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ISSUE  

How is the sale of individual (“loose”) cigarettes regulated? 

LOOSE CIGARETTE SALES 

Federal regulations prohibit manufacturers, distributers, and retailers from selling 

individual cigarettes by prohibiting them from selling packages containing fewer 

than 20 cigarettes (21 CFR §§ 1141.14, 1140.16). These regulations took effect on 

June 22, 2010 (please see the Federal Register). They are typically enforced by 

undercover inspectors from the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) Center for 

Tobacco Products. Tobacco retailers who violate these regulations are given a 

warning for a first offense and may be subject to a civil money penalty (CMP), a no 

tobacco-sale order (NTSO), or both for subsequent offenses.  

A CMP is a monetary fine assessed by the FDA for violations of tobacco regulations, 

including the sale of individual cigarettes.  The amount of CMP is based on the 

number of offenses committed by the violator during a given period. Fines range 

from $250 for the second violation within one year to $11,000 for a sixth or 

subsequent violation within two years. The FDA may also (or alternatively) impose 

an NTSO preventing the violator from selling tobacco products indefinitely or for a 

specified period of time depending on the severity or frequency of violations. The 

FDA determines the most appropriate action or combination of actions in light of the 

circumstances, severity of the violations, or both. 

Connecticut, as well as Massachusetts, New York, and Rhode Island had laws 

regulating the sale of individual cigarettes or incomplete packages before the 

passage of the federal regulations in 2010, but the federal regulation have 

superseded these laws (CGS § 12-314, N.Y. Pub. Health  § 1399-gg, Mass. Gen. 

Laws Ch. 64C, § 33A, R.I. Gen Laws § 44-20-31).  
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