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ISSUE  

Which states have used car lemon laws? 

USED CAR LEMON LAWS 

Ten states have used car “lemon laws,” which are laws that provide legal remedies 

for consumers who buy or lease a used car that does not meet certain standards of 

quality or performance (i.e., a lemon). The 10 states are Arizona, Connecticut, 

Hawaii, Illinois, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, and 

Rhode Island. 

Used car lemon laws generally require dealers to give consumers a warranty to 

repair, free of charge or at a reduced rate, certain defects to covered parts (e.g., 

engine or transmission).  In half of the states (Hawaii, New Jersey, New York, 

Massachusetts, and Rhode Island), a dealer who is unable to repair the used car 

after a reasonable number of attempts must give the consumer a right to a refund. 

These states give the dealer additional time to repair a vehicle under extraordinary 

circumstances.  

All of the states, except Hawaii, allow for arbitration to settle disputes if an 

arbitration mechanism is available that complies with federal law on informal 

dispute resolution mechanisms. Hawaii establishes a private right of action.   

Typically, eligibility for the warranty is based on the number of miles on the used 

car’s odometer at the time of purchase, with cars with lower mileage having a 

longer warranty.  But in Connecticut, eligibility is based on the car’s purchase price, 

with more expensive cars having a longer warranty.   

All of the states, except Illinois, base the warranty period length on number of days 

the car is owned or miles the car is driven, whichever is less.  These warranty 

periods range from 15 days or 500 miles in Arizona and New Mexico to 90 days or 

5,000 miles in Hawaii. 
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Half of the states, including Connecticut, exempt older cars from the used car 

lemon law.  The range for these exemptions is between four and eight years.   

Table 1 lists the eligibility for a warranty, warranty period, and exemptions based 

on year for the states with used car lemon laws.                                                                                                                                                              

TABLE 1: USED CAR WARRANTIES 

 

State Eligibility for Warranty Warranty Period 
(whichever occurs first) 

Exemption based 
on vehicle age 

Arizona 

Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 
44-1267 

All used cars 15 days or 500 miles None 

Connecticut  

CGS § 42-221 

Between $3,000 and $5,000 

 

$5,000 and up 

30 days or 1,500 miles 

 

60 days or 3,000 miles 

Seven years or older 

Hawaii 

Haw. Rev. Stat. § 
481J-1 

Less than 25,000 miles 

 

Between 25,000 and 50,000 miles 

 

Between 50,000 and 75,000 miles 

90 days or 5,000 miles 

 

60 days or 3,000 miles 

 

30 days or 1,000 miles 

Five years or older 

Illinois 

815 Ill. Comp. Stat. 
505/2L 

Dealer must pay, for 30 days following the 
sale, the following portion of the repair cost 
for power train parts: 

 

 50% (less than 2 years) 

 

 25% (between 2 and 3 years) 

 

 10% (between 3 and 4 years) 

None 

 

 

 

Four years or older 

Massachusetts 

Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 
90, § 7N1/4 

Less than 40,000 miles (or if mileage not 
known, three years or less) 

 

Between 40,000 and 80,000 miles (or three 
to six years) 

 

Between 80,000 and 125,000 miles (or six 
years or more) 

90 days or 3,750 miles 

 

           

60 days or 2,500 miles 

                               

 

30 days or 1,250 miles 

None 

Minnesota 

Minn. Stat. § 325F. 
662 

Less than 36,000 miles 

 

Between 36,000 and 75,000 miles 

60 days or 2,500 miles 

 

30 days or 1,000 miles 

Eight years or older 

http://www.azleg.state.az.us/ars/44/01267.htm
http://www.azleg.state.az.us/ars/44/01267.htm
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_743f.htm
http://files.hawaii.gov/dcca/rico/hrs/481j-l.pdf
http://files.hawaii.gov/dcca/rico/hrs/481j-l.pdf
http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs3.asp?ActID=2356
http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs3.asp?ActID=2356
https://malegislature.gov/Laws/GeneralLaws/PartI/TitleXIV/Chapter90/Section7N1~4
https://malegislature.gov/Laws/GeneralLaws/PartI/TitleXIV/Chapter90/Section7N1~4
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=325F.662
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=325F.662
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State Eligibility for Warranty Warranty Period 
(whichever occurs first) 

Exemption based 
on vehicle age 

New Jersey  

N.J. Stat. Ann. § 56:8-
69 

Less than 24,000 miles 

 

Between 24,000 and 60,000 miles 

 

Between 60,000 and 100,000 miles 

90 days or 3,000 miles 

 

60 days or 2,000 miles 

 

30 days or 1,000 miles 

Seven years or older 

New Mexico 

N.M. Stat. § 57-16A-
3.1  

All used cars 15 days or 500 miles None 

New York  

N.Y. Gen. Bus. Law § 
198-b 

Between 18,000 and 36,000 miles 

 

Between 36,000 and 80,000 miles 

 

Between 80,000 and 100,000 miles 

90 days or 4,000 miles 

                                         

60 days or 3,000 miles 

 

30 days or 1,000 miles 

None 

Rhode Island  

R.I. Gen. Laws § 31-
5.4-2 

Less than 36,000 miles 

 

Between 36,000 and 100,000 miles 

60 days or 3,000 miles 

 

30 days or 1,000 miles 

None 

 

DC:cmg 

http://law.justia.com/codes/new-jersey/2014/title-56/section-56-8-69
http://law.justia.com/codes/new-jersey/2014/title-56/section-56-8-69
http://law.justia.com/codes/new-mexico/2011/chapter57/article16A/section57-16A-3.1
http://law.justia.com/codes/new-mexico/2011/chapter57/article16A/section57-16A-3.1
http://codes.findlaw.com/ny/general-business-law/gbs-sect-198-b.html
http://codes.findlaw.com/ny/general-business-law/gbs-sect-198-b.html
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/title31/31-5.4/31-5.4-2.HTM
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/title31/31-5.4/31-5.4-2.HTM

