficker 
(NY Penal § 
220.77) 

-  Directing a controlled substance organization with 
sales greater than $75,000 within a 12 month period 

 Knowingly selling narcotics with sales greater than 
$75,000 within a six month period or  

 Possessing with intent to sell narcotics with a value 
of $75,000 or more 

Class A-I felony 
 
Court must set an 
indeterminate sentence 
(the court sets a 
minimum and maximum 
amount of imprisonment 
that may be required as 
opposed to a set term) 
with a: 

 minimum prison 
sentence of 15 
years but as much 
as 25 years and 

 maximum of life 

 Up to $100,000 

 

ENHANCED PENALTIES 

New York law provides enhanced penalties for repeat drug offenders.  Generally, 

New York law punishes someone as a “second felony drug offender” if he or she 

stands convicted of a drug felony and was previously sentenced for a felony within 

the past 10 years, excluding time in prison (NY Penal §§ 70.70 and 70.71).  Table 4 

shows the enhanced prison penalties for these repeat offenders.  All sentences 

must include a period of post-release supervision. 
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Table 4:  Enhanced Prison Penalties for Second Felony Drug Offenders 

Current 

Conviction 

Penalty With 

Prior Felony 

Conviction 

Penalty With Prior 

Violent Felony 

Conviction 

A-I felony 12 to 24 years 15 to 30 years 

A-II felony 6 to 14 years 8 to 17 years 

B felony 2 to 12 years 6 to 15 years 

C felony 1.5 to 8 years* 3.5 to 9 years 

D felony 1.5 to 4 years* 2.5 to 4.5 years 

E felony 1.5 to 2 years* 2 to 2.5 years 

 

*For a class C, D, or E felony, the court can impose up to one year if, considering the crime’s nature and 

circumstances and the defendant’s history and character, imprisonment is necessary but the normal sentence would 

be unduly harsh. 

CR:bs 

 

 


