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ISSUE  

How do gas stations process credit and debit card 

transactions for gas purchases?  What have states 

done to regulate authorization holds?  Has Connecticut 

proposed any legislation? 

SUMMARY 

When a consumer uses a credit or debit card to 

purchase gas, there is an authorization hold placed on 

the card.  An authorization hold is the practice of 

authorizing electronic transactions of a specified 

amount (usually more than the expected transaction 

amount) and holding this balance until the transaction 

clears.  For example, a gas station may place a $50 

hold when authorizing the card even if the consumer 

only intends to purchase $20 worth of gas.  The $50 

hold will remain until the transaction clears, which can 

take 48-72 hours. 

In these transactions, gas stations determine the 

amount of the hold and card issuers determine its 

length.  Gas stations, however, do not keep the 

difference between the hold amount and the amount purchased.  They place holds 

to ensure full payment for the gas purchase because they do not know at the 

beginning of the transaction how much gas will be purchased. 

In general, holds involving PIN-based debit transactions are cleared almost 

immediately.  The more lengthy holds generally occur with non-PIN debit 

transactions.    

CREDIT AND DEBIT CARD 

HOLDS AT GAS STATIONS 

• Gas stations place 

authorization holds on both 

credit and debit card 

purchases 

• Gas stations determine the 

amount of the hold, but the 

card issuer determines the 

length 

• Since 2003, 15 states have 

introduced bills to regulate 

holds 

• Only Tennessee has a law 

requiring merchants to notify 

consumers about any debit 

card holds over certain 

amounts 

• In 2013 Connecticut had two 

bills that would have 

prohibited merchants from 

placing a hold larger than the 

consumer’s actual purchase 
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According to the National Conference of State Legislatures, 15 states, including 

Connecticut, have introduced bills to regulate holds since 2003.  These bills, would 

have, among other things, limited the amount merchants could hold and required 

notice when placing holds of certain amounts.  But only Tennessee has a law 

requiring merchants to notify consumers about any debit card holds that exceed 

25% of the transaction amount or $50, whichever is greater (Tenn. Code Ann. § 

47-18-128). 

CREDIT AND DEBIT CARD PURCHASES  

Although consumers oftentimes treat credit and debit transactions the same, the 

accounts are different and the transactions are processed differently.  A transaction 

involving a (1) credit card is based on an account’s credit limit (which is generally 

higher) and (2) debit card is based on the amount of money in a checking account. 

Additionally, with a debit card, a consumer may choose to use it two ways.  The 

first is to run the debit card like a credit card and the second is as a PIN-based 

transaction.  If a consumer chooses to use the debit card like a credit card, the 

payment goes through the credit card network and the payment is withdrawn 

within a few days.  If a PIN is entered, the money is immediately deducted from the 

account.  

Credit Card-Based Transactions 

Gas stations put holds on both credit and debit cards in credit card-based 

transactions.  However, due to the difference between credit and debit cards, the 

hold often impacts debit card users more than credit card users. 

Credit. Since holds are merely an authorization of additional money for 

transactions, they affect credit card users less because consumers do not actually 

need to have the money, just the needed credit amount.   

Debit. For debit card users, even when they are using the card like a credit card, 

they must still have that amount in the bank account.  A problem may arise when a 

consumer attempts to use a debit card for a specified amount (which he or she has 

in the bank) but a hold is placed on the card for a higher amount, which could 

result in an overdraft fee.  (This is often due to the bank’s overdraft protection, 

which allows checking account holders to temporarily make purchases with a debit 

card even if they do not have sufficient funds to cover them, but there is an 

overdraft fee associated with this service.  Without this service, the transaction 

would be denied because the consumer does not have enough money in the 

account.)   
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Another problem that could occur is when a consumer who purchases gas has to 

wait up to 48-72 hours for the transaction to clear and is unable to use the amount 

of the hold.  For example, if a consumer buys $20 worth of gas but a $50 hold was 

placed on the account, he or she would not be able to access the $50 until the 

transaction clears. 

Debit PIN-Based Transactions 

Although gas stations still place holds on debit cards when consumers use a PIN-

based transaction, these holds are often cleared instantaneously after the 

transaction.  This is because the money is being immediately deducted from the 

bank account.  (Some banks may charge certain fees (e.g., transaction fee) for 

PIN-based transactions.) 

With PIN-based transactions, if a gas station sets its hold amount too high, it could 

deny potential consumers because the amount of the hold must be available in the 

account.  For example, a consumer with $40 in his or her bank account would not 

be able to get $20 of gas if the station requires a $50 hold. 

CONNECTICUT BILLS 

In 2013, two bills (SB 196 and HB 6205) were introduced in Connecticut to restrict  

merchants from placing a hold larger than the consumer’s actual purchase. 

The General Law Committee held public hearings for both bills, but only passed SB 

196.  The Senate then referred it to the Banks Committee, where no action was 

taken. 

SB 196 would have prohibited anyone who accepts credit or debit cards for retail 

sales from placing or allowing a third party, without the consumer's knowledge and 

consent, to place a hold larger than the consumer's actual purchase for goods or 

services.  
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