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ISSUE  

Do private child-placing agencies in Connecticut 

have to be licensed and, if so, by whom? 

SUMMARY 

By law, private child-placing agencies must be 

licensed by the Department of Children and 

Families (DCF) to place a child in Connecticut 

(CGS § 17a-149). Additionally, DCF regulations 

distinguish between “child placing agencies” and 

“non-approved child placing agencies” (see 

sidebar). The regulations prohibit non-approved 

agencies from placing a child, for any purpose, in 

Connecticut (Conn. Agency Regs. § 45a-728-2). 

The law requires private child-placing agencies seeking DCF licensure to consent to 

department inspection, review, and supervision of all child-placing acts. This 

provision does not apply to the homes in which children are placed (CGS § 17a-

149).  

The licensure process includes (1) state and criminal history record checks of 

anyone named on the application and (2) investigation of the agency’s conditions to 

determine if they are suitable for placing children under standards prescribed by 

the commissioner for children’s health, safety, morality, and well-being. If, after the 

investigation, the commissioner finds that the applicant, notwithstanding good faith 

efforts, is not able to fully comply with all the standards, but can achieve 

compliance with minimal efforts, she may issue a provisional license for up to 60 

days. The provisional license may be renewed for 60 day periods for up to one year 

(CGS § 17a-151). 

 

CHILD PLACING AGENCIES 

According to DCF regulations 

(1) a “child placing agency” is 

an agency in or outside of 

Connecticut licensed or 

approved by DCF for the 

placement of children for 

adoption purposes and (2) a 

“non-approved child placing 

agency” is an agency 

anywhere in the United States 

that is licensed or regulated by 

its local jurisdiction but not 

approved by DCF (Conn. 
Agency Regs. § 45a-728-2). 
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Before issuing any license, the commissioner must give the selectmen of the town 

in which the licensee intends to operate 10 days’ written notice of the proposed 

licensure. The notice is not required for licensure of a corporation incorporated to 

place children.  

DCF issues child-placing agency licenses for 24 months at a time. The department 

must periodically inspect and review licensees at least once every 90 days, or more 

often if the commissioner deems it necessary (CGS § 17a-151). According to DCF, 

this includes quarterly on-site visits to the agency premises.  

Each licensed child-placing agency must annually file with DCF a report on its 

functions, services and operation.  

The commissioner may revoke, suspend, or limit a license for cause, after first 

notifying the licensee and providing the opportunity for a hearing (CGS § 17a-151).  
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