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ISSUE  

Summary of Connecticut’s identified adoption 

laws. 

SUMMARY 

An ‘‘identified adoption’’ is one in which an 

unrelated child is identified for adoption by 

prospective adoptive parents before the child’s 

placement in the home (Conn. Agencies Reg. § 

45a-728-2(k)).  There are strict requirements for identified adoptions, and the 

probate court cannot approve an adoption application if the placement violates the 

law (CGS § 45a-727(a)(3)).  Under the law, only the Department of Children and 

Families (DCF) commissioner or a DCF-licensed or -approved child-placing agency 

may place an identified child for adoption.  

The department or a child-placing agency is generally required to conduct a home 

study to determine if the prospective adoptive parents and their home meet certain 

standards.  The law establishes the level of participation the prospective adoptive 

parents may have in the adoption process.  By law, the birth mother must receive 

counseling as soon as medically possible after the child’s birth.  If the birth father is 

known, he must be offered counseling.   

The prospective adoptive parent may, up to specified levels, pay for certain 

expenses incurred by the birth parents.  These expenses include telephone, 

clothing, transportation, lodging, food, counseling, and foster care.  Payments must 

be sent to the child-placing agency for distribution.  The law requires signed sworn 

financial affidavits from all parties involved about payments promised, received, or 

made in connection with the adoption.      

CRIMINAL PENALTY FOR 

ILLEGAL PLACEMENT 

Placing a child for identified 

adoption in violation of the law 

or assisting in such a 

placement is a class D felony, 

punishable by imprisonment 

up to five years, a fine up to 

$5,000, or both (CGS § 45a-

729). 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/olr
mailto:olr@cga.ct.gov
http://olreporter.blogspot.com/
https://twitter.com/CT_OLR
https://eregulations.ct.gov/eRegsPortal/Browse/RCSA/%7B0CD8388C-8FD0-4D71-A946-1961B8496B22%7D
https://eregulations.ct.gov/eRegsPortal/Browse/RCSA/%7B0CD8388C-8FD0-4D71-A946-1961B8496B22%7D
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_803.htm#sec_45a-727
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_803.htm#sec_45a-729
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_803.htm#sec_45a-729
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ADOPTIONS 

Under Connecticut law, the adoption process requires the filing of an application 

and a written adoption agreement in the probate court (CGS § 45a-727(a)(1)).   

Nonrelated Adoptions in General 

The law limits the circumstances under which the probate court may accept an 

application for the adoption of a minor child who is not related to the prospective 

adoptive parent.  The court may not accept such an application unless the 

1. child has been placed for adoption by the commissioner or a child-placing 
agency, and the placement has been approved by the commissioner or 
agency; 

2. Adoption Review Board waived placement requirements; or 

3. application is made by a stepparent or by another person who shares 

parental responsibility with the parent (CGS § 45a-727(a)(3)). 

IDENTIFIED ADOPTIONS REQUIREMENTS 

The regulations establish specific requirements for identified adoptions.  These 

requirements address: 

1. advertising by the birth parent, prospective adoptive parent, and child-
placing agency; 

2. prospective adoptive parents' home studies; 

3. activities in which the prospective adoptive parent may participate; 

4. birth parent counseling; and 

5. payment of birth parent expenses by the prospective adoptive parents (CGS 
§§ 45a-728 et. seq. and Conn. Agencies Regs. §§ 45a-728-3, et. seq.). 

Advertising 

A birth parent or prospective adoptive parent may advertise an identified adoption 

through any Connecticut public media.  The department and child-placing agencies 

may also advertise, in the same media, placement and other adoption services 

(Conn. Agencies Reg. § 45a-728-6). 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_803.htm#sec_45a-727
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_803.htm#sec_45a-727
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_803.htm#sec_45a-728
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_803.htm#sec_45a-728
https://eregulations.ct.gov/eRegsPortal/Browse/RCSA/%7BB3A9CF65-8371-4342-B1F7-97A7A4A82913%7D
https://eregulations.ct.gov/eRegsPortal/Browse/RCSA/%7B756EE634-1952-43CF-A38B-6E0869F86DB0%7D
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Home Study 

Prospective adoptive parents initiate the identified adoption process by requesting a 

child-placing agency to conduct a study of their home to determine whether they 

and their home meet the licensing standards for the placement of a child in the 

home.  

The child may not be placed with the prospective adoptive parents less than 45 

days after the initiation of the home study process (i.e., the first in-person meeting 

between the prospective adoptive parents and a qualified representative of a child-

placing agency). 

With some exceptions, a home study is not required if the child already lives with 

the prospective adoptive family (Conn. Agencies Reg. § 45a-728-5). 

Allowed Participation and Required Disclosures 

Prospective adoptive parents may: 

1. participate in the labor and birth of the child identified for adoption;  

2. visit the newborn child if the birth mother, her physician, and the child-
placing agency agree and if such participation and visitation are consistent 

with the hospital’s medically necessary procedures; and 

3. be present when the infant is discharged from the hospital, with the approval 

of the child-placing agency. 

