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ISSUE  

This report (1) summarizes how Connecticut’s 

bottle redemption system operates and (2) 

identifies the amount of money the system 

generates for the state. 

SUMMARY 

Connecticut law establishes a redemption system 

generally requiring consumers to pay a five-cent 

deposit on each purchased bottle or can of beer, 

malt beverages, soda water, carbonated soft 

drinks, and water. The deposit may be redeemed 

by returning the beverage container to a retailer or 

bringing it to a redemption center. Unclaimed 

deposits are transferred to the state’s General 

Fund. In each fiscal year from 2012 to 2014, the 

state received over $27 million from unclaimed 

deposits.  

BOTTLE REDEMPTION SYSTEM 

Process 

Connecticut’s bottle redemption law operates as a 

cycle involving transactions between distributors, 

retailers, and consumers. It operates as follows: 

1. a retailer pays a beverage container 
distributor five-cents for each beverage 

container that the distributer delivers; 

BOTTLE REDEMPTION 

LAWS 

Bottle redemption laws, also 

known as “container deposit 

laws” or “bottle bills”, require 

a minimum refundable deposit 

on certain beverage containers 

in order to encourage 

recycling.  

Besides Connecticut, nine 

other states have bottle bills: 

California, Hawaii, Iowa, 

Maine, Massachusetts, 

Michigan, New York, Oregon, 

and Vermont.  

The types of beverage 

containers included in a bottle 

bill vary by state, but may 

include containers for beer 

and malt beverages, soft 

drinks, and water.  

Information about each state’s 

law is available in the 

Container Recycling Institute’s 

Bottle Bill Resource Guide. The 

institute is a nonprofit 

organization that studies and 

promotes policies and 

programs to increase 

beverage container recovery 

and recycling. 
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2. a consumer pays the retailer five-cents for each beer, soft drink, or water 
container that he or she purchases from the retailer;  

3. the retailer or a redemption center pays the consumer five-cents for each 
container the consumer returns; 

4. the distributor reimburses the retailer or redemption center five-cents for 
each beer, soft drink, and water container returned, plus a handling fee of 
one-and-a-half cents for each beer container and two-cents for each soft 

drink or water container; and 

5. the distributor pays the State of Connecticut the five-cents for each 

unclaimed deposit (CGS §§ 22a-244, 22a-245, and 22a-245a). 

Exemptions 

The law exempts noncarbonated beverage containers of at least three liters in size 

from its requirements. It also exempts any beverage container (1) sold on 

interstate passenger carriers (e.g., planes or trains) or (2) made from high density 

polyethylene (i.e., with an HDPE designation or #2 recycling symbol) (CGS §§ 22a-

243(3) and 22a-244(a)).  

Manufacturers that annually bottle and sell up to 250,000 noncarbonated beverage 

containers that are 20 ounces or less in size may apply for an exemption from 

participating in the redemption program (CGS § 22a-245b).  

MONEY GENERATED 

By law, distributors must remit unclaimed bottle deposits to the Department of 

Revenue Services (DRS) for transfer to the state’s General Fund.  

According to DRS’ Annual Report for Fiscal Year 2013-2014, the state received over 

$27 million from unclaimed deposits in each fiscal year from 2012 to 2014. Table 1 

lists the revenue generated each fiscal year. 

Table 1: Unclaimed Deposits Transferred to the General Fund, FYs 12 to 14 

Fiscal Year Revenue 

2013-2014 $27,384,746 

2012-2013 $27,528,488 

2011-2012 $27,134,224 
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