Under the regulations, the child-placing agency or the hospital must provide 

prospective adoptive parents any nonidentifying information it customarily provides 

to birth parents about the infant’s care, feeding, and health.  Prospective adoptive 

parents must also be permitted, at their own expense, to participate in any infant 

care and child development instruction programs available through the hospital to 

birth parents (Conn. Agencies Reg. § 45a-728-5a). 

Birth-parent Counseling  

Counseling of the birth mother may occur anytime during the pregnancy but must 

occur within 72 hours after the birth of the child or as soon as possible thereafter if 

the mother's medical condition prevents such counseling. Otherwise, the birth 

mother must receive counseling before the placement of the child. If the birth 

father is known, counseling must also be offered to him within the same time 

period (Conn. Agencies Reg. § 45a-728-7).  

https://eregulations.ct.gov/eRegsPortal/Browse/RCSA/%7B5C2CA513-DFEF-4BE9-A299-20D94CF65B3A%7D
https://eregulations.ct.gov/eRegsPortal/Browse/RCSA/%7BE8587730-D628-46FC-A6BC-854962DB59D3%7D
https://eregulations.ct.gov/eRegsPortal/Browse/RCSA/%7B64069159-8E7D-4403-AA9B-547F27715376%7D


December 15, 2015 Page 4 of 5 2015-R-0286 
 

Authorized Payment of Expenses  

The prospective adoptive parents may pay the child-placing agency in accordance 

with its fee schedule on file with the department.  Additionally, they may pay for 

certain specific expenses on behalf of the birth parent and the child.  The law 

prohibits them from making payments directly to the birth parent, any relative by 

blood or marriage, any cohabitor, or to anyone on their behalf (Conn. Agencies 

Reg. § 45a-728-8).  

All payments must be sent to the child-placing agency for distribution and may 

cover the following expenses: 

1. Birth mother’s living expenses (including reasonable telephone and maternity 
clothing expenses) — up to $1,500 or any amount approved by the probate 

court in unusual circumstances. 

2. Transportation, lodging, and food (incurred by the birth parent and a child-

placing agency representative) — up to the cost of a round trip coach fare on 
a common carrier from and to the birth parent's established place of 
residence or the agent’s established place of employment, plus necessary 

related transportation and reasonable and necessary lodging and food costs. 

3. Birth parent counseling (including transportation costs to and from 

counseling) — up to 12 hours for each birth parent at rates that do not 
exceed the regional fee scales compiled by Family Service America.  

4. Necessary foster care at the reasonable and prevailing rates where the foster 

home is located. 

5. Maternity home — for stay in a licensed or government-approved maternity 

home up to 60 days. 

6. Medical (prenatal, delivery, and medical expenses incurred up to 30 days 

after delivery, except for one post-partum visit) —  up to established and 
generally accepted reasonable and prevailing rates in the community in 
which the child is born (Conn. Agencies Reg. § 45a-728-8).  

Financial Affidavits 

The law also requires signed sworn financial affidavits from the birth parent, 

prospective adoptive parents, and DCF or the child-placing agency containing 

specific information about payments or gratuities promised, received, or made, 

directly or indirectly, in connection with the adoption (Conn. Agencies Reg. § 45a-

728-10). 

https://eregulations.ct.gov/eRegsPortal/Browse/RCSA/%7B7B598918-C0A9-4668-A1D6-24B481F63311%7D
https://eregulations.ct.gov/eRegsPortal/Browse/RCSA/%7B7B598918-C0A9-4668-A1D6-24B481F63311%7D
https://eregulations.ct.gov/eRegsPortal/Browse/RCSA/%7B7B598918-C0A9-4668-A1D6-24B481F63311%7D
https://eregulations.ct.gov/eRegsPortal/Browse/RCSA/%7BD9056CD6-0EEE-4CB4-8882-9D1D2E008125%7D
https://eregulations.ct.gov/eRegsPortal/Browse/RCSA/%7BD9056CD6-0EEE-4CB4-8882-9D1D2E008125%7D
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ADDITIONAL INFORMATION 

For additional information on Connecticut's adoption laws, see the following: 

1. Connecticut Judicial Branch Law Libraries' Guide to Adoption in Connecticut, 

available at 
http://www.jud.ct.gov/lawlib/Notebooks/Pathfinders/adoption/Adoption.pdf 

2. Probate Court's user guide on Termination of Parental Rights and Adoptions, 

available at http://www.ctprobate.gov/Documents/User%20Guide%20-
%20Termination%20of%20Parental%20Rights%20and%20Adoptions.pdf 

3. Department of Children and Families' Policy Manual on Identified Adoptions, 
available at http://www.ct.gov/dcf/cwp/view.asp?a=2639&Q=395580  

4. OLR Reports 2012-R-0506 - Adoptions By Foster Parents 
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